The Value of Building Memories

IMG_0807

I don’t know about you, but when the daily routine gets to be too routine, I grow quite tired of it. In order for me not to grow cantankerous, I need to do things a little out of the ordinary. Fun things. Like take my family to the fair.

We went to the Kentucky State Fair last week. There, I watched my daughter’s eyes light up when she saw the goats and pigs and cows. She loved petting the lambs and just running around the farm animals in general.

Even our son, strapped in his stroller, was interested in his surroundings and took an interest in the dog shows and the flying motorcycles.

The food was way overpriced and tasted like crap, but it broke up the daily grind. It afforded the family quality time together outside of the house.

Something I’m learning is to always go out and do things with the family as much as you can. That way, when we look back on it all, we’ll know we really experienced life together with every opportunity offered.

Join my Facebook Author Page for more fun!

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

5 Responses to The Value of Building Memories

  1. 2readmom says:

    Had a similar experience at the zoo this weekend. Sometimes it’s worth the chaos of getting ready for the joy of the adventure!

  2. aliceandembo says:

    I love fairs and I have a lot of fond memories of it growing up which is why I pass them on to my kids. We think up of new traditions to do together so that they have a lot to look back on when they are on their own. Thanks for sharing this! 🙂

  3. Amanda Ricks says:

    You’re so right about making sure you go out as a family at every opportunity. Both of my girls are teenagers now and I look back and wish that we had made a greater effort to have more family outings. Those memories are proceless.

  4. Val_ToWriter says:

    When I took my kids out at a very young age (them and me) I always wondered if they’d remember any of what they saw and did. The I realized it didn’t really matter — it was all broadening the concept of the world around them. It piqued their curiosity, and at times scared them — like with the stunning Chinese dragon doing his winding, attacking dance. I don’t think my daughter, who was naturally a clinger, got over that for weeks. But each new experience actually develops the brains and cognition of young ‘uns, and it’s good as a parent to experience it with them, to enjoy their reactions, and help them make sense of what they’re seeing or doing. My daughter, bless her heart (which is big), isn’t a great housekeeper, but by golly, her three little children have been to and seen so many things. She is always ready to leave the house and take them to see something new — and they are happy, curious, and bright little children. Yes, it’s an effort to get kids out the door and into the car and deal with their little crises, but well worth the effort.

Leave a Reply

