The Things That Make Me Happiest

how_to_make_boneless_chicken_wings_1

It’s only Tuesday. And for most of us who hate our jobs, that’s like saying, “You’ve got a thousand more years before you get to sit down and relax.”

Well, I find that if you take a moment to jot down the things that make you happiest, and then every day until the weekend you do a couple of those things, it makes your work week much more bearable. A dark tunnel isn’t so scary if you see the light at the end of it.

So here’s a list of things that make me happiest.

  1. My wife and kids: My wife’s loving words, my daughters contagious laugh, and our son (still a foster) not crying if he falls down as he’s learning to walk.
  2. Ruffles’ Cheddar Cheese and Sour Cream potato chips
  3. Pixar/Disney movies – especially the ones that make me cry.
  4. Finishing a new book every week, because that means I’m actually enjoying the art of reading a lot.
  5. Boneless buffalo wings so hot your nose runs and your eyes water, making your plate a soppy mess.
  6. Pizza where the mozzarella is so discernible you’d think you were eating a block of warm, melted cheese.
  7. Ice cream that’s so creamy you’d swear the cow stirred the milk herself.
  8. Random trips to Starbucks with the family and getting a big honkin’ frappuccino with whipped cream.
  9. Good ideas for new books to write. Because those are mine alone and I get excited about the prospect of writing a new book.
  10. When my dogs go potty on the grass right away.
  11. Those limited edition Oreo’s they have out now (especially cotton candy flavored).
  12. Reading your comments below my blog posts.
  13. My new website (andrewtoybooks) which is still in development.

Share some of the things that make you happiest below and have a great rest of the week!

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

13 Responses to The Things That Make Me Happiest

  1. Amateur says:

    Cool idea !! Will try it out 🙂 ……the job load gets the better of me every week and by the end of Friday I am exhausted !

  2. femmefuel says:

    You must check out #‎itssimplytuesday @emilypfreeman on instagram. You are not the only one moving past survival Tuesday to embracing Tuesday. Have a great day!

  3. femmefuel says:

    Reblogged this on FemmeFuel and commented:
    It’s Tuesday and instead of sharing my own #‎itssimplytuesday with you . . . I am reblogging an awesome list of what makes adoptingjames the happiest. I am going to get right on my own list! Happy Tuesday!

  4. izza ifzaal says:

    Watching TV series, Icecreams and getting to eat in different restaurants

  5. sensoria300 says:

    I especially like number 5.

  6. great list, I may have to do this myself…

  7. Kim-Lee says:

    My goodness, I completely agree with #6. (Forever on the hunt for the perfect slice of cheese pizza ….)

  8. dfolstad58 says:

    You have a quirky imagination that is funny . Your love for life and experiences shows, I think you could write an excellent travel book that included the usual but also the experience of being and discovering in new locations

  9. I live in a small town with comparatively few cultural and social outlets. Good conversations, whenever encountered, and being creative go a long way toward contentment.

  10. Janelle says:

    I would love to be able to finish a book a week. I mean, I COULD if I blocked out time solely for that…

  11. hopecarrart says:

    I am catching up on my reading tonight and one of them is your blogs. I have missed them.
    favorite stuff right now? unexpected cool nights (I live in Mississippi) and low humidity, Herman, my resident dragonfly,who is not afraid of me. new tires. a needle and thread and piece of fabric. chilled, freshly boiled shrimp with some stuffed eggs on the side. the smell outdoors after a summer rain and the color of foliage after a thunderstorm.

  12. Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens: what a nice idea. We like to count our blessings, and I remember once a great teacher doing so. Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings!

Leave a Reply

