The American Dream Revised

Beach-beaches-4843817-1280-800-001

It used to be that people in America achieved the Great Dream by running and sustaining a business or trade, owning property, and passing down an inheritance to your offspring, be that monetary or a learned skill. But that Dream has morphed into something different over the years.

This is what the new American Dream sounds like: Pay off any debts and live on a private beach, emphasis on private. 

Nowhere in today’s revised Dream is there a place for work. To be more specific, people want to earn as much as possible doing the least as possible – and for most of us, that will always remain just that: a dream.

Me, I like to work – the issue is, the type of work I’m doing. My Dream is the freedom (or time) to do my work to earn money for me, not for a company. I want the freedom to travel so I can write about different locations and research history for compelling books.

Stop dreaming about doing no work and start thinking about doing your work.

Think about what energizes you. Maybe it’s teaching kids in Sunday school, or gardening, or critiquing restaurants, or sewing pillow cases.

Dive into your hobbies and personal projects as though you were making millions of dollars off of them. Become an expert in your field. And then find a way to make money off of it.

Make that your new Dream.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

25 Responses to The American Dream Revised

  1. Grace Grogan says:

    If you talk to people who immigrate from other countries they do believe in the American Dream and says it exists. Quite often their viewpoint is that Americans are lazy and don’t want to work. I have a friend who is an immigrant and has said that, and I just heard someone on TV say it the other day.

  2. Nathan Evans says:

    After a tough day at work, this is exactly what I needed to read! Thanks

  3. I forget at times that your generation is very different than mine. Our American Dream was revised years ago; it was one of simplicity owning a house, car, spouse, 2.2 kids and a white picket fence. I never figured out the .2 kids (personally I think they meant a dog). Jobs were not an option, you took what you could and emphasis was on family. Long dream ago. I hope you achieve your dream, I did mine.

  4. brady layne says:

    You are reading my mind with this post. Lately I have been struggling to decide if I want to love what I am doing, or if I would love to have money. The career path I am choosing doesn’t exactly make the big bucks, but I am realizing what makes a person happy is what can make a person feel rich. As long as you are a hard worker, good things will happen. Great post!

  5. Cristi says:

    Yes! Work leads to pride, pride leads to integrity, integrity leads to a good night’s sleep! You have inspired me 🙂 Blessings to you this week!!!

  6. aetherhouse says:

    Great post! I scoff at those who say “the American Dream” is dead. The American Dream is being ABLE to dream, which in many other countries is not possible. We have so much freedom that we take for granted.

  7. Great advice! Thanks for the reminder to work hard.

  8. Catmint32 says:

    Interestingly, I used to know someone from Costa Rica who had a food truck. He used to say that Americans were the hardest-working people he knew. But I think you’re right – the definition of the American dream has changed.

  9. Word. Because we have replaced the desire to find our happiness in what God has blessed us with and replaced it was the desire to be the Kardashian family. We reach for indolent wealth. It amazes me how many people have never done one productive thing that made their hearts sing.

  10. Sandymae says:

    I am happy to say that, out of our four children, three of them are now living their dream by working “for themselves” and setting their own schedules, while the fourth one is getting closer to “living his dream” as he spends much of his free time “out on the waters” and teaching his beautiful young daughter to fish. I grew up in a society where one worked hard to get hired by a large, productive company and expected to be there for life. I retired at 60 after 32 years working with the oil industry – a very different life than our kids are living. It’s good we don’t all have the same dream though, otherwise, who would run the industries? 🙂

  11. pzip says:

    Find rest in you duty:) when you love what you are doing, it’s not work. Thanks for the follow!

Leave a Reply

