My Secret Love Affair

booksYou don’t get many options in life, but with books, the options are nearly endless and the pleasures never get old.

No matter what demons or challenges I’m facing in my own life I can choose out of millions of characters with whom I want to share my cares and woes. And to celebrate with! Even when I’m at my lowest of lows, I can share in the victories of my fictitious or historical friends.

Because most days, their victories are my highlights.

Even if I’m reading about a character undergoing tremendous suffering, I are reminded that I am not alone.

The only bad thing about a great book is feeling the number of pages grow thin as I measure them with my right thumb. And the closer I get to the end the more often I bring the book underneath my nose to inhale that reminiscent smell.

It’s the only smell in the world that simultaneously puts me in a peaceful place in the midst of today’s chaos and re-encompases me in the bubble of comfort that protected me from the chaos I sought to escape as a child.

From the beginning books have been my most reliable source of protection from a world gone wrong.

They ground me in reality through fantastic imagery and stories filled with the most bizarre, yet relatable characters.

If done right, the feel of each individual page, the twirly font of the page numbers, and the ribbon-like designs swirling around them all come together in a sort of ambiance for a most enchanting experience no single person can provide.

As far as I know, I’m the only person in the world reading that exact line on that exact page at that exact moment, and so for a time, my books and I share a connection that only belongs to me.

I love stopping mid sentence just to close the book and admire the cover.

I can control the pace of the story. Since I like to marinate in suspense, I can slow my speed down and extend the glorious misery that is not knowing what’s to come.

To me, few things in life compare to the joy of reading a book. Whether it be because of the knowledge they offer or the thrill of being gripped by an original storyline, all these elements and more are what come together to make reading the most original, stimulating, and exciting experience on the planet.

So happy Valentine’s Day, books! I love you!

Spread the love if you do your part in keeping real books alive by buying them or checking them out at the library.

Also, make sure to submit your short story by February 25th for a chance to win $150 and be published by Endever Publishing Studios.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

33 Responses to My Secret Love Affair

  1. Indeed! I agree with all written here, and will go one step further: when I read, I keep a dictionary on my lap and look up every word I am not familiar with then add it to my “favorites.” Even if I am familiar with a word, yet find it used in a manner I would not, I review the exact meaning, so that I can make it my own. This is how writers continue to expand their possibilities of communication! Thank you for your post.

  2. trE says:

    Books are everything amazing multiplied by ten.

  3. I always thought I would never read from an e-book or electronic device because I loved real books way too much. How could people read from a device instead of an actual book!?! But then my niece showed me how her e-reader worked and I had to check it out myself (I was amazed that you could change the size of the font and the style of the font so easily!). So now I am partially ashamed to admit I feel in love with my Kindle… and it’s not hard to read actual books, which I still do but it’s pretty rare.

  4. revgerry says:

    I feel exactly that way about reading – except that at the end of the book, you will find me going back and reading it again to prolong the time I spend with my new friends. I must say though that my paper books are all falling apart from all that re-reading and I too have become a kindle fan.

  5. acflory says:

    I love the physicality of books, and the memories they represent, but all my current reading happens on a Kindle. You just can’t beat convenience. Plus I’ve found that the most innovative writing is happening amongst Indies, and they mostly publish ebooks.

  6. marymtf says:

    I’m glad you’re in on the secret, Andrew. We all love to immerse ourselves in the story and for a little while live in the world of our characters. The best part is that our real life woes are suspended for a time.

  7. plaintain1 says:

    Totally agree. I don’t know what I would do without books. They give me stories to immerse myself in, they provide me with information, and even give me solutions to my problems. Thank heavens for books!

  8. Raney Simmon says:

    I agree. Books really are a pleasurable part of life and I’m glad they’ve become a part of mine.

  9. J says:

    My all-time favorite book is on my night stand. Every day. As in, permanently. It’s like an extension of my soul, an extra limb. I don’t know how to not have it close to me.

  10. My secret love, too! Well done on the post…as always!

  11. adafairy7 says:

    You just described my love affair with books to a T 😁

  12. I too love books. My husbands got me a kindle and I only use it to watch Netflix. I collect books and love having them.

  13. Pingback: -Reblogged Content- My Secret Love Affair | Calliope Writing

  14. Agreed! This is such a beautiful description as well.

Leave a Reply

