Wanna Know What an Ear Infection Feels Like?

When I was young and healthy I sometimes thought, Gee, I’d love to be sick for a day so I can just lie down and watch movies all day.

And then I had kids.

Let me qualify this entire post by stating that my wife – and I would surmise most wives – get it the hardest when the plague hits home. Mothers get the bug and have to take care of the sick kids, the whiny husband (that’s me), do the laundry, the dishes, and no one’s there to tuck them in because they’ve already tucked everyone else in and kissed their foreheads (including the husband – again, me).

Our house has been a house of horrors the last couple of weeks.

The kids had midnight fevers so high that one started hallucinating, which I could only imagine was  a slithering pile of snakes, worms, and silverfish crawling toward him, because that’s how he was acting, and the other kid had seizures.

My wife got it bad – headaches, coughing, you name it. But she was up and out of bed each time she heard anyone wake up. She deserves a medal of honor.

And I barely escaped the flu but got an ear infection instead. And let me tell you, I think I’d rather have the flu than an ear infection. (Imagine someone taking fruit knives and slicing the inside of your ear canal. Then imagine them pouring salt in those slices. Then imagine they keep rubbing sandpaper all around your salted cuts. Then throw in a migraine.)

I thought ear infections were for kids. Apparently not. After two trips to the doctor, increased medication, it still hurts like a very bad mother.

So that’s why I’ve been absent from this blog.

BUT if you’re looking for some awesome things to read, I’d highly encourage you to start checking out this guy right here: EndeverPublishing.

Now, excuse me while I go die.

(On another note, I finally watched Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and Rogue One. Both excellent films in every way for people who like steady, solid story lines.)

(Also, I was going to post a picture of the inside of my ear with yellow and green snotty wax dripping out of it, but I decided I didn’t want to lose any followers. So I’ll post this instead, because this is what I feel like:)

crying baby ears

Get well cards and flowers can be sent to my home in Kentucky. Also, I like sour worms, the candy. I always have to emphasize that I mean candy. Real worms terrify me.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

7 Responses to Wanna Know What an Ear Infection Feels Like?

  1. thewriteedge says:

    So sorry you’re not feeling well! Get better soon! (And a big hug to your wife. I know exactly what she’s going through.)

  2. Pingback: Community United For Health And Prevention

  3. Garlic drops placed in the ear canal will take away the pain and infection actually better than antibiotics. They work really fast!

  4. I hope you feel better soon!

  5. I hope you get to feeling better soon. And oh man, that mom thing is so true. I don’t think I’ve had a genuine sleep all day and get better kind of sick day since I had kids. And because of that, even though they may hide it well, moms always stay sick longer. You should give your wife a medal. Or flowers. Or a hug. I’m sure she needs one.

  6. Oh, no! What a horrible time y’all have had. I’m so sorry. In the name of Jesus, may peace, healing, and comfort all over your home and all those in it.

  7. Athena~ says:

    Oh gosh! Ear infections are the absolute worst! Best of luck with the ear infection and the kids!

Leave a Reply

