How We Got Our Daughter Part 2

DSCN0357

Click here for Part 1 of our story

The next two days seemed longer than the last year in some ways. We were told that they would call back to tell us to come meet our foster daughter. We spent our time  wisely, running across town picking out newborn girl clothes, baby bottles, blankets, and a plethora of pacifiers.

And then no call came. We were under the impression that they’d call us back that same day. That night must have been the longest night of our lives. Our little girl was alone in a hospital basin and we couldn’t be there for her. We spent the next day with our phones turned all the way up clutched tightly in our hands. Every sound caused us to answer them. All the while the nursery remained barren and silent. We lost even more sleep that second night. Was it all a misunderstanding? Did they call the wrong people?

Sarabeth and I were by each other’s sides the entire weekend while we waited for permission to see our little girl. Exactly one year ago today, at Target, picking up more baby stuff, Sarabeth and I split up so she could grab the paper towels at the back of the store while I began checking out.

The phone rang in my pocket annoyingly loud just as I was swiping my Target Rewards card. For the first time ever I blew someone off by answering it while they were talking to me (I don’t envy retail workers). I panicked because Sarabeth wasn’t nearby to take notes and I had a terrible memory, especially under pressure. I waved and jumped up and down to get Sarabeth to hurry back with the 12-pack of Downey. She started jumping up and down too when she reached me and we both started crying like little school girls in the middle of Target on a busy Sunday morning.

I drove fast enough to the hospital to merit getting yelled at: “You don’t want to die before meeting your daughter, do you? SLOW DOWN!”

There are three things in my life I’ll never forget as long as I live.

1) How terrified I was all four times I saw Jurassic Park in theaters.

2) Meeting my wife (even though I still get some facts wrong). And,

3) Seeing my daughter for the first time.

She. Was. Beautiful. I generally don’t think babies are that cute, but this one, she was perfect in every way. The first thing I thought was that ironically, she looked exactly like Sarabeth (no jokes, please – I’ve tried). Seriously, even the nurses were saying it and people still say it today. And the other thing I thought was that even though we were just fostering this beautiful little girl, I knew we’d keep her forever.

We’re hopeful to adopt her this summer.

Oh, and that was Sarabeth’s birthday. I know I’ll never be able to beat that gift. And we stayed with our daughter at the hospital that night and for the third night in a row, we didn’t sleep. But for a much better reason.

Happy birthday, Sarabeth, and happy “Hi Day,” little girl. We love you more than you can ever imagine!

Be sure to join my Facebook author page for more fun stuff!

DSCN0358

 

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

25 Responses to How We Got Our Daughter Part 2

  1. workmomad says:

    We first got our daughter on December 1. She was three years and one month old. One of the only three things she wanted from Santa Claus for Christmas was a swing set. Swing sets in Montgomery, Alabama in December aren’t a well-stocked item. We checked with Toys R’ Us on a regular basis, and one night about the second week in December, the receptionist told us they were expecting a shipment to arrive about midnight. Mark rushed over there at midnight to get the very last available set in the city. Your story reminded me of that, and those kind of stories are the kind that live on in family lore forever!

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com

  2. lauramacky says:

    It’s nice to know there are people like you in the world who adore their children. I’ve been loving your story.

  3. She’s a lucky girl!

  4. amo says:

    Happy Birthday, Sarahbeth and Baby! Where I live (British Columbia, Canada) it’s a stat holiday today – Family Day. What a great story for today.

  5. Oh happy day! I have been praying for you for so long, and I am glad to see that you will be able to adopt this summer. This little one is blessed to have folks who have wanted and dreamed of her.

  6. Wonderful. God bless all of you!

  7. Beautiful story!! Happy birthday to your baby girl!!

  8. angelharmon says:

    AW! I’m so happy for you! Congratulations…I know that feeling! My bf’s mom has had her foster son since he was 3 days old, and now he’s getting so big! He thinks he’s the man of the house, and has to have all of the attention. I wish you guys the best of luck!

  9. Valerie Penny says:

    Exciting times! I look forward to more of your story.

  10. Congratulations to you both. Sending good wishes.

  11. Georgia B. says:

    though i am late to the game, congratulations!!

Leave a Reply

