Things I was Supposed to Have Accomplished By Now

There’s an episode in The Office that’s kind of somber. It’s when Michael Scott shows a video of himself as a Michael Scottkid as a guest on a popular children’s show. In it, the puppet-host asks him what he hopes to be when he grows up.

The young Michael Scott, with suite and a neat comb-over, answers, “I want to get married and have a hundred kids so I can have a hundred friends and no one can say no to being my friend.”

Well, this depresses the grown Michael Scott because he’s not married, has no kids, and no one really wants to be his friend.

We all have expectations when we’re young, right?

We were building bucket lists even before Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman coined the term.

I had things that I was supposed to have accomplished by this time. Here’s a few of them:

1. I was supposed to have won my third Academy Award for best director and actor and screen writer.

2. I was supposed to be a bestselling author and on a first-name basis with Michael Crichton.

3. By now I was supposed to have saved a bunch of people from a mad terrorist and be headlined as a hero on the front page of every newspaper for years.

4. I was supposed to have finally found the perfect hairstyle for my thinning hair; but then again, my hair wasn’t supposed to thin at all.

5. I was supposed to have found the best pizza in the world – one so good that I would never want a slice from any other place ever again. And then I was to learn to replicate it at home.

6. I was supposed to have made it through Lost without burning out.

Even though there’s a lot of things I haven’t done in my life, and breaking into Hollywood isn’t as easy as I thought it would be, I have to stop and remember the things that I have accomplished.

I’m married to a beautiful woman. Check.

I have an awesome baby girl (though she’s not a silent baby like I was hoping for). Still, check.

I have two dogs.

I’m a homeowner.

So yeah, I’m at least still writing, and haven’t given up on becoming a bestselling author, and I’ll probably eventually get back to Lost someday, but it seems like I’ve got all the important things accomplished.

Now, if  you excuse me, I’m going to take a music break and listen to Montgomery Gentry’s “Something to Be Proud Of”

 

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

16 Responses to Things I was Supposed to Have Accomplished By Now

  1. realsomefoya says:

    I can relate. Thanks for the post.

  2. erikakind says:

    Great things you already realized in your life. More than many other people! All that matters is, that you are aware of ALL you achieved – no matter how much it could have been but what it actually has been. We often underestimate our life’s achievments because we compare it with others. But mostly we don’t see that we achieved things those others didn’t!

  3. her30s says:

    I have a list of all the things I was supposed to have accomplished by now too. I don’t feel bad about it though because I’ve been busy living. Seems like you have too. Great post!

  4. You know what they say about unanswered prayers…. So many of things in my life didn’t turn out quite the way I’d planned it, but I don’t know if I would’ve found the deep, abiding love and friendships that I currently cherish if I had. (Or if I’d even be the same person…and I like who I am.)

  5. Humor, gratitude, and wry reflection: an awesome blogpost of praise to the God you trust.

  6. I was supposed to have saved the whales. Instead, I’ve saved a few dogs. Thanks for this comforting post. And thanks for the follow 🙂

  7. There’s the line in “The Kid” where Bruce Willis’s younger self realizes “I have a boring job, I’m not a pilot, I don’t have a dog, I’m not married—I grow up into a loser!”
    But with your wife and kid, fortunately you didn’t.

  8. gnoostic says:

    Hey I’ve got seventeen personalities that hover around me, and I didn’t figure that out until about six months ago at 29.35 years old, and they all have different dreams and aspirations, and they are about as unique as they get! So (maybe) you could imagine the stress of “never getting anything done” every twenty minutes spent on one project became 15minutes of getting yelled at by 12 and patiently waited on by five(they always smile when I say that 🙂 ) until I couldn’t focus anymore, but hey now six months later, I’ve taught myself three computer languages made the first two pages of a website(with maybe four more to come by “next week”???) Put two cars in my car for my 45minute commute to work, so I can say ” sie kan here parkun ” in German while listening to trace music at the same time from the second stereo, finished an audio book on the presidents and hopefully audio listen to your book on kindle because you seem like a gentle hearted smart person, who are hard to come by! The last install of my self made thunder vest along with three other “ancient technologies” and I’m less fucking pissed off at everything for not being as it should be, and more confident and okay with “sounding completely insane” because, ….big sigh, its Wei (we+I) and I’m here for good (Wei here for amazing things!) Thanks

Leave a Reply

