Little Fault in This Book

tfiosWhen you close a book after reading the final page the characters and their story sort of just… end. But in the really good books these characters become immortal and they take on a life of their own in our imaginations that egg on their continued existence.

In the hot teen book The Fault in Our Stars by John Green the characters do tend to take on a life of their own. And in the end, well, yes they linger. They linger in your mind and in your heart because you feel something strong for them. You feel like you have gotten to know them and become their friend. You feel like you travelled halfway across the world with them and laughed with them and cried with them and even offered your two-cents worth at their pre-funerals.

As an author, I was struck dumb with Green’s lavishly crisp writing and sharp dialogue. He is one of those authors who make other authors like me say, “Crap. This guy just raised the bar even higher.”

Must. Reach. Farther.

And to the stars we must reach in order to achieve perfection in our craft. Or, if we at least want to be as good a writer as this guy.

Don’t think for a minute that you can get away with reading this book in public – if you don’t want to humiliate yourself by all the crying you’re bound to do. It’s a lot harder for a book to make people cry than for a movie. A movie has many mediums vying to tug at the heartstrings at just the right moment, with just the right notes from the orchestra, with just the right look from the actor, or the right word from the screenwriter, or the right scenic view by the cinematographer.

But a book? The author is carrying the load all on his own to evoke such powerful emotions from the reader. His choice words, verbs, adjectives, timing, scenario, etc. And Mr. Green demonstrates not only that it can be done, but it can be done well. (I only hope my upcoming book I Am the Lion (Nov. 11, 2014) can be half as touching as this book.)

I will miss you, Augustus Waters. And Hazel Grace, wherever you are, keep dreaming of that sequel. Okay?

I will be visiting the rest of John Greens books very soon.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

37 Responses to Little Fault in This Book

  1. S.J. Takeshi says:

    I agree with your review of this book. Even though I had read it for around five times already, my tears still stream both because of the ingenuity of humor, and of course, the tragic ending.

    To you, I hope I get to read your novel, because I really love reading inspiring ones. 🙂

  2. ~Lisa~ says:

    I loved this book and the movie….<3

  3. I love that book. 😊

  4. I’ve also felt like I’ve known both of them for years when I was reading it. Really amazing book.

  5. I didn’t read the book, but you she’d new light about how I feel when I read! “In good books the characters become immortal”. This post is now immortal to me. Thanks. #wisdom

  6. Jim woods says:

    Just watched the movie with my wife. Very good story line.

  7. thewriteedge says:

    I read it this summer, and it surprised me with the quality of the writing. One of my favorite lines comes when Hazel Grace describes how she fell in love with Gus, and that’s when it hit me just how talented Green is.

    Thanks for the review.

  8. kaygy says:

    I read the book and what really captivated me is the choice of words in the dialogue. I thought that was brilliant!

  9. Teresa Oh says:

    This post made me feel compelled to go get J Green’s book… isn’t that something 🙂

  10. Tim says:

    I’ll have to check the book out – thanks for the recommendation!

  11. sptchmom777 says:

    Ok already….I have not read it. I have thought about it…but based on your post, I guess I will get the Kindle ready!

  12. Paper Towns is one I’d definitely recommend, but all his books are excellent.

  13. violet626 says:

    One of the best books I’ve read this year. The movie is good as well. I am a big fan of the young adult genre, and many times find the author’s craft more developed and creative than adult fiction. The Book Thief by Markus Zak is another best of reads this year.

  14. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 11/04/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

  15. Charlene says:

    I fully agree with you on those moments that make you say, ‘Crap!’

    There were six or seven spots where I just had to put the book down and let how good the writing was sink in. Then I copied those lines down in a notebook to come back to for the days I need inspiration that ‘it can be done.’

  16. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 11/10/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

