A Big October Scare

14448907_10210932544653816_335374217269917758_nAs of now we have three kids in our family. Our oldest, two, we adopted last summer. Our middle, almost two, should have been adopted forever ago but bureaucracy’s a disease that lingers for no good reason.

Our youngest, six weeks old, came home to us a couple of weeks ago. Without going into detail, he’s been back in the hospital since Wednesday night when he went pale and lost oxygen on us and vomited up blood.

Even in the hospital, hooked up to monitors and breathing machines, there have been many terrifying moments. We were even both called into the hospital yesterday morning in case we needed to say goodbye.

That sucked really bad.

He’s doing moderately better now.

My heart goes out to my wife and kids because they are so connected with him. I don’t connect with babies or bond with them well, and won’t pretend to. But the thing that hurts most is that, as I sit in the ICU holding his marshmallowy-sedated hand between paragraphs, he might not give us his first laugh or cheer and applaud with the other kids when the Disney castle comes on the TV. To be apart of our family is to love Disney, pizza, and Volkswagens.

This little guy is supposed to be there under the Christmas tree in a couple of months so our kids can obnoxiously shove their new toys in his face. We’re supposed to see his eyes widen as we drive by Christmas lights. He’s supposed to take his first steps in our house and make messes learning to eat with a spoon and go see Toy Story 4 with all of us.

He’s supposed to toughen our middle kid up and I’m supposed to help him pick out his first car.

Yes, we always assume we will adopt the kids we foster because that’s what we signed up for.

It’s been an incredibly bad year on pretty much every level, one that I will be happy to forget. We just want 2016 to be over, and we want this little baby to be there to wave goodbye to it and step with us into a better year. Despite who the president-elect is.

As the CEO of Endever Publishing Studios, we still plan on releasing our first two novels later this month. Please stay updated with Endever news as we continue to work hard at delivering the best quality entertainment the book industry can offer. Endever on Twitter, Facebook, and now Instagram.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

27 Responses to A Big October Scare

  1. aleejom says:

    Love and encouragement from someone who has been there.

  2. rtimmorris says:

    You’re strong and you’re determined to never let adversity get the better of you. I don’t know you all that well, but I do know that. I also know you’re a much better father than even you might realize and those three kids are very lucky to have you. My thoughts are with you.

  3. grannyK says:

    Hugs to you and your family. I hope it all turns out well. 😦

  4. Sorry! I can imagine that this experience must have been painful for the family. I do not know if you believe in prayer but I will pray for the family.

  5. Andrew McDowell says:

    I’m so sorry. Wishing the best for all of you. 😦

  6. thoughts and prayers going out to yall!

  7. My prayers will be with him and y’all. My youngest son was seven when we admitted him to the hospital. The first week was touch and go. The second week was a complete turn-around. The hospital had deep-set windows and he loved to climb up into the window and watch the parking lot activity.

  8. ahamin says:

    My heart goes to your youngest and all your beloved ones. God bless

  9. enitsirk24 says:

    It interests me that I am mot the only one to ever wish a year good-bye as the troubles keep mounting. May you see the healing hand of the Divine touch your lives and 2016 can clear out the negative so you can end on a good note.

  10. My heart goes out to you and my prayers go up for you. I’m sharing this touching, thought-provoking post on FB. God bless you and may Jesus heal your little one and take him into a new year.

  11. I pray that all will be wonderful again.

  12. Laura Bennet says:

    I so understand those horrific years we’d like to leave behind! We’re just coming out of one. I’m so sorry and praying for your family. While you probably have not even a minute to spare to read anything, I’ll share a book that we’ve found incredibly helpful as we navigated this year from “hell.” Broken Escalators by Peter Haas opened our eyes, helped us see some good and encouraged us. Even in exile, God has something good for us. Hard to find, but true. Praying things turn around soon for you!

  13. Thinking of you all, hard place to be….

  14. Hope things get better. : (

    Sending best wishes.
    Meno

  15. So sorry to hear about your little boy and I pray his condition has continued to improve. Having been on the medical side of these kind of situations, I can appreciate the stress and strain on your family. May your sweet boy’s recovery be quick and complete and may he enjoy life as a member of your loving family. All the best…Vanessa

  16. Sandra Hults says:

    My heart goes out to you guys. I will hope and keep you guys in my thoughts. Take care.

  17. I’m sending thoughts and prayers for that little fellow and for all of you. Such a scary time. I hope things improve. Vastly.

  18. hope he will recover and stay with you!

Leave a Reply

