What Moves You?

incredibles-team-the-incredibles-10-incredible-facts-in-honor-of-its-tenth-anniversary-jpeg-168588

We are each moved by different things. Some people are moved by the mountaintop view, others are emotionally impacted by a rock concert. Maybe it’s a family gathering or witnessing wild animals run free into an untamed horizon, or maybe it’s art, or waterfalls.

For me, it’s Story. I’m a can be a bit of a robot when it comes to real life stuff, but I am deeply impacted by a well-told story.

I’m probably the only person to have actually cried in The Incredibles. There’s nothing sad in the movie, but just the quality of storytelling and the raw, honest character development move me to tears. There is unbridled talent that is at work behind every facet of movies like that.

And if I’m honest about it, it’s because I’m envious of that talent. I strive to reach that level of creativity in my own books.

And you know what? I’m thankful for people that are better than me. They set a ridiculously high bar. And every time I sit down to write, I gladly take on that challenge and push forward to be as great as I possibly can.

What movies you? What do you aspire to be? What skills or challenges do you dream of mastering? How do you use your emotions to propel you toward your goals? If you answer these questions in the comment section below, be sure to answer the next two questions as well:

What’s stopping you from reaching your goals?

If you haven’t yet, what’s stopping you from entering our writing contest? If you want to enter, you have just three days left before we close out submissions. Enter, and you could win $150 plus publication opportunities.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

39 Responses to What Moves You?

  1. Humor is the thing for me. Nicely written.

  2. Miriam says:

    Being in nature moves me. As does music.

  3. earthtodona says:

    People and their vulnerabilities move me. I aspire to be someone who will bring more people to accept and work with those vulnerabilities. There is no need for a facade when every human being is so diversely beautiful inside and out

  4. tmezpoetry says:

    James, nice post. Frankly, and since you asked, any contest with a submission fee I stay away from. I understand why it is done but writing is the one place where I can finally be free of its need.
    Wishing all the contestants the best of success 🙂

  5. I like playing with my puppy or with my partners cat, I just find animals relaxing. They’re kind of just in the moment and they don’t make judgements on you … I mean, the cat knows that I’m “the weak one” … but he’s still very cuddly with me. Those looks they give you when you walk in the door, whether you’ve just put out the bin or have been gone all day … Nothing beats their happiness.

  6. I enjoy stories that make me smile and give credit to people who overcome situations by creating solutions.

  7. NiaLisabeth says:

    Seeing good parents…. Reduces me to tears almost instantly.

    Could be in real life, in books or films- I find them fascinating and then almost always ‘get something in my eye’

  8. weissblut says:

    Anything that reminds me that humanity is not doomed (yet).

  9. J says:

    I’m inspired by the characters that randomly pop into my life. I can’t help but chase them down and get to know them.

  10. You are so right. Books that I read as a child – like “Black Beauty” – made an impact on my life that has never lessened. My goal as a writer is to have someone say, “I will never forget that book.”

  11. Love this post! I am also moved by stories above everything else! (and yes, I am a writer) (I also love the Incredibles by the way)

  12. Photographs of faces of children and old people —Hopes and Dreams/Life experiences and wisdom. Their eyes say it all.

  13. piratepatty says:

    I’m moved by kindness. Any act of kindness, no matter how small or large. I’ve reached all of my goals and am in the process of making new ones. But my greatest goal is to be kind

    • Andrew Toy says:

      I’m super jealous that you’ve reached all your goals! And I kindly think that’s awesome 🙂

      • piratepatty says:

        Well to be honest, that invisibility thing still isn’t perfected! And although I have reached the goals I made as a young adult, now my goals are quite different. Forgive and Forget, Be Kind, Learn Arabic and of course I’m still working on the invisibility thing. :))

    • I love this response! If only the whole world can learn to be kind… but maybe with the examples people set, we’ll get the ball rolling in the right direction with each act of kindness.

  14. WordPower says:

    I am moved by words: well spoken, cleverly written and artistically displayed. I may be the greatest Word Nerd in existence.When I discover a stand-out sentence in a book or magazine, I reread them, dog-ear the page and highlight or star the magical words that stopped me in my tracks. I aspire to write from my heart, to use my words like a painter uses his brush to create a masterpiece. What’s stopping me? Probably nothing that should be. But instead of writing from my heart, I spend 9-10 hours a day writing for clients, for the publisher. How can I change this? I’m asking myself this question daily.

    • Andrew Toy says:

      Well, you pretend you’re the only audience in the world and no one else exists. You tell the story that YOU want to read. Once you do that, then you go back and tweak it for mass appeal. Because eventually, your story must become our story. Unless you want to hog it all for yourself 🙂

  15. kingsoracle says:

    Well written, and Insightful Post. Thanks for sharing.

  16. I’ve watched The Incredibles way too many times to count. I probably don’t want to know how many times exactly I’ve watched it (true for most Pixar movies, actually). 😊
    I too am inspired by good stories. For me, I’m the sort of person that doesn’t cry easily over a book or movie (wish I could a lot of times… My heart is crying, anyway), so if a book or movie actually does manage to make me cry, it’s gold! The only movie to make my cry every single time I watch it (four times and counting) is Big Hero 6. I love this movie!! Every time I finish, I stare at the TV and ask myself, “how did they DO that?!” I feel the same way with the 100 Cupboards series… Blown away and incredibly inspired (plus their unaccountable and incredible way to make you laugh rib-achingly and bawl your eyes out in the same book/movie). Good stories do that to you, I think.
    As for what’s keeping me from my goals, it’s money. The age-old problem. I want to be a freelance author, but don’t have the money as yet for editors, cover designers, layout designers, ISBNs, etc. Working on that, but so far it’s not looking good for any time soon. Anyway…
    I’ve already submitted, weeeee! I’m a sucker for story contests. 😊 I believe in what your doing and want to support you. I hope it all goes well and you get tons of funding!!
    ~ Kat
    P. S. Endever is new option on the table for possible courses to take in future. 😉 I’m super excited to see it get off the ground and into full swing. I can’t wait to learn more about it and watch you take off!! 😁

  17. Nadine says:

    Music, the tears of old people and children, injustice

  18. Miss Megan says:

    People move me. How they act, respond, feel. I aspire to be a Christian author and inspirational speaker, with both my writing and and communication skills still to be mastered. Emotion is what propels virtually all that I do or produce. My heart compels me to act, compels me to reach other people, compels me to love and encourage. And if I can make someone laugh or smile, then that’s a golden moment.

    Right now, the only thing that is holding me back is me… but I feel the binds loosening. Oh, and I haven’t entered because I’m not a short story writer 😊.

  19. Aside from animated movies.. I think the one that truly move me is a song or how a singer sings his song. I love music but I have a really high standard for what is good and not good. Well, I do not based my standards with the melody of the song, more of like I am basing it by the lyrics or how passionate the singer is. 🙂

  20. Melissa says:

    I enjoy your blog so I included you on my list to answer some fun questions for your followers if you feel like it. 🙂 You can find it at http://www.apronsheelsandyogapants.com, under “Some Things About Me” Thanks!

  21. Pingback: This Confession will charge your emotion : I was emotionally abusing my wife! - Mighty Reporters

  22. ecopoet says:

    , words move me – meaning what you say & saying what’s in your heart, mind -soul – where ever it derives out of is different for everyont
    I need to tap in more…. thanks for the reminder

Leave a Reply

