On My Own

home-alone_2Sarabeth and the baby have been out of town for a couple of days visiting family. So I’m holding down the fort with the help of our two crime-fighting miniature dachshunds, Pixie and Prim. They don’t like it when Sarabeth is gone because when she’s here – with the baby’s moods permitting – we hold to a pretty regular and predictable schedule.

We watch a show while eating dinner, share some ice cream, and snuggle on the couch – the one thing the pups live and die by.

But when Sarabeth’s gone, they have to be locked up all day while I’m at work. They’re not used to that. Plus, I’m a pretty flighty person, so when I get home from work, I don’t really follow a schedule. I might shower before dinner, I might do some reading before I eat, I might watch a movie or read a book. I just kind of go with what I feel like. One night this week I spent forty-five minutes tearing up the place tracking down a fly.

The dinners are sub-par compared to what I come home to from work when Sarabeth’s been cooking. I revert back to Mac and Cheese (with hot dogs), and frozen pizzas. Quality lost; weight gained.

Sometimes I sleep in the bed.

Sometimes I sleep on the couch.

Either way, I go to bed much later because I can keep the light on to read as late as I want. Or I watched a movie that was a little too long and too scary and I had to spend twenty minutes booby-trapping the house.

Either way, it comes down to this.

I might feel like I need my alone time and I might get annoyed by my baby’s crying and spit bubbles, but when it comes down to it, when they’re gone, it’s not as great as it sounds. I just spend a lot of time wishing they were home so I can eat better food and go to bed on time.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

25 Responses to On My Own

  1. swamiyesudas says:

    I would have liked You to have ended this post with the words:

    ‘When it comes down to it, when they’re gone, it’s not as great as it sounds.’

    Or maybe You have written Your last sentence in wry humour! Anyway, that made good reading. I suppose the fly died a natural death! Or were You successful? 🙂 …Regards.

  2. Anna says:

    Wonderful post! I have dachshunds too. They are great pets to spoil rotten! 🙂

  3. SandysJar says:

    I can relate to the only evenings. My husband would have shifts at the fire station for the evening. I would seem to always stay up later, and yes it is way to quite.

  4. erikakind says:

    Everybody at times needs a time out. That doesn’t mean he is not happy with his life. But a time out gives room to breath, new energy, it clears and calms the mind, and the realization how lucky he is with his life! Enjoy your time outs!

  5. Laura says:

    Your story rings true for me too. When my hubby travels my evening meal is often ice cream and popcorn. Not good! but yummy! 🙂 I’m always glad to have him home again.

  6. realsomefoya says:

    Rings true.

  7. flygirl140 says:

    Oh this post made my day! Especially the part about the fly!

    I do the same thing…I eat ramen and sandwich meat and stay up watching movies in to the wee-hours. Hopefully Sarabeth and the baby will be back soon and restore balance for you and the pups!

  8. Glad I’m not the only one who booby-traps after a scary movie. “A crazy axe-murderer DEFINITELY won’t be able to get in without knocking THAT over…”

  9. Haha! Its nice to admit that, eh? My boyfriend told me once when I went on a 3 week overseas vacation that he actually missed my nagging. That was quite a funny moment 😉 Love the post!

Leave a Reply

