Book Announcement: “Profit Over Patients” is a Story That Will Change Your Life

Until now, I have never disclosed to the public something very personal. When I was just a few weeks old, I underwent open-heart surgery. This was back when the procedure was still fairly new, but apparently it worked, because I’m still here! While most people never get to ride in a helicopter, I got to when I was just an infant, from a community hospital to UCLA.

One of the nurses who rode with me in the hospital and cared for me at UCLA was named Carole. While I was in the ICU before my surgery, a love story was developing right on the other side of the wall, just around the corner in the labor and delivery room.

There, Carole met a young intern who was delivering a baby, and a domino effect of larger-than-life nordellaevents began. Carole and the intern got married, and in a few years, that intern became our family’s primary care practitioner. That doctor’s name was Dr. Jeffrey Nordella.

When I was in college, Carole Nordella suffered one of the most  tragic deaths anyone in our community (and many in the nation) had ever heard of, and two of their three kids were severely wounded on that sickening day. The tragedy that exploded on the family was so traumatic that psychologists deemed that the surviving family members, including Dr. Nordella, were in uncharted waters, psychologically speaking. But that wasn’t the end of it for Dr. Nordella.

If being a widower and having to care for the physical and mental well-being of his kids wasn’t enough, Dr. Nordella’s medical career was in dire jeopardy. A multibillion-dollar insurance company had unlawfully terminated his contract, which could have easily put him out of business—permanently. And in the middle of this fight for survival were the patients, as the insurance company was the pawns the insurance company was putting their health and sometimes their very lives on the line by denying their claims as “not medically necessary.”

I am grateful to have co-authored Profit Over Patients, and am certain it will change many lives and inspire every person to keep fighting the good fight, whatever your battle may be! So mark your calendars – the David-and-Goliath book about Dr. Nordella’s fight for patients and his family is due to come out early spring of 2016!

Follow Dr. Nordella on his Facebook page and be sure to check out Dr. Nordella’s blog, plus the website for our book, Profit Over Patients. Spread the word to your friends and family members and together, let’s take a stand against Big Insurance. Our health depends on it!final-web-cover

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

15 Responses to Book Announcement: “Profit Over Patients” is a Story That Will Change Your Life

  1. thewriteedge says:

    Congratulations! What an exciting opportunity for you to share something so close to you. I’m the wife of an electrophysiologist (that’s a cardiologist who does procedures such as pacemakers, etc., in case someone doesn’t know) who conscientiously practices medicine “patient first” and a former editor for a medical newspaper, and I’d love to review the book and (hopefully) help with promotions. Let me know what I can do. Wishing you all the best with the launch and release!

  2. Wow, that’s quite a story.

  3. mkcasey80 says:

    Thanks for getting the word out!

  4. That sounds like a book we should all read. Congratulations to you for your part in it.

  5. Blackhorn33 says:

    James, My Friend I am sorry that I haven’t dropped by a whole lot more, but I will do better!!!!
    I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award, and you can see the rules here:
    http://notinmyworld.org/2015/10/21/blogging/
    Robert

  6. jhart334 says:

    Fabulous! I’ve been waiting to see what you’ve been working on. Very excited to read this

  7. Pingback: How I’m Saving My Family | adoptingjames

  8. Pingback: On Writing: ASK AWAY!! | adoptingjames

Leave a Reply

