Silly Rabbit, Animated Movies Aren’t (Just) for Kids

 

Zootopia-4-1940x1119

Zootopia is Disney’s 55th animated feature film, and it broke records as being the highest grossing Disney animated opening of all time.

Why is that? Personally, I think it’s because Disney has been delivering better and better films after their decade of mediocrity (1995-2004). The animation powerhouse, with the help from Pixar geniuses, has worked hard over the past twelve years to regain the world’s trust. Each film, from Bolt to Big Hero 6, has steadily gotten better and better, and diving deeper and deeper with substance and superior quality.

After seeing it with my son today, I can see why it’s garnered a near 100% critical rating on Rotten Tomatoes by both critics and audiences alike (many even claiming it’s the best Disney film ever), and why it’s broken the record as the studio’s highest grossing opening.

Zootopia is not your typical animated film. Sure, it’s anthropomorphic, which is not uncommon in the medium, it pulls as many quips as it can, and… well, that’s pretty much where the similarities stop. Outside of that, it’s a seriously fun and entertaining crime drama.

In fact, it’s so reminiscent of my favorite buddy-cop movies, Lethal Weapon, that I no lethal_weapon_3longer feel a need for Riggs and Murtaugh to team up for a fifth installment because a sly fox and a “dumb bunny” beat them to it.

If you’re one of those closed-minded weirdos who write animated films off as being “kid movies,” you need to rethink your approach. If this movie doesn’t convince you that select animated films can be way better than your typical live-action release, then you’ve got some rewiring to do. (There’s a scene where a main character cries and it’s better than any crying I’ve seen any real actor pull off…yeah, I watered.)

Most of the jokes are subtle. Many of them I won’t notice until future viewings (and there will be many…by choice), but I caught enough to know that they’re there. And yes, it’s got that warmth and heart Disney is known for, but it never, ever feels cheesy.

Judy-Hopps-disneys-zootopia-38966363-777-777I can foresee myself choosing Judy Hopps as my favorite Disney character after a more timely analysis of her character. I want her to be my daughter’s role-model. She is strong, humble, and determined to be the best she can be doing what she wants to do. And no bull-headed water buffalo is going to get in her way.

Is Zootopia my all-time favorite Disney movie? I don’t know, but it’s way up there. But then again, A Goofy Movie isn’t technically considered part of the Disney animated movie lineup. So… of the official 55 releases… I guess I’ll just have to watch it a few more times to decide. And I can’t wait!

Disney does not make kid movies anymore, and this is just one more proof of that. If Hollywood didn’t segregate animated films in their award ceremonies, Zootopia would easily be in the running for best film categories just as Inside Out would have been earlier this year.

Don’t forget to vote for your favorite short story to cap off Endever’s first writing contest!

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

13 Responses to Silly Rabbit, Animated Movies Aren’t (Just) for Kids

  1. mn6363 says:

    So basically A Goofy Movie is one of the best Disney movies ever. I can still sing Eye to Eye without missing a beat (and yes, I hope that song is now in your head, too!) I love that you obviously appreciate it for all of its Leaning-Tower-of-Cheeza glory! I can’t wait to watch Zootopia! I watched the Sloth Trailer and laughed so very hard! It should be awesome!

  2. J says:

    I’m so eager to see it! I’m glad it was just as good as you’d hoped!

  3. Thanks for this review. I always tell everyone that an animated movie is not really a children’s film. Just because it’s animated, it does not mean it is for kids, right? Animated movies are deeper than a typical movie. That’s why I am always fond of watching them.
    I thank Pixar and Disney for all the animated movies they made.

  4. SyedaFR says:

    Oh dear! You’ve added to my curiosity. I’m waiting for a break from work to watch this one. 😕

  5. kabrown4 says:

    I didn’t rate this film from the trailer I saw, but the internet is seemingly exploding with praise for the film. I can’t wait to go and see it. Great review.

  6. The early Warner Brothers cartoons were definitely not for kids. They used the films to make fun of studio executives and public figures. Watching some of them as an adult, I see them on a whole different level.

  7. Merona Verona says:

    I absolutely love this film! It’s just so different to the other animated movies and it’s so mature in its message: DIVERSITY, ADVERSITY, COMPROMISE, FRIENDSHIP, DETERMINATION, KINDNESS, MORALS, EMBRACING DIFFERENCES amongst others!!

Leave a Reply

