How My View of the Horror Genre Has Changed

517n7y7xjulI used to be adamantly against anything that fell into the horror genre. Unless it was something by M. Night Shyamalan. Because M. Night movies are to horror shunners as Will Smith’s albums are to white guys who don’t listen to rap.

Then I started watching The Walking Dead. And obviously, like everyone else in the Western world, I was hooked.

I always thought the gratuitous blood and gore would get in the way of the storytelling, and sometimes it does a little bit, but the show proved to me that horror can work as mainstream. Why? Because, to quote Adelle Hitchens from my teen book, These Great Affects, “It’s the blood and guts with a little bit of heart.”

It’s those lovable, admiral characters  that draws me in.

hershel_the_walking_dead_season_4_episode_1_by_twdimagenshd-d732k1c

I just finished reading the monster of all monster books, It. It’s the first Stephen King book I didn’t hate (well, I liked Under the Dome, too). I had no idea it was so widely received.

Everywhere I walk I have a book in my hand, especially at work. While everyone is hunched over their cell phones, I’m hunched over my latest book in the elevator.

This is the only book I’ve read where I was consistently stopped and told how good the book I’m reading is.  (It was awkward when I was reading the weird and unnecessary scene with the kids in the sewer in the dark and someone says, “What part are you at?” … “Um…the kids are playing?”)

paavpdqsbtggtmn4smxsBut other than that, the book was spectacular, and I almost even teared up in a couple of spots. The book had violence and creepy stuff, but the heart and soul of the story was the love these seven protagonists shared with each other. I’m just really hyped up about the remake now!

Even before my  evolving love of horror set in (actually, it’s still a reluctant like to tell the truth), I always loved the darker movies. I love Pixar because their movies are generally darker than their competitors.

The darker the story is, the brighter and more exultant the ultimate victory is at the end. The harder the battle, the darker the foe, the more loss that’s suffered, only makes the survivors that much stronger, which serves as a more triumphant, feel-good ending.

Our world is so dark and gloomy anyway, and it’s rare we see evil defeated. I think that’s maybe some of the subconscious point of the horror genre. To shed a little light on a dark and disturbing world, and the satisfaction we feel when evil is trumped (no political pun intended…seriously.)

So please! Share your favorite horror stories that you’d like recommend to me.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

4 Responses to How My View of the Horror Genre Has Changed

  1. z3ng33kgr7 | zGGy says:

    Dreamcatchers…there are lots of small messages and wisdom in some of these movies, if one is willing. Enjoy!

  2. Saloni says:

    I loved reading The Shining. I think Stephen King weaves sweet magic even into his horror books.

  3. I’d definitely recommend The Girl with all the Gifts. It’s been turned into a film so you could just watch but I loved the book. I’m a big fan of horror but it’s so difficult to find good stories. Often they go for the blood and gore approach at the expense of characters and story.

  4. Pingback: Best Fiction and Writing Blogs | M.C. Tuggle, Writer

Leave a Reply

