Addressing My Own Stubbornness

Great conversation and comments on yesterday’s post! Thank you for all who contributed. I’ve read through most of your reasons for being stubborn by not walking away from the written word and indulging fully in the technology age, and I’ve got to say, many of you are much deeper and intellectually-minded than I am.

I thought through my own reasons for not being willing to put down my books, and here’s what I came up with:

  1. I am a control freak. My poor family has to deal with this on a regular basis. I know I’m not trying hard enough to break the habit, but I’m trying to try hard enough. Anyway, when I’m reading a book I get to control the pace of the story. Rent a movie and you’re slapped with the 142 min. run time. No more, no less, unless of course you skip the credits (GASP!). If I want a scene to unfold slowly, then I can choose to take my time processing the information before me. If a scene is boring, I can read fast. If a scene is suspenseful . . . (A huge shout-out to Sarah Angleton from The Practical Historian for nailing this one)
  2. THE SUSPENSE! I am absolutely obsessed with being in suspense. It’s like a weird non-sexual dominatrix thing I’ve got going on. Everyone loves a good cliffhanger, and that’s the exact reason I love books more than movies and TV shows:

677d75bd46c9181f88e778df4713509f

In movies, the suspense is revealed according to the director’s timing. You can’t hold out a little longer if he/she decides to reveal the outcome of a suspenseful situation.

TV shows are just too painful. They leave you with a cliffhanger and then you’re stuck scratching an irritating itch for a whole week or even several months. (This is why I love discovering shows really late because then I can Netflix them. Then the problem becomes not knowing when to stop. I’ve got to reach the next cliffhanger, I’ve got to know what happens, I’ve got to reach the next cliffhanger, what happens, cliffhanger, answers! It’s an endless cycle.)

So those are my two reasons why I refuse to let go of my books. I’m a suspense junkie. Speaking of suspense, you should check out the serial novel, “The Underneath” that my publishing company’s authors are writing.

Thanks for contributing to the conversation and may your weekend be filled with words, intimacy with your characters, and suspense!

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

7 Responses to Addressing My Own Stubbornness

  1. I’m a suspense junkie too! That’s why I write mystery-romance-suspense. Not a control freak however. Too lazy for that!

  2. Gina Gamba says:

    What kinds of things will you be publishing? Genres? Formats?

  3. lovedandneeded says:

    I can’t leave the sensation of holding a book in my hands behind. No way. Page turning is so satisfying! Would you mind checking out a social media campaign I’m starting and joining in if you like it? Link is here: https://www.instagram.com/lovedandneeded/

  4. Hi Andrew,

    I agree! There’s something about suspense unfolding in a book that gives it a different effect from movie suspense. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good Hitchcock, but reading a book and being able to control the pace yourself means that you can speed up or slow down as fast as you want until the big reveal happens.

    One of the most recent instances of literary suspense I’ve come across was when I read Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch. I won’t give away the moment for those who haven’t read it, but it involves Theo Decker, a phone call, and an eavesdropper. It gave me the creeps!

    Best of luck with your writing and publishing!

    Rebekah

Leave a Reply

