How My Birthday Made Everyone Sad

How do you announce to your coworkers that it’s your birthday without sounding self-important? Well, I had my chance to yesterday, but it kind of backfired.

Normally, I don’t go around my workplace announcing it’s my birthday. But I had to this morning because some other guy was going to get all the attention. In our group chat, someone randomly said: “It’s Andrew’s birthday!”

I scratched my head wondering who in the world I would have said that to.

Before I could type in something funny like, “Hold your applause, please,” this OTHER Andrew chimed in and said, “Aw, thanks!”

Of course, I can’t let him be a birthday hog. I had received a birthday card from my parents earlier in the week saying “Happy 38th birthday, Andy!” It was a nice card, but there was just one thing wrong. It was about five years too early. I’m only turning 33. (I don’t blame them for putting the wrong age, at least I look good for 38! … Plus, half the time, I get my own kids’ ages wrong.)

So in an effort to subtly suggest it’s my birthday too, I wrote in the group chat: “I got a card from my mom in the mail saying I’m five years older than I am.”

I waited for the overflow of birthday wishes and virtual hugs. But instead, I got this response:

“I wish had a mom.”

And hence followed a long string of people sharing their sad birthday stories like, “My family forgot my birthday one year. They didn’t even remember it a week later when they called me.”

“My dog died on my birthday.”

“My divorce was finalized on my birthday.”

And so on.

The ultimate birthday burn.

these-great-affects-cover-2So after that little catastrophe, I think I’ll stay quiet about my birthday today and focus instead on my book release, These Great Affects, which comes out today on Amazon! If you want to talk about being sad (or truly wish me a happy birthday), then this is the book for you. It’s a teen book about a girl who falls in love with a guy after he dies…

What do you do when you fall in love too late? That’s what happens to fifteen-year-old Adelle Hitchens in this emotionally-charged YA novel. She and Trill Vikus take an almost instant liking to each other, love is about to blossom, and chances are about to be taken. But when Trill dies in a freak accident, Adelle is forced to believe that love just isn’t for her. Until Trill comes back as a ghost, and thinking they’ve been given a second chance with each other, they fall in love, even though they know there’s no way things can turn out they way they so desperately want.

The book opens up with an original short story by upcoming Endever author R. Tim Morris.

So wish me a super happy birthday and buy These Great Affects today, share it with your friends and family, and help make this book a success! Click here to purchase. 

Also available from Endever: A Deathly Compromise, by Coral Rivera.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

15 Responses to How My Birthday Made Everyone Sad

  1. Happy 17th anniversary of your 21st birthday (ok if you want to get technical about it it’s your 12th anniversary)😁

  2. thewriteedge says:

    Happy birthday, Andrew! Hey, wanna hear a birthday story…? I do have a fun fact. I share my birthday with one of my best friends from college. Same day and year, although because she was born in the morning and I was born at night (and she’s the eldest of three siblings while I’m only the elder of two) she thinks she can lord it over me. :> We lived together our senior year with our other best friend in an on-campus apartment, and because this other friend’s birthday is two months later I was dubbed the middle child.

    Have a great day! Hope These Great Affects tops the charts!

  3. Happy 40th birthday, Andrew and congratulations on your new book! 😉

  4. Happy, Joyful Birthday every year & at every age. Congrats on the new book!

  5. rtimmorris says:

    R. Tim Morris? He sounds cool!
    Have a great one, Andrew. Your enthusiasm keeps you looking young!

  6. J says:

    Aww I’m tad late to this but happy birthday! Mine is coming up and I know what book I’m getting!!!!!

  7. Is it too late to wish you a belated Happy Birthday? Considering I’m twice your real age, can I be forgiven? One of these days I’ll get caught up with my emails! 🙂 Connie

Leave a Reply

