The Verdict Is In

 

flex_tablet_zootopia_selfie_c781d089

Every author, every screenwriter, every musician, wants to be the best in their trade.

We all want to produce the best short story, the best song, the best written final. We want to deliver the best graduation speech, publish the best article, make the boldest sale, cook the best egg sandwich on the planet.

And there are always people in our field to look up to and aspire to. People who have gone before us and set the bar.

For me, as a writer, I have a small number of authors I follow. But writing comes in many forms even outside of books and articles and other such mediums.

Writing can also be enjoyed through movies, and my favorite genre to follow is animated movies because they have the tough job of catering to every age of audience members from nearly every walk of life. (Admittably, not even animation studio believes this to be true.)

Movies like Deadpool and Whiskey Tango Foxtrot may be fun films, but the writer’s job is much easier than those writers in animation. Their workload is literally cut in half because they are writing to appease a smaller number of audience members.

It’s the difference between delivering a Thanksgiving speech at the family dinner table and speaking in front of news cameras for a worldwide audience. The risk is higher, the expectation is gargantuan, and the critical feedback is going to be much tougher and bloodier.

There’s not a new kid in town, but apparently the oldest kid on the block picked up some amazing new skills. It’s becoming official from critics everywhere that Disney’s new animated movie, Zootopia, is deemed the greatest animated movie of all time.

That’s taking into consideration that it’s apparently better than Up, Lion King, and even Toy Story. Or at least on the same level.

I don’t know about you, but I’m pretty excited to see this movie. And even more so, I’m excited to have a new movie to aspire to, in terms of writing and imagination. I have a feeling that if you’re in the creative profession, it will be in your best interest to see Zootopia when it comes out this Friday.

Always be on the lookout for the greatest in your field to aspire to. And maybe your work will be the next greatest thing.

And don’t forget! I’ll be posting the three finalists for our writing contest this coming Sunday! Check back then to see if you’ve been chosen!

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

19 Responses to The Verdict Is In

  1. J says:

    The preview for Zootopia cracks me up every single time I see it. I can’t wait to see it either!

  2. bikurgurl says:

    My husband and children can’t wait to see this!

  3. thewriteedge says:

    I don’t know, when I took the kids to see another movie I saw the trailer for Zootopia and wasn’t impressed [hides under a shield in case of any rocks thrown.] The joke about the sloth just seemed to take FOREVER to play out, and I realize that that’s kind of the point — it’s a sloth — but it just didn’t seem funny. At all. And the commercials I’ve seen on TV since then don’t really draw me in either.

    I hope I’m proven totally wrong when the movie does release this Friday — I’m as huge a Pixar fan as almost anyone (except maybe Andrew :>) — but as it stands right now I’m just dreading when the kids ask to go see it.

    • Andrew Toy says:

      I personally thought it was the funniest movie trailer I’d ever seen. The timing was perfect, I felt like. And it’s so, so nice to see a change from generic slapstick. It was a very bold and inventive comedy, I thought. (I hope you’re proven wrong, too 🙂

      • thewriteedge says:

        Thanks. :> I guess all the dead air while the sloth was going through the joke bothered me. Again, I know it’s a sloth. But it just seemed like a LOT of dead air. We’ll find out when the first reviews roll out on Friday!

  4. mn6363 says:

    No way it’s better than the lion king. No way, no how. That movie as cinematic beauty! And that’s just the animation! The actual story is just as great! Not gonna lie though…I can’t wait to see it! Lol

    • Andrew Toy says:

      When you see it, let me know if you’ve had to reconsider… Personally, I love it when the best is topped. That means the best isn’t the best forever.

      • mn6363 says:

        Will do lol okay it may be the best cause it was he first movie I ever on on a “date”. I was 5. He lived next door. It was adorable lol My personal history aside though, I’ll do my best to keep an open mind. I struggle with the nostalgia of my 1990s childhood.

  5. Thanks for the heads up! If it comes to the UK, we’ll be thrilled & go see it!

Leave a Reply

