How Finding Dory Will Make Me a Better Dad

maxresdefaultYou may laugh, but I highly doubt I’m the only dad who wanted one specific thing for Father’s Day: to go see Finding Dory. It couldn’t have come at a better time as we’re struggling through a hard time in our extended family. (Thank you so much Pixar, for consistently providing a light to us in dark times.)

The movie’s release also comes at a time when my kids are still young, which I’m so grateful for. Finding Dory sucker-punched me in the father-gut as it forced me to examine my current parenting techniques.

By the way, this post will be spoiler-free if you haven’t seen the movie, which you should (it’s shattering records already).

Right off the bat being a father has shown me how impatient I can be. You really never know how much of a perfectionist you are until you become a parent! But when my kids mess up, I’m quick to lose my temper and, I’m sad to say, make them feel bad for what they’ve done.

Finding Dory was like looking into a mirror when Marlin berates Dory (his surrogate daughter, I take it) for her disability (short-term memory loss). I can sympathize with Marlin because- “Son! I JUST told you not to pull on the dog’s ears! What’s wrong with you??”

See what I mean?

findingdoryjpn600_size3

The way Inside Out reminds us parents not to encourage our kids to act contrary to how they feel, Finding Dory practically scolds us for expecting our kids to be perfect despite their learning disabilities (and, as my wife often reminds me, they’re just kids). And for me, the message stung like a jelly fish.

635948550074796045-finding-dory-fdcs-dory10-125-per16-125There are plenty of messages to be found in Dory for the kids too, such as they never need to feel limited by their imperfections. And no matter what, there’s always a way out of their problems, no matter how dire, if they’re just brave enough.

Okay, maybe those reminders aren’t just for the kids.

All in all, Finding Dory doesn’t disappoint. It’s no Toy Story (1,2, or 3), but it’s still millions of leagues (pun) from being an animated movie not closely monitored and fostered by the Disney/Pixar powerhouses. In fact, Finding Dory, in all it’s excellence and daring, encourages, inspires, and illuminates laughter and happiness in an increasingly dark world.

Perhaps it’s a timely movie for all of us at this stage in our history.

Oh, and by the way, the photorealistic short film that precedes the feature is nothing less than 100% brilliant (my second favorite in Pixar’s short film lineup, just behind Presto!). I’m so excited for our kids to see it so I can teach them that things aren’t always as threatening as they seem.

piper+2

Yeah, we left the kids at home to go see an animated movie. How often do I have to stress that Pixar/Disney movies are not made for kids? They’re brightly colored adult movies that kids can happen to enjoy, and Dory is no different.

Once it’s been out for a little while, I’ll talk about the film’s climax and why I think it’s so perfect.

Oh! And what did you think about that Beauty and the Beast trailer?? Is that going to be amazing or what? Sarabeth and I have already made the proper arrangements to see it next March.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

18 Responses to How Finding Dory Will Make Me a Better Dad

  1. dawnlizjones says:

    How cool to see your business take off! And what a wonderful plug for this new movie. I am a huge fan of Finding Nemo, and the message of “disability courage” is one for all of us, but hits home especially as a school nurse. Besides, aren’t we all “disabled”; let’s see, I believe it had something to do with falling down in a Garden…?? BTW, just watched Wall-E last night, with the Presto extra. One of my faves is the one with the raincloud and stork–LOVE it. Keep us “posted”!

    • Andrew Toy says:

      “Partly Cloudy” is very close to be being at the top of my list! I’d say “Tin Toy” is my next favorite just below “Piper” (the newest one). It’s definitely an oldie, but it still lives on!

  2. Okay you have me almost convinced to go see this with my daughter tomorrow Andrew.

  3. Sincerely, Sylvia B says:

    Thank you for your honesty not everyone can admit to not having patience with certain things. As for the movie I will be seeing it without children because we (adults) love Disney movies. Lol.

  4. I cannot wait to see Finding Dory. So Glad to know it’s worth the watch!

  5. I saw Finding Dory in 3D this past Friday, and I would see it again! It is extremely heartfelt and touching, and yes, I did shed more than a tear. Not only is this a perfect Father’s Day movie, or perhaps even a gift, but it couldn’t have came at such a better time. Bravo, Pixar!

    And let’s not forget Piper (the accompanying featurette); how can you not fall in love with such a memorable character!

  6. Pingback: How Pixar Movies Can Make You a Better Dad | adoptingjames

  7. True and amazing! God bless you as Dad, and in all other areas of your life.

Leave a Reply

