Aim For Your Dream – As Slow as You Can

slowdown

So you’re writing your breakthrough book. Or you’re planning your startup business. Or you’re putting projects together to impress your boss.

If you’re like me, you tend to focus more on meeting deadlines than delivering top-notch products.

Not that you and I don’t care about the quality of our work. We just sort of figure the A+ quality will fall into place as long as we meet that deadline.

I’m working on a couple of books right now, but one being of upmost importance. The person I’m working on it with agreed that we should have it ready for the public late this year. But the more we discussed it, the more we realized that there’s no reason to set a deadline for this book, especially if we want it to reach the top of every bestseller book list, which is our intent.

The book had been quite a few bumps and since I was released from the time pressure, and forced myself to really take my time, it’s beginning to shape into a much better book.

I’m sure by now you’ve seen Inside Out. You know why that film is so effective and basically perfect on so many levels? The filmmakers took their time with it. Where typically an animated feature can take four years, Inside Out took five years to make.

And guess what?

Even four years into production, they had to keep going back to the drawing board.

If you’re not constantly having to start over with your book or your project, then I submit that it’s not yet good enough.

Start over, as I’ve had to. And seriously take your time. Otherwise, as my wife says, you’re wasting your time publishing a book tomorrow that could have been so much better a year from now.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

25 Responses to Aim For Your Dream – As Slow as You Can

  1. Meeting deadlines…very familiar. I sometimes have to shout stop in my head. I was looking through a list of 100 greatest novels of all times and i find it quite interesting to still find books like Pilgrims Progress by John Buyan, Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Dafoe, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brown, Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte…to mention a few.Time makes things better, helps to have a clearer picture in any project….More Time is of essence in order to come out with an “evergreen” work. All the best in your book.

  2. Lisa says:

    Yeah- ver timely advice. I put pressure on myself to complete my first book, a memoir. And I staggered under self imposed ideas like: Move to new country and write a masterpiece that flies off the shelves. What was happening in my life was, of course the fitful start of a new life which wasn’t really…a good story. Years passed and I have an arc! A second story has begun that helps me see the best frame for the first. We Americans really need to live more like the Greeks-in our process-not our economy, obviously.

  3. I have been so disappointed with the fact that I had missed several timelines to write and complete my journal and devotional and I now see how I let myself depress myself so this writing was what I needed today to get back on course. Thanks!

  4. eclecticalli says:

    Timely… I have had. “End of year” deadline for myself on my current novel, for a variety of reasons. But, as long as ai am not extending the deadline because of procrastination but because it actually needs the time, I need to give myself more flexibility.

  5. bethwarstadt says:

    Very well said. This is a particularly interesting notion for me. Just returned from Europe, I was amazed at all of the buildings–even simple houses–that have been standing for hundreds of years. Will my house be standing in 400 years? I think not. People did not try to cram so very many things into every single day. They focused on what they were doing, and it took as long as it took.

  6. Scott says:

    Absolutely, Walt Whitman kept moving the deadline. Therefore, we’ve never forgotten what he had to say.

  7. Ray Dawson says:

    Great advice. As a general rule, sacrificing quality for schedules never works out.

  8. It’s weird to hear the words “slow down” most especially when aiming for our dream. I always thought to chase my dreams as fast as I can because opportunities are not always there.
    But what you have written inspired me to take it slow and be better.
    Thank you for the inspiration. 🙂

  9. Danni Mae says:

    This is a good point! I thought I would be done with my book two years ago when I was close, but luckily I realized that the story just isn’t ready yet. I’ll be going for my dreams- slowly. I guess I’ll just be writing when I feel like it. That’s when I write the best.

  10. The A Blog says:

    Great post. I agree with you and try to apply this in my daily tasks and especially university work. When I have to write essays or do translations for instance, I start ages before so I have time to focus on them rather than their deadline. Thanks for your tips 🙂

  11. jenhop says:

    Thank you for saying that! I’m writing my book in twenty minute segments every day, and it’s taking me forever, but I feel that if I try too hard to rush through it, my thoughts become muddy and circular and I lose just what needs to be said.

  12. Lora C Werg says:

    This is a great post. I’m working on a full length novel and a trilogy and I don’t always feel like writing every day. I’ll always think about my stories and jot down notes and then wait until the inspiration hits me. When it does I take those notes out and find that I’m more productive and imaginative when I do write and things just flow more freely and with less frustration.

Leave a Reply

