On Writing: The Process – What’s It Like?

IMG_0510

A few days ago I asked you to post your questions on writing on this post here. I love the questions I’ve been getting both in the comments and in my email box.

Tosha Michelle of Laliterati.com asked, “What’s your writing process like?”

I think every author would answer this differently as not one specific process is better or worse than the other.

My particular process looks a little something like this:

I want to write a book. 

I want to write a book about a someone who discovers an imaginary world. 

But that’s been done so many times before! Narnia. Neverland. Wonderland. 

Sigh. 

What do those have in common? 

They’re all KIDS who discover an imaginary world. And there’s really not much back and forth between there and here. 

What about a grown man who discovers an imaginary world? And he’s neglecting his job and his family in this world? Lots of stakes there. Potential for grown-up readers… 

So I begin writing. And I keep an outline just a few spaces below my growing book. The outline is just that – an outline of key points (or milestones) I want to hit in subsequent chapters.

And so, for me, writing just becomes connecting the dots.

And then, when I finish, I go back and edit it.And for my book The Man in the Box, that meant redoing it over and over and over again.

Don’t buy it on Amazon just yet, if you’re interested in it. I’m going to be releasing a second edition soon under my own publishing name, so keep an eye out.

Hopefully that answers the question on what my writing process is like. It’s been the same for other books.

And every single page I reach a point where I just want to give up. But I’m glad I didn’t. Because all I have to do is connect the next two dots…

Follow me on Twitter: @atoy1208 or Facebook

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

26 Responses to On Writing: The Process – What’s It Like?

  1. J says:

    I really needed to hear this today. I sat down to work on my story and suddenly hated everything I’d written so far. But I think I’ll try your process and see if it helps. I could definitely use an outline. If I have an outline and know where I’m going, I can push through no matter how I feel about it and go back later and fix all the parts that almost made me quit. Thanks for sharing!

  2. ellenbest24 says:

    That first draft that excites and boosts your confidence until you give it room to breathe. Personally I think goblins dawks and fidgety elves get it and make it smell. As I was so sure that first draft wa beautiful, smelling of wonder, success and dreams before, I let it have space, to… breathe 😇

  3. bikurgurl says:

    I love your idea of writing down the points and connecting the dots – a natural progression! What a way to articulate your process! Thank you for sharing!

  4. You’re super welcome! I sure hope this comes in handy for you in your writing journey 🙂

  5. Jonathan James Olivier says:

    The problem is when the dots get really far apart, or so crammed together that connecting them makes the picture really hard to make out. The fun part for me is getting to the end, stepping back from the picture, and realising how many dots I can erase to make a cleaner picture. Oh, the joys of editing. Wonderful analogy with the dots, I really like it.

    • Stepping back and erasing… isn’t that amazing how things suddenly come together when you look at the book as a whole? I haven’t experienced my dots being too far apart, nor much overlap, since I’m more plot driven by nature. But I’m sure it’ll happen soon!

  6. We like your imaginary world guy. Shakespeare’s Tempest is on the same archetype. And did you know that if there are mirrors out in space-say, planets that reflect light waves clearly, then it is theoretically possible to see into the past? Come pillage my planet-hopping ideas, in the archives from last winter!

  7. Pingback: On Writing: Finishing That Novel | adoptingjames

  8. Grandtrines says:

    Reblogged this on Still Another Writer's Blog.

  9. cristi says:

    I know everything in this post to be true, it is really quite simple. BUT it’s so-o-o hard!! It is definitely reassuring to read it from another person. You are such an inspiration! Thanks for this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

