On Writing: ASK AWAY!!

ReKruiTInDoYouHaveAnyQuestions

Most of my readers, from what I can tell, are writers or aspiring writers.

Bloggers, columnists, authors, poets, storytellers, dreamers…

And we all have so many questions! How do you complete projects? How should you publish your book? What the heck’s wrong with all these literary agents rejecting every single one of your brilliant ideas???

Sure, you could Google these questions and get general answers to the public, but I’m offering you a chance to post your questions about the writing world below.

I will do my best to answer them in separate blog posts. Leave your name, your blog or website and I’ll mention you as the asker of the brilliant question. I know I’m no John Grisham (he’s not answering questions as far as I know) or James Patterson (does he even WRITE??), but I’m focused on reaching their level and well on my way with two books coming out this  year that are projected to be pretty big: an emotionally-driven YA novel about a girl who falls in love with a boy *AFTER* he dies, and a powerful biography about a patient advocate doctor who sued a multibillion-dollar insurance company for violation of fair procedure. 

So, I may be in the same boat as you, and I’ve got questions myself, or you may even be ahead of me. But we still can learn a lot from each other.

Ready? Set. ASK!

Seriously, email me if you want an advanced copy of my YA book: These Great Affects

Follow me on Twitter: @atoy1208

Or Facebook

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

49 Responses to On Writing: ASK AWAY!!

  1. How do I link a site when I join a movement such as recommending a blog I have enjoyed?

    • The best way I know to do this is to highlight what you want to link. So type in, “Click here” of for instance. Then click on the link button when you’re writing a post (Looks like a paper clip), and then it will ask you to paste the link you want to put in. Click Done and you’re set; you’ll see it embedded as a link people can click on. Hope this helps!

  2. K. L. Romo says:

    What methods do you use to get followers for your blog? What methods/sites have you used to get Advance Reader reviews for your books? Thanks.

    • In order to get followers for my blog, I spend a lot of time visiting other bloggers, liking their stuff, commenting, and following their blogs. I see it akin to walking into a store, browsing around, and leaving my business card to let them know I’ve stopped by. Of course, if I see something I like, I’ll buy it! To get advanced readers I simply post about my books on my blog and ask if anyone’s up to reading them.

  3. What’s you writing process like?

  4. Uncomnme says:

    Where do you start and who do you go to first when wanting to write a book? Thanks!

  5. Michele D. says:

    Do you have any tips for maintaining the drive necessary to actually complete a novel? I have multiple ideas and have started numerous projects…finishing things, however is a problem.

  6. Vestpal group says:

    How do I get more followers on your blog? How do I protect myself from copy right issues?

  7. Vestpal group says:

    Am Agyei Agyapong. vestpalblog.wordpress.com

  8. I’m a university student, and with the amount of readings and assignments I have do, I barely have any time to write. Do you have any tips/advice on how to keep up with writing even with a busy schedule?

  9. queenofblank says:

    Not a question, just wanted to say that this made me laugh out loud
    “James Patterson (does he even WRITE??)” HAHA.

  10. Outlines. Let’s talk about outlines. How can outlines can be a useful tool for writing a book? And what’s the best way to use them?

  11. Pingback: First Draft of My YA Novel Completed | adoptingjames

  12. Grace Grogan says:

    How do you protect yourself legally when you use real names in your memoir/non-fiction? If you plan to include photos/document excerpts for people to view then the changing of the names would not resolve this issue.

    • When writing nonfiction/memoirs, always – and I mean ALWAYS – give everyone fictional names. Unless the person is cast in a very favorable light and you get their permission to use their real name, which is rare. For photos/documents, you would have to get their written permission to use them.

  13. Gyan Akarsh says:

    What do you look for before hitting the “Follow” button at a blog?

    Is it random? Or do you look for something in particular? What place does a blog’s genre hold?

    And lastly, how do you decide the point beyond which the story goes from “tragically beautiful” to “ruthlessly horrible”?

    • Hi! Okay, so in regards to following blogs, I try to visit at least 10-20 blogs a day. I follow each one, because it’s like leaving my business card at a store. I scan through them and if they’re something I am interested in, I’ll write it down and be sure to revisit later to keep up.

      As far a a blog’s genre, I’m not sure what you mean by this. I’m starting a new blog soon, which will focus solely on writing and publishing, seeing that that has been the direction of Adopting James as of late, and I don’t want to confuse the two topics of writing and adoption.

      Can you please elaborate on what you mean by deciding the point from “tragically beautiful” to “ruthlessly horrible”?

      • Gyan Akarsh says:

        Hello. Thanks for your reply
        “tragically beautiful” is about something like a phoenix taking birth from its own ashes. Like overcoming a lot of obstacles and ending up triumphant after losing a bit of things that matter. “ruthlessly horrible” is something where people stop reading due to the extreme evil and pain caused to hero who ends up losing a lot of his people ruthlessly and losing at the end or barely winning at all.

        I meant to ask how to decide the point before which readers sympathize with the hero for his loses and the point after which readers are simply too disgusted to read further.

        Does it depend upon the readers? Like people with weak hearts? Or one can use loses to bind readers to a character? How to do so effectively?

  14. AsaEverett says:

    Hi, i want to ask to you. What are you doing when you have a imagination about something, and you dont have enough that knowledge. Maybe, you imagine about people with his gun, but you dont have enough information about gun. What should you do? Asking in public group? Searching information from internet? Ask friends?

    Thank you, hope you reply it. 🙂

    • Google! Google and talk to friends/experts on the subjects. Always research and get your facts straight. It will almost always seem like a waste of time, but in the end, you won’t be sorry.

  15. Pingback: On Writing: The Process – What’s It Like? | adoptingjames

  16. Pingback: On Writing: Finishing That Novel | adoptingjames

  17. Pingback: On Writing: Let’s Talk About Outlines | adoptingjames

  18. Pingback: On Writing: Let’s Talk About Outlines, aka TIME FOR A SHOUT OUT – victoria scotia crowley. on all things human.

  19. deniseclaas says:

    Hi, I often write about writing at my blog a Storybook (by Denise claas). Most of the time, I just write about what I struggle with and what answers I can find. But There is this thing I can’t get out of the way.
    I am hoping that you might have the brilliance, that I am lacking, on this departement.

    Often I find I have a lot of inspiration. Too much inspiration. Ideas seem to just flow out of me and I soon lose track of what I should be doing: writing. But then again, I don’t want to lose all these good ideas, because, one of them might actually be useful or good, so I write them down in one of the million little books I have hidden around the house.

    However, I never seem to have the right book at hand, or I have fifteen ideas for the same problem, and I can’t seem to find the one I need.

    My question: Do you know of any (use any) brilliant ways, to bring these ideas together, and make them easier to use? It would help me get more time for my writing and less, time to look for a certain idea, I once had.

    Hoping I make sense,…

    • Just wanted to let you know I haven’t forgotten your question (or the one you just posted), but keep asking away and I’ll get to them.

    • First thing I would do is just start off with 1 notebook. And then divide that notebook into your complete book ideas (i.e. “Book 1: About the Soviet Spy; Book 2: About the foster girl; Book 3: About the boy and his horse; etc.). And then, when you have ideas, make sure to decide which book those ideas would best fall under, then go to that one notebook and jot the idea down in the appropriate section. I would recommend also, transferring these ideas to Word documents so as not to lose them.

  20. Pingback: On Writing: Dealing with a Busy Schedule | adoptingjames

  21. Pingback: On Writing: Character- vs. Plot-Driven | adoptingjames

Leave a Reply

