Why I’ve Decided to Stop Hating My Day Job

cubicle_4_fisk

If you’re reading this you probably feel trapped in the monotonous hell of a 9-5.

And every day is the worst day of your life.

Saturdays are bad because you’re still trying to unwind from the stress of Monday-Friday and Sundays are worse because you’re dreading the next Monday-Friday steamroller.

I know this feeling well. But I’m not there anymore.

Not because I quit. No, I’m still punching a clock like you.

I’m not there anymore because I’ve changed my outlook.

I’ve decided not to see my job as a hinderance to my dream job as a book publisher and author, but rather as an enabler (and I do mean that in a good way).

It’s because of my day job that I have money to pay for my mocha frappuccios (fancy shakes) while conference calling with my business partners. Of course, I’ll need that income later to pay for a personal trainer to lose all those carbs.

My day job pays for my food and my gas and my internet. I couldn’t pursue my dream without those things.

But it’s more than that.

My day job is my platform to put my best self forward. While there, I can practice pulling my colleagues together and encourage them to work their best. After all, those traits will be required of me as CEO of Endever Publishing Studios.

So, even though it’s Monday, and I’m dealing with difficult people on the phone all day, I want to say, “Thank you, Day Job, for providing sustenance so I can pursue my dream.”

I challenge you to thank your boss for the job you have. And work at it as though you’re the CEO.

Have you submitted your short story for our writing contest yet? Why not? You can win $150. Give it a shot. Click here for the rules and guidelines and the link to submit.

Click here to submit! (deadline is February 25th)

Follow Endever on Facebook and Twitter to watch us grow!

Any questions, email us at endeverpublishing@gmail.com or ask below.

 

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

22 Responses to Why I’ve Decided to Stop Hating My Day Job

  1. weissblut says:

    Hey Andrew, thanks for the follow and best of luck with your publishing adventure – the world needs more Publishers who dare to be talent scout, instead of selling machines of sparkly vampires!

  2. jwforeva says:

    Even though I haven’t entered uni yet, I think I can appreciate what you’re going through. I’m having the same dilemma as well as to choosing what to study in uni and subsequently in life…and I’m trying real to find the positivity in doing something that’s perhaps more realistic/pays better/practical as opposed to pursuing my dreams in the arts.

  3. Great post! As a writer, my 9-5 is hard to justify at times, but God’s got this. I’m so grateful to be able to pay my bills until my writing can. Many blessings on your journey!

  4. hananon90 says:

    It takes real strength to think that way. Good for you. Hope you can keep it up.

  5. Simon says:

    I like the thoughts here and I’m going to have a lok at this writing contest… I always love a challenge 🙂

  6. Adilah M. says:

    This put into words what I feel on a daily basis. I’m glad I visited your blog when I’m trying my best to face another day at work. Thank you and cheers!

  7. Basil Rene says:

    Fortunately, I learned the art of appreciation. I learned to appreciate the little things in life by turning a negative into a positive. I no longer look at traffic as an annoyance but an opportunity to listen to some more of that audio book I want to hear. The person in front of me creeping along at 25 in a 45 zone is just someone put to slow me down and probably prevent me from having a crash ahead. It is a learned process that done enough just becomes a way of life and stress is something that becomes non existent.

  8. Hi and thank you for following my blog and I’m so glad you did because it brought me here. It takes so much energy in hating our jobs. Before I retired I went through periodic phases of hating mine but then I’d remember, as you mention here, that my job allowed me to have freedoms and enjoyment in things that wouldn’t be possible without it. Placing the focus on my passions made it much easier and I was happier. ~Steph

  9. J says:

    There’s something about having dreams that makes tedious work all the harder to get through. The success is in not letting work wear you down to the point that you give up on everything else.

  10. Brilliant! A winning attitude. A great example to follow! Thanks.

  11. stephanyteatai says:

    Reblogged this on Stephany T and commented:
    Absolutely made my day 😀

  12. Miss Megan says:

    Brilliant post. I admire your attitude so much. If you are interested I highly recommend the book The Art of Work by Jeff Goins. I think you’ll find it falling in line with where you are at. Thank you!

  13. WordPower says:

    A great reminder, thank you. I adopt this outlook and then find myself straying into the land of bad attitudes and have to pull myself back into the right perspective.

  14. Direen says:

    How absolutely lovely! Being grateful for what we have now will make it so much easier to step into our greatness. The tools we develop now are our spring board.

  15. Mike says:

    The day job is more than just a way to support your writing habit. In my other life as a landlord, I end up in the middle of many interesting conflicts. Grist for my poetry!

  16. Lonna Hill says:

    Thanks for this. I remember a season in my life when I was miserable in my day-job…until I changed my attitude. After a bad day I would walk home saying to myself again and again, “I chose this. This is my choice. I’m there because I want to be. Think of all the good that comes of it.” Every year things got better and better until I finally got an answer to prayer (the opportunity to take a break from my day-job). Faced with the prospect of leaving, I realized just how much I loved it and how much I would miss about it. Every season of life has struggles. Now I am in a very different place. I still have challenges. They are just different than they were before.

    This was a great post. Thanks for sharing.

  17. Great approach to a 9-5! T. S. Eliot had to work in a bank to support his writing and he didn’t do so badly… Don’t forget to take a lunch break though for some much needed inspiration 😉

  18. Tracy says:

    Such a great reminder on perspective. I really appreciated this, as you described exactly how I feel week after week. I wish you all the success in the world for your very brave new adventure!!

Leave a Reply

