How I’m Saving My Family

IMG_0228

When I tell people I’m on a diet, they’re usually like, “Huh? Really? You?”

I may not look like Buddha, and my Wii Fit may tell me I’m not obese, but there’s more to it than that.

For a long time, I’ve been an absolute butt head to my family. I’m working on a couple different books at once, I’m trying to survive in a competitive environment at work with looming changes ahead, trying to keep my two toddlers happy and marginally quiet… so I’ve been overly stressed. And stress breeds anger, and anger breeds an uptight and irritable father and husband.

Stressed Man With Baby Working From Home Using Laptop

I questioned why I had no energy to play with my kids. It couldn’t be work, because I sit at a desk all day. My writing career is about to take a turn for the better, but I looked at my lunch options, and realized I am a compulsive overeater.

On my lunch breaks I would go to get not one burger but two. Spicy chicken wings were a favorite. Shakes were a daily drink. I gained 20 pounds over the summer.

And my family was suffering because I was too stressed and tired to do anything. It was the careless calorie indulging and the major lack of exercise.

shutterstock_138061871

Went on vacation recently and discovered, low and behold, my family is really a great group of people. My kids are well-meaning, and my wife is hilarious and a total hero for putting up with me and my moodiness.

Since I started my diet, I’m losing a tad over a pound a day. I’m determined.

I’ve cut my lunches down to half a sandwich and water. I’m running on my days off. And guess what! Everything I’ve heard is true, gosh darnit! I have more energy to play with the kids, to stay up later and talk to my wife, and I’m even gaining a splash more momentum on my book projects.

So that’s why I’m dieting. It’s to save my family. There are enough angry and stressed fathers out there, and I refuse to be one of them.

Follow my videos and dieting tips at #AndrewsAwesomeAutumn

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

23 Responses to How I’m Saving My Family

  1. grannyK says:

    Eating healthier can really make a difference, for sure. But, the mom in me has to wonder if a half sandwich is enough. Maybe the half sandwich and an apple or greek yogurt? lol, sorry, I can’t help myself. My doc wants me to greatly increase protein and reduce carbs, and it is working. I lose weight slow, but it is coming off and I do feel better! Just a suggestion.

  2. I admire your way of wellness.

  3. Well done you! Have been following your progress via facebook, but have not been on the blog for a while. Great job!

  4. Grace Grogan says:

    Congratulations on your diet accomplishments and all the tasks you are juggling. The years when your kids are small are some of the most tiring and most rewarding. There is a song that says “you’re gonna miss this” and believe it or not, someday you will. So treasure the exhaustion and enjoy this time.

  5. missgiven says:

    I always feel better if I work out in the morning and have been out of the habit for 3 months and I can sooo tell. Great post!

  6. dfolstad58 says:

    Great inspiring post, more to come I expect!

  7. NiaLisabeth says:

    Good for you! It also teaches the kids good eating habits as they grow up, so win win!

  8. Good for you for fixing things.

  9. Well done to you for making things better.

  10. moonmother1 says:

    Very nice.. you are have learned a valuable lesson.

Leave a Reply

