Let’s Be Honest About “Cars”

I don’t need to open my mouth even a little for you to know that I’m a ginormous Pixar fanatic. Everyone is a Pixar fan, but I’m a fa-na-tic. If my wife would let me, I’d decorate the house in full-sized Pixar posters. With frames. Backlit.

Most people knew that Pixar was making a third installment of the so-so Cars franchise.

And most people groaned inwardly.

Personally, I loved Cars, but I don’t blame anyone who can live without it. I stepped over the threshold onto the haters’ side, thought, when Cars 2 literally put me to sleep more than once in the theaters. We bought it only to own the full collection. I haven’t watched it, I don’t think.

But then today happened.

Less than a week before the release of the highly-anticipated Moana, Pixar released the teaser trailer for what we assume is going to be titled Cars 3. 

To be honest, I’ve been inwardly excited about this movie for a while. My take on the news was that Pixar was going to take the dreaded franchise in a different direction, sort of a redo, or like a “Wait, hold on, watch this one instead. We were just playing around with Cars 2, you know, being silly.”

To say that this is possibly the darkest teaser trailer ever may be an understatement. It’s intense, it’s unexpected, it’s …so far from being anything remotely related to Cars 2 (and Mater for that matter …madder, mater,Madder), that just one look at social media, it’s clear that people are actually excited about this movie now.

What a turn of events!

I think I speak for everyone when I say that I hope the rest of the movie carries this same tone throughout, as John Lasseter eluded to about a year ago:”It’s very emotional and his relationship with Doc Hudson, and his memory of Doc Hudson.”

Could Cars 3 join the ranks of greats like Ratatouille, Up, Toy Story 3, and Inside Out? 

I think it will. But what do you think? Leave your comments below! Will you be seeing this? (And based on the trailer, I can tweak this question: With or without your kids?)

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

9 Responses to Let’s Be Honest About “Cars”

  1. colingarrow says:

    I hated Cars 1 and 2, but have to say this looks pretty good (Damn those pesky Pixar creatives…)

  2. Wow!

    I’ve been kind of “eh” about the Cars franchise. Not hate, but not love. Just “eh”. This trailer, however, wow. It looks like it should be very interesting. 😀

  3. Reblogged this on quirkywritingcorner and commented:
    My husband and I still enjoy watching these movies even though we have no young children to use as an excuse to go! I’m curious to see #3 now that I’ve seen the trailer.

  4. I’ve been a Pixar fan since forever – they only rarely seem to make a duff movie, and I thought Cars (the original) was supremely cool. I still remember watching ‘Toy Story’ in 2000, sitting in a movie theatre made out of an old Nissan hut, at Te Araroa, on the easternmost tip of the North Island in New Zealand.

  5. Pingback: In Anticipation of Rogue One: A Star Wars Story | adoptingjames

Leave a Reply

