Big Hero Six Review

BIG HERO 6Finally got to watch Disney’s newest animated movie Big Hero 6.

Not surprisingly, I loved it. And yes, that could be due to the fact that I’m biased toward Disney movies once again (I mean, who hasn’t been the last ten years?).

I think it’s great that Disney is expanding its universe into unfamiliar (to me, anyway) territories such as anime comics, which is what Big Hero 6 is based off of.

Who’d have known Anime could be so much fun and original? Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure Disney took some major creative liberties to get it up on screen, but the fact that they’re reaching out and making unknown stories known, I think is a good thing.

Now about the movie itself. While it doesn’t linger long in your mind like Frozen did, and it’s not as emotionally gut-wrenching as Meet the RobinsonsBig Hero 6 delivers in all the ways a Disney movie should – with some new twists and extremely poignant scenes.

You’ll no doubt fall in love with Baymax and Hiro the moment they’re introduced, and the lesson about letting go is a really tough one to teach kids and teenagers, and I think Disney does a superb job of getting the point across and creative an avenue for parents to talk to their kids about death.

Lots of fun. Great visuals, tons of humor, and dark action make this an awesome film for your next family movie night. Keep ’em coming, Disney. Share your thoughts of Big Hero 6 below.

I only share the best on my new Author Facebook Page.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

22 Responses to Big Hero Six Review

  1. JennyAnne says:

    I really enjoyed this movie. My daughter loves it. Def one of my faves.

  2. helpingu2bu says:

    Omg! I totally cried 85% of the movie. I loved it–the diversity, the grief story line, the science and engineering.

  3. billlabrie says:

    I thought it was ok, but a telling moment from my 7-year-old came when he asked in the theater why the making of an invisible sandwich wouldn’t be considered “science.” He also wanted to know what civil penalties the bad guy would face in court–damages and the like. He’s probably a bit too old for it, I guess. Sigh.

  4. amo says:

    “Who’d have known Anime could be so much fun and original?” You’ve obviously never seen any of Hayao Miyazaki’s work. He runs rings around Disney in terms of originality. FROM UP ON POPPY HILL is one of his latest, and one of my favourites; a lovely movie about family and caring. Quite a few of his movies run along similar themes as Big Hero 6, about growing up and letting go.
    My daughter & I really enjoyed Big Hero 6, enough to want to get a copy of the DVD. We didn’t find it partularly original, though; we called every major plot point as it arose (“He’s dead!” “He’s the bad guy!”). Very predictable. But that’s okay – Baymax and Hiro are so endearing, the movie still keeps you rooted to your seat and rooting for them. The humour is great, the animation is good, and I really enjoyed the setting – San Fransokyo, that’s just clever. So, yes, lovely movie!

    • I found myself catching plot-points, too, but I think that’s because Disney has taught us to think outside the box along with them. I think they’re now faced with the challenge of finding new ways to surprise us.

  5. Sahar says:

    That good, huh! Thanks for the review–methinks I might enjoy this one!

  6. itsmynerdery says:

    sometimes I kinda miss kid movies. Mine are no longer interested in them lol Big kids..

  7. I believe this is loosely based on a Marvel comic. That said anime is full of fun and original stories.

  8. Wonder Woman says:

    Best Disney movie ever in my opinion and I hate animation.

  9. I agree across the board – except the implication that anime “can be fun and original.” Anime, like most mediums, is inherently fun and original, having as much good and bad as any other. To call Big Hero 6 anime is a stretch, but to say it’s inspired would fall closer to the truth. Then again, the anime industry and the American animation industry (Disney in particular from a historical stance) are heavily intertwined in how one influences the other and, in turn, is influenced again and again.

  10. Indeed. Cross-cultural exchange was (and is) vast. I focus on the exchange of story-telling tools (in particular, those employed by such studios as Disney in the 1940’s until the 1960’s, and the work of Osamu Tezuka in post-war Japan), while others might look to the “High Culture” aspects. I’m not ignorant in these, but not nearly as interested or invested in High Culture.

  11. aliciama118 says:

    I haven’t seen it but it must be a good movie, everyone is talking about it!

Leave a Reply

