Our Best Friends?

PfoteThey say dog is man’s best friend. I disagree.

Let me explain.

People have had a strong attachment to animals, particularly dogs, for many years. I don’t know the history of man’s relationship with animals, and I’m not going to pretend to. But let’s just go back to the early 1900’s. Even then, people have had a strong attachment to their animals. Think Old Yeller and even The Grapes of Wrath where even the most stoic group of men mourn over a dead dog on the side of the road.

Why do you think that is?

3690_1I think I may have an idea and you can you can take it with a grain of salt.

I feel like the older I get the more compassionate I feel toward animals. I used to love going to Sea World, but knowing how it is an abuse to one of the smartest mammals on the planet, I would be hard pressed to buy another ticket. I am deeply bothered when I see a dead deer on the highway. And don’t even get me started on the movie My Dog Skip or the book The Yearling. 

I think – and I may be wrong – but I think that animals embody a sense of childhood, or innocence, that we all once had and sorely miss.

When our dog Prim does something wrong, I may yell at her for it, but deep down, I know she never intended marley-and-meharm or did anything out of malice. Or when our other dog Pixie takes fifteen minutes before finding a suitable spot to potty on the grass, she’s not doing it to be mean or waste my time – she’s just enjoying being outside for all I know.

But I think animals remind us, even subconsciously, what it was like to be innocent, and when we see Marley die, even see Dug get yelled at and called a “bad dog,” when he did nothing wrong, then it pains us greatly because it’s like a piece of our forgotten innocence has just been torn further away from us.

Dug-upIt’s like an assault on our childhood.

Or maybe I’m looking too much into it and it’s just a simple fact that we just feel a deep bond toward animals for no other reason than that they’re cute and fun to play with and beautiful to watch.

So to say that dog is man’s best friend, I disagree. I think that the pets we bring into our houses become our very family. And to lose them is to lose not only a family member and loyal friend, but also a piece of our younger selves.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

18 Responses to Our Best Friends?

  1. cruelqueen says:

    That is a great point of view thanks for sharing this beautiful writing it touched me deeply as my cat just dies

  2. Maeve says:

    Reblogged this on Wannabe Martha and commented:
    My dear blog-pal Elspeth’s family is dealing with a crisis; one of their family members is ill and it’s affecting every one. Harley is their 4-legged, furry-coated baby, and from pics of him, he knows how much he’s loved.

    We lost our Lil last year, in the middle of the summer. She took heatstroke one afternoon and was unable to recover, despite heroic efforts by my veterinarian neighbor and the staff at the animal hospital. Saying goodbye to our Little Old Lady (she was 13) was one of the hardest things we’ve ever done.

    Els’ friends have been praying for Harley’s recovery – as is only fitting; he is family after all; but Andrew over at Adopting James has truly put into words what our pets really mean to us. I got pretty teary-eyed reading his essay, and knew I had to share. I know that everyone whose family includes a member with multiple legs and an abundance of fuzziness with appreciate it as well.

    Please enjoy “Our Best Friends?”.

  3. Sean Mungin says:

    Wow! That is something to seriously consider. Thanks!

  4. gourafotadar says:

    I like your post, and I agree with it.

    In a personal experience: I didn’t take to animals at first, but then my dog was adopted to me; and my attitude and understanding toward him, and other pets changed deeply. Although I did have an odd attitude toward animals before that: “cold and caring?” being a vegetarian for years but yet never warming up to to animals as a caretaker. When “Marley & Me” came out; I cried at the end. (At the time, I was already a dog owner.) I hadn’t cried in a long time until then!

  5. I loved your post. I think i will take both points of view into account, dogs are a man’s best friend and again they are the lost innocence of a younger honest and pure version of ourselves. I wish that humans would learn from animals, I have always argued with people on the fact that animals have more empathy and respect than our own specie, I would use this new idea-that they represent our childhood-from now on. I’m a dog lover and i still believe animals need our help more than anything else, because yes they are helpless and cute and childish in nature, after all who would want to lose that bit of himself

  6. I could not agree more.

  7. SD Gates says:

    I totally agree. Our two dogs are very much family members. Their names get signed on birthday and Christmas cards, they have their own beds and linens and we respect their schedules. Our Great Dane always knows when it is feeding time – he is out in the kitchen at 7pm on the dot (even with Daylight Savings time). Back before I was married, I used to say I would never date a person if he did not have a dog in his life, because people with animals just seem to have more compassion and empathy and are less selfish. At least that is my take on it.

  8. swamiyesudas says:

    I think the reason You presented, that Pets become part of Our family, works the Best for me, a Priest! During my earlier postings, would find Dogs in the parishes, but now I have taken to keeping Cats! They keep themselves Clean, do not make a racket, and are Loving enough! 🙂

Leave a Reply

