Podcasts: What Do You Get Out of Them?

podcast

Podcasts. Something that’s relatively new on the social media market, yet they’ve been hidden underneath some digital rocks for a while.

Do you listen to them? If so, share below which ones you like the most and what you get out of them.

As a visionary I like to keep on top of what’s trending and if all of my blog followers are listening to podcasts, I’d like to tune in. So share your favorites down below, even if it’s your own!

Don’t have a favorite podcast? Then what sort of podcast would you like? Suppose you found a podcast on writing, what would keep you listening to it? What sorts of nuggets of wisdom would you hope to find?

 

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

22 Responses to Podcasts: What Do You Get Out of Them?

  1. http://www.writingexcuses.com

    This site rocks. All their podcasts are informative (and short!) and the ones on humor writing are especially helpful!

  2. memadtwo says:

    My all time favorite is This American Life. I also enjoy The Moth and other podcasts with storytelling content. N.

  3. Gameburst
    Rage Select
    Value Town

  4. Matt Wainwright says:

    Guardian Books Podcast is always interesting. Some great audio serials from Archive 81 as well. http://www.archive81.com

  5. mn6363 says:

    The Darkest Night by the Paragon Collective. It’s a horror anthology series concerning a scientific research center. It’s a GREAT story! Give it a listen! Also Small Town Horror is a good one too, not finished it yet. The guy who does it makes it seems as though he’s really living the terror of the story and documenting in podcast form. Pretty cool.

  6. I don’t usually have time… but come one, everyone can make time for ‘wait, wait, don’t tell me!’

    Meno<3

  7. I love podcasts–they’re the reason I bought my ipods, so I can learn new things and hear awesome tips and interviews, or old radio shows. I fill that thing up half with music, half with podcasts. When I take jobs that lead to lots of driving, it’s me and the podcasts on the road together, and when I get bored of one, I switch to another for a while. Simple. Definitely saves my sanity from repetitive commercial radio and news on hours-long trips

    • Andrew Toy says:

      What kinds of podcasts do you listen to?

      • So many: Dan Carlin’s two (“Hardcore History” and “Common Sense”) are my faves, then there’s a few from the “quick and dirty tips” collection (there’s about two dozen possibles), Freakonomics Radio, Real Time with Bill Maher, This American Life, This I believe, TED Radio Hour, and about a dozen others I haven’t actually had time to listen to in a while (TED is new and I’m trying to get used to it).

  8. tbpauly says:

    I like listening to them as I have time, but not subscribing to them all that much…

  9. rozzychan says:

    I listen to a lot of niche podcasts about TV and movie fandoms because they put me in touch, not only with news, but fan theories and jokes in a friendly way, as if I am talking to someone I know.

    I actually have my own podcast (MidnightFicObsession.podomatic.com) with about 15 regular listeners, only 5 of which have subscribed. It is about podfic which is a genre of audio fiction stories made of amateur writers works. Many of which are very innovative. I made the podcast because I am really excited about the quality of these stories, and I needed an outlet to express myself.

    I got the idea for the format of the podcast when I listened to Garrison Keillor’s writers almanac (http://www.npr.org/podcasts/381443934/garrison-keillor-s-the-writer-s-almanac) which packs such a good product into a small space without waste. Most podcasts are a bit too talkative with lots of superfluous chit chat that can be annoying. I love the well scripted ones though.

    I have about ten podcasts that I follow. I listen to one or two of them very faithfully, and the others as I have time. I love to listen to them on my way to work. They often make me laugh or think.

    When I want in depth opinions on a niche subject, like Biosphere 2, I will often search for a podcast about it, and they give me audio clips that I can use in the classroom and post on social media.

    You should try them, podcasts are awesome!

  10. I don’t have a favorite. I like ones that I learn from, laugh with, or simply enjoy a story.

Leave a Reply

