Why I Wake Up at 4:00 A.M.

 

earlybird1I get up at 4 in the morning to work.

Not to go to work, which starts at 6.

I get up at 4 in the morning to work on what I don’t have time to work on the rest of the day.

People are always saying, “I don’t have time to accomplish my dreams, or do what I want to do.” They’re saying this as they’re flopped in front of the TV mindlessly tuned in to The Bachelor or Game of Thrones.

“I hate my job,” people say as they sleep in as late as they can without being late to their day job.

I say, Get up at 4 (and earlier if the alarm hasn’t gone off yet and I’m awake). Freedom didn’t come freely or easily, so why should your independence, or your dream job, or your money?

I get up at 4 because I believe, with all my heart, that if I work hard enough and sacrifice enough sleep, that my dream job will come true. So I get up at 4 in the morning and write, and write, and write.

At least, at the end of the day, I can say, “I got to do what I wanted today.”

For my inspiration, join my Facebook Author Page.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

66 Responses to Why I Wake Up at 4:00 A.M.

  1. Robert says:

    What time do you go to bed?

  2. If I woke up that early I would feel tired and go to bed earlier so I wouldn’t gain any extra time. Then again I’m not one of those people who can function on minimal sleep.

  3. purpldragon says:

    Wise words. I hope your dreams come true.

  4. Madam_W says:

    Wow, respect sir. Respect.

  5. Can I tell you, that I do the same thing. Once I started realizing that when I got home from work every night, I was too tired to write. I started getting upset/depressed that I wasn’t following my dream/what I really want to do with my life. In the evenings I always seem to have other things occupying my time (like my husband, my family, chores…you ,now the drill). So I wake up every morning at 4:30 (I don’t have to leave my house until seven to get to work and it takes me only really a half hour to get ready) and write until I literally cant’ write anymore. It keeps me happy, and keeps me involved in my work.

    I love knowing that other people do the same thing!

  6. karen rawson says:

    I am right there with you. Up at 4 every day. Written two and two half novels that way! Great post.

  7. medasane says:

    amazing view, I will use this in some way, especially the idea at the end that conveyed, “I got to do what I wanted today.” that is very important to me. thank you.

  8. straceface says:

    I love this- possibly because I aspire to be like you but are too lazy to do it. Though, I think I might actually make an effort now ^.^

  9. thewriteedge says:

    Your dedication to the craft is so inspiring! I drop the kids at school and make a beeline for my computer first thing. No matter what else happens during the day I know without a doubt I’ll have those morning hours to write, and I guard them with ferocity.

  10. aunnielauren says:

    This was excellent early-morning inspiration! I feel good reading it, and empowered to tackle what I love. Thank you for sharing!

  11. Randi Myles says:

    I really needed to read this today. Thank you.

  12. facetfully says:

    Nice post…obviously inspiring! “The early bird gets the worm!”

  13. Tim A. says:

    I enjoy arising at 3:30 a.m. almost every morning. I drive a school bus and my route leaves the bus garage at 6:05 a.m. I wake early so I can spend time with the Lord, in prayer and the Word. Some nights I go to bed at 8 p.m. Some nights during the school week it is not until 10 p.m. The early mornings are the best time for me. That is also when I write on my blogs.
    It is the Lord who gives me strength, and I always pray that my life will glorify Him.

  14. Laurie Welch says:

    I have often heard this of writers with day jobs…I admire this so much. And I wish you very well!

  15. I’m a 4 AMer too! It’s the best!

  16. This is a really good point. Thanks for sharing!!

  17. Good for you. It only works though if you have good health, so do look after your health too. Good writing!

  18. daniellecarver says:

    I don’t know about getting up at 4am, but I am working on being an early riser. I used to get up around noon, but lately I’ve been awake by 10am. A small feat, but it’s progress. I have been up earlier than that, and it was wonderful to be up grocery shopping with the older folks.

  19. scarmich says:

    Was it hard to switch at first? What strategies and routines do you use to help you stay awake, get up, get out of bed, hit snooze less… etc?

    I used to get up at 5 and was trying to change it to 4:00… and then we got a really big snow and i stayed up late several night netflixing instead being a real human being. And now i’m thrown off once more 😛

    • That’s where I think my advice will be of little help. I don’t drink coffee, and I don’t hit snooze. It’s simply the thought of: If you go back to sleep, you’ll be a whole hour behind on your work.

  20. Allen C. says:

    I definitely need to start doing this. My 7 p.m. self thinks it’s a great idea. I just have to convince my 4 a.m. self.

  21. Insha’Allah you are rewarded with your dreams!!

  22. jafvisions says:

    I, too wake up at 4 am and get to work between 6 and 6:30. When I arrive, I am awake, mentally alert and my memory is working at full capacity. I remember all the things I have to do and follow up on. I manage a branch of a distribution company for fasteners. Since I took the job, I have improved the workflow and efficiency, increased profits and sales, and cleaned up and organized the place. I have received two substantial increases since taking the job three years ago.
    “Early to bed, early to rise makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise” – they didn’t come up with that just because it sounds good!

  23. naturelover says:

    This is really motivating.
    Beautifully written!
    Thank you for sharing

  24. luciemuses says:

    I beg to differ on the timing. I get up, go to work and start the day with having breakfast while looking at patients’blood results on the computer. My time for the things I love but don’t have time to do is on the other side of the day. So in the evening at home, I read, write, communicate. Sometimes I don’t get to bed till 2 am . I get up at 6 30.
    I suppose it is the same- we are both sleep deprived, but content.

  25. Fellow early riser checking in! I’m kind of a vampire and prefer the small hours but I’m not good for much after the work day is over anyway.

  26. I college I worked full time and went to school full time so I adjusted my circadian rhythms so I could get by on 5 hours sleep. 40 years later, I still do. I figured I have gained YEARS of waking life during this time that many lose in sleep.

  27. Grace Grogan says:

    Excellent point on the TV flop – I catch myself doing that, but on the upside I recognize it for what it is and sometimes skim articles for research in my writing or I can to to my scrapbook room and work on those while the TV is going with my favorite shows.

  28. quirkyjen says:

    I agree with you. Just imagine the amount of time that you could’ve used if you woke up early. I do this to read or just think of the things that I would want to do then do them.. say decorate my room, clean up, organize a planner, write a letter. These are things you can’t do when you’re working an 8-hour job. Happily, that is no longer my case but I would do this had I been in the same shoes of those who have to do 8-hour jobs. I believe that we must always give time for other things that make us feel that we’re living and not just working and working and working. 🙂 Thanks for a simple yet thoughtful blogpost.

  29. Don’t sacrifice sleep for your dreams! Your body starts to fall apart then you’re in no shape to enjoy those dreams. Your body needs sleep to take care of all the repair work that it can’t get done when you’re awake.

  30. Adamma says:

    Dear me, why didnt I find you sooner. I am liking you already. I wake up at 4 or 4.30 to get the kids stuff ready for school. I dont get to write in the mornings but since I made up my mind to write more, I sleep late or write in between stuffs. I totally get the whole people complaining of no time and spend two or more hours in front of the television.

Leave a Reply

