I’m Back!

I hate that blog title because it insinuates that I’m just a casual blogger and just remembered to post something after an eight-month hiatus. Well, it’s been a few weeks since I’ve posted anything on here, but let me fill you in on what’s been going on in bullet-points:

  • I tried to earn a Dad of the Year award by spoiling my kids and taking them to Chuck E. Cheese’s each Saturday.
  • Sarabeth said that place is dirty.
  • I laughed it off.
  • “Come on, kids! Do you want to spend another Saturday at Chuck E. Cheese? Show me your happy dance!”
  • One sick kid.
  • Two sick kid.
  • One very sick dad.
  • Spots. Fever. Chills. Hallucinating (apparently). Bed rest.

Basically that bed rest is what did me in. I developed a blood clot in my left leg because I hadn’t moved in over a week. The blood clot developed because I had my ACL repaired ten years ago and had a blood clot then. Apparently they’re famous for encores.

So that required an impromptu trip to the ER. Mind you, this is after a stubborn and determined walk around the zoo with the kids and an uphill walk to the library even with my leg swelled to the size of an elephant’s testicle.

“I’ll be fine,” I kept telling Sarabeth. “Let me just run it off.” So I stretched, jogged, did Yoga, and continued doing the Happy Dance with the kids from Chuck E. Cheese’s Youtube channel. Some habits die hard.

Finally Sarabeth put her foot down (because I no longer could). She made me ask a trusted crmekjgxgaebxcadoctor and he said to haul ass to the ER pronto. The kids and I finished our snow cones (I was still going for Dad of the Year), I dropped them off at home, grabbed a book, and told my wife they’ll probably keep me overnight.

They did. For five nights.

The only reason the clot didn’t reach my lungs or my heart was because apparently I was born with abnormally narrow tummy vessels. So the clot couldn’t fit, even though it was trying.

Twelve episodes of Breaking Bad, four CAT Scans, three ultra sounds, two surgeries and about a trillion-and-a-half blood tests later, my leg was as good as new – new like a newborn baby’s who can’t walk.

Oh, speaking of babies, I came home from the hospital to a phone call saying that the state of Kentucky has a child they would like for us to take in. A normal couple would have said no, except this normal couple made a promise years back that we would never say no to a child. No matter what.

And, my mom-in-law was in town already, so she was happy to be around for the arrival of a new kid.

All of this to say that I’m alive and well, my publishing company is still (miraculously) on track for releasing our first two books next month, and we’ll be continuing the story of “The Underneath” by popular demand.

So… how’s your month been?

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

59 Responses to I’m Back!

  1. Glad to hear you are on the mend! Some big old pizza eating rat can’t spoil YOUR plans, eh?

  2. Feel better! So sorry to hear about this.

  3. Apparently my month has been better than yours..
    hope you’re on your feet and back to full health soon!!

    Meno

  4. animar64 says:

    Nothing like life to inspire us- though sometimes it’d be great if it did it to us from a distance and it didn’t involve Hospitals. And Surgery. And Binge Watching. From a Hospital.

  5. piratepatty says:

    Not topping that! Glad you are better.

  6. aby says:

    Wow!! You’ve been busy, great to see that you’re recovering. All the very best to you and the new addition to your family.

  7. lauramacky says:

    Poor thing! Check out Sons of Anarchy too. A great binge show.

  8. Laura Bennet says:

    No words. Hope you’ve re-evaluated what qualifies as Dad of the year status. Being around. Glad you are doing better. 😉

  9. Yikes, what a month. Sending healthy happy thoughts your way!

  10. dawnlizjones says:

    OH MAN! That’s r-e-a-l-l-y dangerous! Why do men DO that?!? So glad you’re okay!

  11. dfolstad58 says:

    Welcome back to you! Interesting update! Dad of the year eh, try funny shaped blueberry pancakes, and good luck with your publishing!

  12. Liz says:

    So glad to hear you’re on the mend! That is some serious stuff and I’m glad you have narrow blood vessels in your tummy area!

  13. Sandra Hults says:

    Isn’t it funny how life has a way of saying “no soup for you” when you go for parent of the year? My “no soup for you” came when mine was in kindergarten and I was a class room volunteer. Came to the tune of bacterial pneumonia, iv stints and 3 antibiotics. So I feel your pain. Hope you get well soon.

    Bravo on the philosophy about the child. 🙂

  14. Glad that blood clot didn’t travel! You push yourself and here I am thinking “my wrist kind of hurts a little, maybe I should see a doctor…” It isn’t swollen, it isn’t red, I didn’t injure it, I can still do everything normally… It just hurts a little.

  15. Good Lord! Glad to hear you’re on the mend.

  16. Rasma R says:

    Guardian angels were sure looking after you. Good luck with the new member of the family.

  17. cristi says:

    It is perfectly human that at some point the universe reminds you that you’re not so perfectly human. I hate it when that happens! Wishing you a continued recovery and more hours in each day to catch up on everything!

  18. Glad to see you back but WHY do men put off going to Dr? Hope your recuperation goes well

  19. That’s very dangerous. I’m glad Sarabeth is smart and persistent. You’ve scared me off Chuck E Cheese for life.

  20. Patty B says:

    wow some month you had…sometimes God places us flat on our backs to rest in Him….Glad you are on the mend.

  21. Glad to hear on you’re recovering well. I’ll keep you in my prayers.

  22. You couldn’t make stuff up like that if you wanted to! I am glad you are recovering. Your humor shines through writing.

  23. freshnewblog says:

    Invaluable information. Blood clots are so dangerous. I will never risk unnecessary surgery now. I could have had similar surgery when I was a teenager and did not, for no real reason.

Leave a Reply

