On Writing: Curing the Creative Rut

giphyYou writers and creative-types – you’ve been there. It’s a hellish place, for sure. A chasm of fear, doubt, agony, frustration…

While everyone else around you seems to be excelling in their craft, accolades are given to everyone but you, your neighbors hit the jackpot…

Come on, I’m not the only one. You’ve surely been there, right?

Idea-less.

A hellish place for sure. It’s worse than that moment you’re about to start the first sentence on a blank page.

It’s worse than having to wait 119 days until Jurassic World finally opens.

You know how I find my ideas when I at this point? It’s embarrassing, and no one has ever seen me do it, except Sarabeth when I thought I was alone, or my little girl who just thinks it’s hilarious. 1tumblr_lgp6q5NhE21qcjtu8o1_500

I dance.

I talk out loud.

I sing.

I act.

And I’ve yelled.

It’s humbling, but true. I imagine myself standing before the heads of Universal Studios or Disney and I’ve got five minutes (I’m generous) to pitch them my idea.

So I yell, I act, I pitch like a storyboard artist convincing the director that my idea is the only thing that will work. I talk aloud about something that I believe in.

I might not yet have an idea to believe in, but I believe that I will find one.

I encourage you to give this a try. Crank up some Fun. or Owl City, or Delta Rae on the ipad and dance.

ac-slater-dance-o

Yes. Just start dancing. Let your body go. Just release the stress of everyday life. The last thing you want weighing you down when you’re trying to be creative is the rock-hard facts of  life that your readers are looking to escape from.

numa-numa-kid-oSo… escape.

Dance.

And talk.

And then ask yourself later, What did I talk about? Anything interesting? Jot it down.

Bless your Facebook feed by joining my new author page. 

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

26 Responses to On Writing: Curing the Creative Rut

  1. Great idea but I definitely need privacy for this. I dance like a turtle.

  2. I find that mowing the lawn always gives me great ideas. This is my current excuse for my blog being so lame. I’ll have to think of another excuse in the Spring, and I plan to use your tips to help me come up with one.

  3. mvblake says:

    I tried staring at a white page for a while but it starts to screw with your vision, so I moved on to spouting irritating quotes at my girlfriend until she stops knitting and lets me use her as a soundboard for ideas. It doesn’t help me beat the rut, but it’s keep our relationship on its toes.

  4. Zula says:

    Brilliant. I write out my stream of consciousness every morning, my ideas, or lack of, get sorted. But I love the idea of just dancing and making noise, I’m going to give a try!

  5. Thanks for a fun cure for writer’s block 🙂

  6. such an interesting write-up!

    would want to try it out now. 🙂

  7. Definitely have to give that a try. Really stuck at present, and too much stress in my life, so dancing would help with that! Would be a sight to behold too.

  8. megpill says:

    This is interesting. I never thought about doing this before. I might give this a try 🙂

  9. dawnlizjones says:

    I’m so new at this, I haven’t even hit that rut…yet. But the practical humor is just TOO good to pass up. I haven’t “re-blogged” anything yet, so this would be my first; mind if I give it a try? (Re-blogging that is; the dancing I’ll save for later….)

  10. I’ve always loved the enthusiasm of the Numa Numa Guy.

  11. dawnlizjones says:

    Reblogged this on inspiration with an attitude and commented:
    This is terrific!!

  12. Raven Whyte says:

    I have been fortunate in that I always have ideas. Sometimes, I just walk down a street and hear a noise, or look at something differently, and I suddenly find an entire poem. My misfortune is when I have Something, a thing I think is worthy of sharing, and I try to find the words, and they do not express the thing that is in me. I can tell the story to friends, and they see the value, but the words I use then would on work on paper, so the story never gets written the way that feels right. And I have to keep trying to find the right voice to share it right.

Leave a Reply

