Books For Your Kids to Read This Summer

Even though, collectively my kids are just two years old, I read to them as much as I can. Now, I may cheat and read to them books I’m reading for myself, at least they’re hearing and seeing me read. I’ve listed a few books below that I’m excited for our kids to read when they’re of age, and perhaps yours are there now, so you can enjoy these awesome titles with them.

101 Dalmatians by Dodie Smith

Sarabeth and I read this a few years back and still consider it one of the best fictions we’ve come across. This book is a milestone of children’s literature. It is just as engaging for adults as it is for kids. Talking dogs handling real-life problems. It’s a great ride, even if you’ve seen the old movies. There are still plenty of surprises to keep you and your kids on the edge of your seat.

The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

I’ve never had so much fun giving my brain a workout. This is a highly imaginative book for kids who might be turned off by the girl heroine in Alice in Wonderland. If memory serves correctly, it was the first full-length novel I ever read, and I liked it so much I returned to it as an adult, and had just as much fun.

Peter and the Starcatchers trilogy by Ridley Pearson and Dave Barry

Ever wonder how Peter Pan became Peter Pan? Find out in this adventure book loaded with short chapters and lots of pictures. This would make a good movie. There are four in the series, but I’d say the first and second are the two worth reading. And no, the author is not related to J.M. Barrie.

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery 

Talk about pure gold. While your boys are immersed in Neverland adventures, pull out this classic treasure for your girls. Even as an adult I find these books to be among some of the greatest literature. It’s yet another book about an orphan who is reluctantly taken in by the Cuthberts, and how she changes their lives and the world of Avonlea for the better.

Bone Book 1Bone

Back in the days of yore (the 90’s), my parents paid for my subscription to the Disney Adventures magazine. For a good year or so, they published snippets of the first of the Bone story, and I was hooked. Yes, it’s a graphic novel, but it’s family-friendly …think Lord of the Rings meets Mickey Mouse. The books (there are 9 of them) have since reemerged and are now finding their way into the hands of kids of the ipod generation. Just good old-fashioned fairytale fun.

7007561Gregor the Overlander series by Suzanne Collins

Before there was Katnis, there was Gregor. Giant insects, dark caverns, evil talking rats, traitors, suspense, heart… these books have it all. I will say that as an adult a couple of the middle books get a little dry, but it’s all worth it for the grand finale of the entire last book. This is a series you and your kids definitely don’t want to miss out on.

Join my new Author Facebook Page.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

24 Responses to Books For Your Kids to Read This Summer

  1. Jin Okubo says:

    Reblogged this on Jin Okubo and commented:
    Nice selection

  2. Anonymous says:

    Great suggestions. I just wanted to add, as a girl, I enjoyed reading Neverland books, and I happily read Anne of Green Gables to my boys. (Who adore it). I don’t feel these books are gender exclusive. I am SO with you on the Peter and the Starcatcher series, so much fun.

  3. momof3lilmen says:

    Thank you for sharing!

  4. Phantom Tollboth amazing! I re read this at least once a year. X

  5. thewriteedge says:

    Awesome recommendations, and just in time. I need some recs for my older daughter who so consumes books like air. And I LOVED Anne Shirley!

  6. 4wallsnaroof says:

    Great selection! I would add the Inkheart series. It is one of my favorites.

  7. busy lady says:

    Great suggestions. I did a lot of reading to my girls. My younger one confessed recently (now 34), that she didn’t always understand what I was reading, but she loved having me read to her and her sister.

  8. Great list! I would add Treasure Island, The Chronicles of Narnia, Summer of the Monkeys, A Wrinkle in Time, and The Wizard of Oz series.

  9. gourafotadar says:

    anne of green gables, still a favorite of mine.

  10. middle_class says:

    I would suggest reading Alice In Wonderland to boys, too! Girls read books where boys are the main characters all the time.

Leave a Reply

