Spielberg Movies Ranked From Worst to Best

spielberg_steven_websiteI’m sure that every person in America over fifteen has seen at least one Steven Spielberg movie. With Jurassic World coming out next month, we’re all reminded of one the director’s greatest cinematic achievements. Even though the fourth part of the franchise isn’t directed by our beloved Spielberg, I thought it would be fun to take a look back at some of his best and worst movies. This list is purely my opinion and I left out the movies I either haven’t seen or didn’t remember enough to include. Add your opinions in the comments below!

15. War Horse (2011) – I don’t remember ever being so bored by a movie. You could tell that Spielberg’s heart
was in a different place during this making of this film.

14. Lincoln (2012) – I loved the education behind the movie, but I was hoping it would be more of a biographical piece rather than a topical piece about the fight for emancipation of slavery.

13. A.I. Artificial Intelligence (2001) – I saw this movie years and years ago, and I remember being both intrigued maxresdefaultby the imaginative dystopia that was portrayed as well as coming out extremely depressed. Something about Pinocchio…

12. Amistad (1997) – I love this movie about the slave ship Amistad, where the crew pulled off a mutiny and were tried as slaves. It’s only flaw is that it runs about forty minutes longer than I think is necessary, but it’s a fascinating account nonetheless.

11. The Lost World: Jurassic Park (1997) – Easily the worst movie in the Jurassic Park franchise, but there’s still dinosaurs chasing people, and that puts this movie much higher up on my list than it deserves to be.

Minority-Report10. Minority Report (2002) – Totally impressive idea about people being arrest before they commit a crime. The concept always gets me wondering: What if?

9. Indiana Jones Movies (the span of many years) – I just mashed all four movies into one here. There’s great things about the series, and some things that don’t really hold up, but overall, a great series for the family to invest in (that is, if you don’t let your kids watch the Nazis be obliterated by God’s wrath).

8. Hook (1991) – Robin Williams. Dustin Hoffman. Peter Pan. ‘Nough said.

7. E.T. (1982) – This one still makes me cheer and holler when they’re riding their bikes through town to get E.T. home.

6. War of the Worlds (2005) – I know this wasn’t a very popular movie with most people, especially after Tom Cruise’s little episode on Oprah’s couch, but man this movie was intense!

5. Jaws (1975) – The thing I love about Spielberg’s movies is that there’s usually substance and character jaws_592x299development before all the action kicks in at full throttle. This film is a direct example of that.

4. Jurassic Park (1993) – Again, dinos. In dinosaurs’ greatest movie ever.

catch-me-if-you-can.123903. Catch Me If You Can (2002) – What genre is this movie in? Comedy? Drama? No, it’s fun. The genre is fun. Right there next to Italian Job and The Incredibles.

2. Schindler’s List (1993)  – One of those movies where you can’t speak for about an hour after you watch it.

1. Saving Private Ryan (1998) – Greatest war movie ever. Power flows out of this movie.

Join my Facebook author page for more fun stuff!

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

20 Responses to Spielberg Movies Ranked From Worst to Best

  1. Great list, but it’s just blasphemy not to include at least three more: Inner space(Martin Short and Dennis Quaid?? C’mon!!), the Terminal, and Close Encounters. Anyways, good list nonetheless. Totally agree with #1.

  2. missgiven says:

    Jaws!!!! Yes!
    Been a Richard Dreyfuss fan ever since.

  3. Josh Wrenn says:

    “2. Schindler’s List (1993) – One of those movies where you can’t speak for about an hour after you watch it.” -This is the greatest movie of all time, in my opinion. Awful horrible excellent hopeful tragic heroic IMPORTANT movie.

  4. shriyabeesam says:

    I love the Schindler’s List! I remember first watching it and sitting in silence for a few minutes in front of my TV after it was over, then bursting into tears. Great list, by the way! I totally agree!

  5. 4wallsnaroof says:

    This is a good list. I definitely agree with #1 and #2 but I would bump Jaws up to #3. Just the chemistry between Roy Scheider, Richard Dreyfuss and Robert Shaw make it totally worth it!

  6. Ooooooh, I hated “Saving Private Ryan.” After watching that movie I was thinking they should have let Private Ryan die………LOL

  7. jhart334 says:

    Yes. As a film student we’ve had the Spielberg listing conversation a lot and I for the most part agree with this listing. Thank you for not hating on E.T.! Everyone has been hating on him lately poor little guy. I love that movie. We studied Jaws for two weeks last year and it now probably ranks as my #1 purely for the design and attention to detail.

  8. Reblogged this on quirkywritingcorner and commented:
    I would have a hard time ranking his movies. I loved them all.

Leave a Reply

