Baby A’s First Steps

So she’s walking now.IMG_1864

Sarabeth and I were lucky enough to be together when “Baby A.” took her first step a few nights ago. And now it’s official. She’s a walker, and the days of crawling are behind her.

I came home from work last night and guess who just hobbled up to me all the way from the living room, through the dining room, and into the entryway to give me a big hug? Okay, it wasn’t a hug more than an attempt to snatch my glasses off my face, but you get the idea.

I’ve been wondering though, where are those feet going to take her? I thought of all the professions that she might take up, and then I stopped abruptly because then I thought about her feet carrying her down the wedding aisle… and I can’t quite go there yet. I’m still just trying to get her to say “Daddy,” because she’s got “Momma” pretty much down pat.

IMG_1858Oh, and more good news. We go to court in a couple of weeks to change her goal to be permanently adopted by us! Even as I write this, I’m getting real soppy and can hardly see the computer. I mean, I’ve always known that she’ll be ours the moment I saw her, but to actually make it official… our lives would be completely incomplete without her – temper tantrums and sleepless nights (for Sarabeth) and all!

At any rate, I hope her feet take her far and wide and to places that will bring her much happiness in this life. But I’m just so glad that her first couple of million steps will be made under our roof.

Join my Author Facebook Page for more updates on Baby A.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

34 Responses to Baby A’s First Steps

  1. mcasale2014 says:

    I am so happy for you, and for her having you!

  2. I imagine someday she’ll read this and get as soppy as you do. Sweet!

  3. angelharmon says:

    Congratulations!! I can’t wait to hear the stories about all of the things she couldn’t wait to get her hands on!

  4. magtebmeiji says:

    Glad for you and wish you good luck. Now normally you’ll begin to run after your baby with no rest. 🙂

  5. Alhamdulilah!!! So great that she is walking!!

  6. She is so so cute and congrats

  7. busy lady says:

    It is so neat to watch them learn to walk and to see it for the first time. Then there are so many milestones! But they are neat to live through–even their getting married (even though you cry!).

  8. sebongile says:

    That is awesome. I just know in my heart that you will make best parents ever. Court is just a formality.

  9. Awe, that’s amazing and wonderful. Nothing like being a parent and being able to kind of “get” God’s love to us.

  10. What a great post! It brought me right back to the early years with my son. Soak up every minute. The ride is wonderful, and very very fast! All the best ~Rita

  11. Val_ToWriter says:

    Wow, that blog entry is full of so much. Watching you baby take her or his first steps is such a thrill. One part of you hates to see them grow so quickly and the other delights in each and every achievement. How wonderful that your permanent adoption is coming up so soon. That will be a special moment. Wondering what lies ahead for them is inevitable but you’re off to a good start: love, discipline (in the good way), a love of family and God:

  12. thewriteedge says:

    Here’s the real question to ask: do you have a new pair of running shoes? Now that she’s discovered walking, she won’t want to stop. Which is a little challenging when you’re in public. :> Congratulations!

  13. Sandymae says:

    What a precious moment! Grandchild number 6 came into our lives this past week, and yes, already, I can imagine her taking her first steps. They grow up sooooo quickly! Brings tears to my eyes too. 🙂

  14. Michelle says:

    It’s beautiful to hear your story!! Brought tears to my eyes for so many reasons. Adoption is all around me. From family to friends and very close friends. I have been blessed with 5 biological children, the BF and his ex, not so much. They adopted 2 that I consider my own. Yesterday, we experienced the heartache and pain of fostering to adobt. Not personally but my BF’s brother and his wife. We are morning a death even though the child is still alive. It was nice to read your story and it gives me hope again for them.

Leave a Reply

