The Tough Question for Writers

tough-questions

As an author I am constantly asking myself, Is this something I would read? And I think all authors ask that.

My wife once pushed me a step further and said, “It’s great that people will read it, but is it a book that they’ll recommend to their friends?”

THAT changes the game up a bit, doesn’t it?

Because if you think about it, you’re just one person. And if you’re trying to write a breakout book, you’ve got to ask yourself if your book is going to be talked about in work elevators or on little league bleachers.

So go ahead, ask those harder questions, because that’s one more thing that’s going to push you to write better.

You won’t find bologna sandwiches on my new Facebook author page, but you’ll find more pearls of wisdom. That, or just really cool stuff.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

22 Responses to The Tough Question for Writers

  1. How fabulous your wife built on your original question and challenged you to think in a new way. Super question, I will ask myself that in future when I write 🙂

  2. Jules says:

    It’s a confusing question and issue. I am almost always surprised with what people think of what I am doing; not appreciating what I think is great and praising what I think is noting much. And worse still, if you write, or do anything, to reach or to please a crowd, you’re in serious danger of losing your originality, your authenticity.

  3. Reblogged this on my personal thing and commented:
    That is definitely another way to look at things when you’re writing or editing a manuscript 🙂

  4. gipsika says:

    Good questions both. The first one is a non-starter for me because usually I write the kind of book I wish I could find and read. So that just cancels the question, but just because I want to read that kind of story doesn’t mean necessarily others would, so I test it out.

  5. When I wrote a book on used auto parts, my market was clearly defined, and I gave them what they were looking for. When I wrote an original novel, I did not confine my imagination to the disposition of an imagined audience.

  6. but wait I like bologna sandwiches…cheers!

  7. abdulbasit67 says:

    That has actually been my greatest fear; how would people see my write-up, if at all they saw it nicely, would they mind sharing it? A friend told me this though “it always takes but one shot to either bring a bird down or frighten it out for good. Take the shot and see know your status.” I’m just starting, I hope to see where it leads.

  8. Really enjoyed ‘tough questions’. Also, wanted to thank you for the follow, it’s certainly appreciated. Followed your site as well. In addition, joined you on facebook. Hope you have a great day/night.
    David

Leave a Reply

