These Great Affects

okayokay

Do you like The Fault in Our Stars by John Green? I do. If you didn’t like it or don’t care to read it, this post isn’t for you.

Chances are, when you finished that book, you closed it and cried for an hour. Or your thoughts were, I … can’t … breathe … You may have tweeted something like, “If you text me I can’t talk. I’m too busy de-reddening my eyes.”

Want to know what I thought?

I thought: I’m going to do one better. 

So I began drafting a story idea for a teen book that I hope will be the next Fault in Our Stars.

I’ve got a ways to go, but I think you’re going to eat it up.

I want some help from my readers! I want to know if I’m going down the right road. I’m not ready to reveal all of it except that it’s about a girl who falls in love with a boy. But he’s dead, so…

Open up those floodgates and season John Green’s heart – he’s about to eat it.

Don’t get me wrong! I loved The Fault in Our Stars; John Green totally rocked it. But that’s what’s great about books – great stories begets great stories.

So! If you’re interested in following the progress of my teen book, These Great Affects, start by joining my author Facebook page and I’ll be posting hashtags (#TheseGreatAffects) and you can like or respond or help spread the word about this thing.

And let’s face it. I like the attention; it puts me at my writing best, thus you end up with the best book I can possibly write for my readers.

Okay?

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

11 Responses to These Great Affects

  1. thewriteedge says:

    P.S. If you’re in the market for beta readers, I’d love to help!

  2. ayitl says:

    i ‘d love to read it, keep us posted!

  3. Ocean Bream says:

    Love this. After I read the Lord of the Rings trilogy, I thought the exact same thing. I am still working on my ‘masterpiece’. I wish yours the best of luck ever! Will be dutifully following your Facebook page 😀

    • Thank you so much! And seriously, seriously good luck with your project. Hard fantasy is something I have not been able to conquer yet – I’ve tried, but maybe that’s for a later chapter in my life. Find your niche, and whatever it is, don’t you dare give up. Ever.

      • Ocean Bream says:

        Oh it certainly is difficult and time consuming and completely deflating at times but if you love it and nurture it that’s what helps you carry on. Thanks for your advice.

  4. The Uhm says:

    I loved Finding Alaska better, but in retrospect what I hated most about the book was its ending. But once more retrospect, it was foreshadowed from the beginning, beginning with the main character’s obsession with her favorite author. However, I now understand why it’s a great ending. It’s much like my emerging style, leaving a story on some sort of cliffhanger.

  5. J.A.Cruz says:

    I can’t wait to read it! I loved The Fault In Our Stars. The writing style really talked to me and with John Green makes it to where I can get a feel of his characters. I hope you keep us updated and I know I’m a little late on commenting on this, but still keep us updated

Leave a Reply

