First Steps

Baby A

So we’re pretty excited. Baby A. took her first steps last night, at 12 months and 11 days old. Sarabeth and I were playing with her in the living room before bedtime and she happened to be standing up. I was sitting approximately two small feet away.

She was holding one ball, and I was holding the other. She really wanted that ball. She then took not one step, but two steps toward me to retrieve the other ball.

And then I heard singing behind me and when I turned, Lady Antebellum was in our dining room singing “I Run to You.”

Baby A. has also been *almost* saying “Hi,” accompanied by an excited wave of the hand.

But her first definitive word so far? “Da.” I count that as “Dad,” but Mommy and I are kind of in disagreement over that. So then I just said, “Fine. ‘Waaaaa!’ is the new word for Dad. So I still win.”

But at any rate, I’m very proud of my little girl. And we’re still very much looking forward to her permanent goal being changed to adoption in March.

On another note, have you read about my upcoming teen book? I think it’s pretty spectacular so far… click here to read a teaser.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

18 Responses to First Steps

  1. E.L. Wicker says:

    Aww, first steps are exciting times! All firsts are 🙂 Well done to Sarabeth!

  2. Yes they are, and thank you!

  3. asklotta says:

    Small step for baby A, huge step for Daddy and Mommy! “Child Proofing” takes on a whole new meaning in your house!!!!

  4. I’ve always wondered why they say “Da” instead of “Ma”. 🙂 Continue to enjoy these precious moments and the journey.

  5. Good luck! Good to know about baby’s first step 🙂

  6. workmomad says:

    Congratulations! Fingers crossed and prayers rising for March!

  7. How fun. You’ll continue to be amazed…at least for another 11 years. Then, well, thank goodness for all those years of cuteness and wonder.

  8. How exciting! Great job!

  9. kbailey374 says:

    Congratulations! You are nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award!
    There are rules to follow to accept this award:
    Show the award on your blog.
    Thank the person who nominated you.
    Share seven facts about yourself.
    Nominate 15 blogs.
    Link your nominees’ blogs, and let them know.

  10. Faith Simone says:

    So cute! And thanks for blogging about adoption. It’s something I’m considering for the future, and it’s always nice to hear musings from someone going through it.

Leave a Reply

