Happy Birthday Pixar!!

CaVZzZpWQAE1gAH.jpg-large

February 3rd is better than Christmas.

It’s the day Pixar was born and thus, the world, and millions of lives were better for it. Today, Pixar Animation Studios is thirty years old.

Without further adieu, I present you thirty reasons I absolutely love Pixar:

1. The shorts. It’s their “Thank you” for coming to watch their movies. They make no profit off of these gems. (You’re welcome, Pixar!)

2. Their influence on (and, ultimately salvation of) Disney.

3. Their courage to be honest with everyone – even kids (Monsters, University anyone?). 

4. Toy Story. Toy Story 2. Toy Story 3. And probably Toy Story 4. 

5. Bob Parr and I would be best friends. We get each other. 

6. The Art Of books that accompany each feature film. 

7. The way Woody runs.

8. The hundreds of rewrites the entire Pixar staff endures in order to bring us the best movies possible. 

9. The crazy-intense originality of Ratatouille. 

10. Everything about Joy. 

11. The final playtime scene from Toy Story 3

12. The two Pixar books: The Pixar Touch by David A. Price and Creativity, Inc. by Ed Catmull.

13. The eye candy in Finding Nemo.

14. Pete Docter. 

15. Cowboys + Dinosaurs = very brave move. (Well done!) 

16. They’re not cartoons. Heck, oftentimes they’re the most mature movies out in theaters. 

17. Pixar movies tend to get better and better with each viewing. 

18. All the theories that haven’t been disproved. 

19. Julie Fowlis’ songs in Brave. 

20. Name more than five predictable moments in the entire Pixar canon; I dare you. 

21. The shock of who the bad guys turn out to be.

22. Every score by Michael Giacchino.

23. Presto!

24. I love crying. 

25. Bing Bong’s dolphin imitation. 

26. The commentary on every Pixar DVD. 

27. The fact that Pixar is my one reason to dress up and spend the money for a full-priced ticket for a night out (unless it’s Star Wars: The Force Awakens). 

28. The feeling of extreme anticipation for The Incredibles 2, to the point that I literally want to throw up and run naked around my high school track covered in petroleum jelly if it means getting to June 21, 2019 much quicker.  

29. The fact that my name is Andy Toy; I like to think I am the original owner of Woody and Buzz. 

30. That when you write posts like this, Pixar writes you back and thanks you. 

(This picture was taken several minutes after I received a letter from Pixar. See number 24 to know what I did for twenty minutes after receiving it and before this picture was taken.) 

IMG_0594

Have you submitted your short story for our writing contest yet? You can win $150. Give it a shot. Click here for the rules and guidelines and the link to submit. (Deadline is February 25) Any questions, email me at endeverpublishing@gmail.com or ask in the comments below.

Follow my publishing company’s new blog and find out in subsequent posts how Pixar has inspired me to start a business! Click here! 

 

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

18 Responses to Happy Birthday Pixar!!

  1. Nancy says:

    Bravo! Great list. And all this time I thought I was the only person who appreciated the way Woody runs!

  2. mn6363 says:

    I don’t want to wait three years for Incredibles 2 😦 love this list!

    • Andrew Toy says:

      I’m confident the wait will be more than worth it. And then, waiting for the third installment will be like enduring hell. Lol

      • mn6363 says:

        Uh yes. Lol it’ll be like the Harry Potter books ALL OVER AGAIN! Lol

        • Andrew Toy says:

          Lol. Only shorter and much, much better 🙂 (No offense to Harry.)

          • mn6363 says:

            Oh, come on. You have to like Harry Potter. Atleast appreciate the beautiful, intricate story itself?

            • Andrew Toy says:

              Oh, don’t get me wrong – I LOVE Harry Potter. A lot. More than Lost. More than Fast and the Furious. More than most things. But Pixar is far above anything else on the planet, in my opinion.

              • mn6363 says:

                Lol ya know what? I’m totally going to give you that one. Pixar movies really are fantastic. I don’t think it’s any one thing, but they do something to my feelings that other movies just don’t do. Up, for example, subtly shows an infertile couple! And the final Toy Story 3 play scene (which you noted in your post) is next to the ending scenes of The Breakfast Club from an emotional standpoint. Yeah, Pixar is delightful lol

  3. J says:

    I love to run like Woody. Who doesn’t??

  4. Meg says:

    I agree! February 3 is a fantastic day– I just wish Pixar was 31…

  5. Aww…what a great post! And great Happy Birthday wishes! If we ever get too old to enjoy Pixar…we are too old to enjoy life!

Leave a Reply

