A Love Letter to Disney

IMG_0594

A while back I wrote a love letter to Pixar Animation Studios. I’ll never forget watching my viewership skyrocket that week. What was that all about? A couple of weeks later I received an email from Pixar Headquarters thanking me for my post and saying that it’s been making the rounds in the studio. Imagine that! I forget how long I cried. (The picture to the left is during the hysterics.) But the thing that made me happiest was knowing that the hard workers at the studio caught a tiny glimpse of joy they bring to our lives on a regular basis.

Yesterday Disney released the international trailer for their highly anticipated and surefire record-breaker, Moana. Take a second and watch it. I’ve watched it about nine times now and I still get chills.

It’s safe to say that Disney is on par with Pixar. After Wreck-it Ralph, Big Hero 6, Zootopia, and most likely Moana, we just need to stop denying it.

They bring a class and beauty to the world that we’ve all but forgotten. In our hurried and messy lives, Disney movies have a way of, I don’t know, restoring order. Even if it’s just the illusion of restoration – or better yet, the hope of restoration.

Their movies are not devoid of evil and chaos and bitterness and jealousies. And their resolutions aren’t as cookie-cutter as they used to be. Disney’s movies sell you on cute, sure, but they deliver on substance and depth.

I mean, how gut-wrenchingly hard is it to watch Hiro release Baymax into the Unknown? If that doesn’t tear you apart, I question your mortality. Not only is their attention to detail and vivid color out of this world, but almost every note strikes a cord with something deep inside us.

Why?

Because they take beauty to the extreme. They push the bounds of reality and expose us to a world of bliss and hope.

Like Pixar, they no longer make movies for kids. Their movies address us adults just as profoundly. Zootopia reminds me that even if I achieve my dreams, my story doesn’t stop and the struggles will keep coming.

Wreck-it Ralph delivers the hard message that I’ve been dealt my cards and I need to figure out how to make the best of it.

Frozen sings about letting go. Big Hero 6 shows us how to do it.

Thank you Disney, for the work and painstaking efforts you infuse in your movies. You have the challenge of not just catering to one specific audience, but to literally every single demographic. And you pull it off with class and style and unimaginable beauty.

I believe Disney movies do make the world a better place, even if it’s just a little. They bring families together. A reason for parents to take the kids out. They provide contexts for us to talk about serious things with our kids. They give us parents footing to address things such as good byes, racism, bullying, sibling rivalry, and my favorite: You don’t have to be a jerk just because you’re popular (Fix it Felix, Jr.).

I know there’s people out there who don’t watch Disney or Pixar movies just because they’re cartoons. I pity those people. They’re missing out on some of the greatest filmmaking in the history of film.

Thank you Disney, for all that you do. Keep at it, and we’ll see you in November!

For more on Disney check out

Baseball and Disney

and One of the Greatest Companies in the World.

 

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

21 Responses to A Love Letter to Disney

  1. Irena S. says:

    I agree with you! Great post. 🙂

  2. lucia says:

    That was beautiful! I agree with you 100%. I’m only a teenager, but one day I hope to work at Pixar (or Disney). Disney is able to make sweet, light hearted films that also make us tear up more than once. Its funny how we become so attached to characters from ‘little kids’ movies. Anyway, great post 🙂

  3. Shana Gorian says:

    Reblogged this on Rosco the Rascal's Reading Room and commented:
    With dreams of writing for the big screen myself, I took note of this post and I’ve got to agree with Mr. Toy here. A good movie is a good movie is a good movie, no matter the genre. Looking forward to seeing this one.

  4. J says:

    I still start to cry when I think about Baymax.

  5. Coral Rivera says:

    Agree 100%. Disney changed my life and I will forever be a Disnerd. It influences me – and my writing – everyday. Thanks for this!

  6. thecubsandus says:

    I have to agree a hundred percent. Such a good post 🙌🏻 totally agree on Baymax, I wasn’t prepared for that, and was a total emotional mess, my 8 year old had to comfort me 🙈😂

  7. dfolstad58 says:

    Too bad the parks are so expensive I could only afford one day with my son. This Moana trailer looks amazing.

  8. I think your post just made me tear up a bit. Just remembering Hiro, his brother and Baymax tears me apart. (*cries in a corner*)
    Honestly though, I agree with every word you’ve written—these films are what make profound memories in our minds and need to be truly cherished.
    Awesome post, mate; I look forward for more 🙂

  9. This is a wonderful post! Among their memorable stories, I love seeing how the animation has progressed! Everything I’m the movies appear so life like!
    Thank you for following my blog!

Leave a Reply

