Not What It Seems

glacier_iceberg_under_water

Since I was young I’ve had bad hearing. Thirty-percent hearing loss in one ear and forty-percent in the other. Something like that.

As a result I used to get words words wrong all the time.

For instance…

I thought there was an N in early: “Earnly.”

I used to say “supposebly” instead of “supposedly.” (Except I don’t know what sentences would require me to say that word, but if I said it, that’s how I would have pronounced it.)

I pronounced helicopter: helicockter. 

And if something was corny, I’d say it was horny.

A lot of times things aren’t what they seem. Your life could be heading in a direction completely different from what you expect.

I heard of a guy at work who got passed up for a promotion. Turns out the boss was holding out for a better promotion which he didn’t get because he let his performance slide.

I thought those spots on Michael Phelps were because he sucks at Nerf. Turns out it’s a form of therapy involving suction cups.

I once thought my highest aspiration was to be an author. Now I own my own company.

So take my advice with a great assault and remember that things are hardly ever what they seem.

And check out Endever’s serial novel, “The Underneath” if you’ve caught up with your Olympics viewing.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

7 Responses to Not What It Seems

  1. Well said my friend. Timely and motivating!

  2. Perfectly written and great food for thought besides being right of course. Perception is often the furthest from the truth but in the eyes of the one observing it is the only truth we know unless we lead our perception to the actually facts in order to learn the truth.
    Thank you for sharing…

  3. There was one time I was shopping at Costco and I saw a man grab his young kids arms and sit him down on the bench which seemed rather harsh to me and made me wonder if it was an abusive situation. But then when it was time to leave, the father pulled him up in a similar manner and I realized the kid had braces on both of his legs… so it wasn’t that the father was treating the son horribly but instead he was just helping him sit down on the bench.

Leave a Reply

