My Secret Obsession

cereal3

I have a secret that I think, after two years of blogging, I’m ready to share.

It’s an unusual secret. A personal one, that really only my wife and a few family members know about. And yes, I get teased about it a lot.

My coworkers don’t know about it, and my friends have no clue.

But now I’m about to share it with 10,000+ readers.

It’s sort of an addiction I face every morning.

Let me set the stage for you so you can appreciate the magnitude of this.

My wife is an amazing cook. She makes the best pasta, the best salads, the best everything I’ve ever had. Including the best eggs.

And each morning I have the option to have her make me gooey, cheesy, scrambled eggs or… a box of cereal.

And each morning I choose a box of cereal.

Not the whole-grain crap or bland granola that you can get in the health-food aisles. I’m talking, if it doesn’t have a cartoon character on the front of the box, I won’t eat it.

If Michael Scott ever opens up Mike’s Cereal Shack, I’ll hop on the first flight to Colorado and go there.

Is it any wonder that my favorite movie studio has a full-fledged cereal bar in their kitchen?

Growing up, I always loved that song “Breakfast” by Newsboys.

If my daughter were to be shrunken by my incredible shrinking machine and she fell into my cereal bowl, I’m not sure I wouldn’t mistake her as a cute little marshmallow and gobble her up. (Props to Rick Moranis for eating a colorless cereal, by the way.)

If I were to be a criminal, I’d be a serial… No – that’s too obvious. I’ll spare you that one.

Earlier this year, being 30, I decided to quit cereal all together and eat toast and eggs like a normal grown-up.

That lasted for about two weeks.

But can you blame me? Wendell the Baker came out with Peanut Butter Toast Crunch! And being a cereal connoisseur, I absolutely had to try it.

Then the Captain came out with Cinnamon Roll Crunch.

Tried it. Loved it.

Then good ol’ Tony hit me with Chocolate Frosted Flakes and Bam-Bam hammered out Poppin’ Pebbles.

It seemed the grocery store was out to see me fail. And yes, I succumbed, and continue to succumb, to all the new flavors and even revert back to old ones, because I figure, hey, I’m off the wagon, might as well frolic in the grass while it’s still fresh.

Sigh.

It’s Ash Wednesday, and some of you will be giving up something for Lent.

I’m not Catholic, so I won’t be giving something up, and it certainly wouldn’t be cereal (I’m not strong enough) or ice cream (don’t even get me started on that).

But whatever you do give up, whether for Lent or at any point throughout your life that you want to abstain from, just know that the world, the devil, your flesh, will all act as your mega grocery store.

And when that happens, and your tempted to go back, pray for the strength to resist. Like, really, really pray. Hard. Pray like you know God will get you through the temptation (notice I didn’t say He’ll take you out of it, but rather get you through it).

And for goodness sakes, stay out of the cereal aisle.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

64 Responses to My Secret Obsession

  1. PigLove says:

    mmm cereal. Now I want some cereal again. Don’t feel bad my two legged friend. I eat cereal for breakfast every morning as well. Of course mine is Cheerios – rolls piggy eyes. Mommy says I get that to be heart smart. Whatever mommy. I’m a pig. I want fun cereal like yours. You think you can write mommy a letter for me 🙂 XOXO – Bacon

  2. My husband and I aren’t Catholic — Protestants through and through — but we go to Ash Wednesday services, get ashes, and give up something that is important to us or our lifestyles.
    I think you can do it. It’s hard, yes. But it is a way of saying, Yes God. We have too much, and you are all we need.
    of course, it isn’t mandatory; that is what makes it all the more meaningful.

  3. Amy says:

    I also love cereal, though I do limit myself to Total raisin bran. Only Total raisin bran—unless we are some place where I have to settle for Post of Kellogg’s. It’s my favorite meal of the day. Who said grown-ups eat eggs and toast for breakfast?? That’s DINNER!

  4. vjstracener says:

    Ha. I also have a thing for sugary cereals!

  5. I’m not really a fan of cereal. Have a lovely ash wednesday

  6. Katherine Rebekah says:

    Im a Methodist and we celebrate Lent to. Im not going to give anything up though, but maybe I will add something. Like one year I got up thirty minutes early every morning to pray. That was hard! Anyways, I encourage everyone (even if your not Catholic or Methodist) to give something up, or do something more, in order to get closer to God for the Easter season. It really works, and you fell so good when the forty days are over.

  7. Breakfast by the news boys is a great song! And if I could still eat cereal like a kid again (dumb adult food allergies) I would totally be the same way. 🙂

  8. I hardly ever have cereal, i want some now too, look nor everyone wants some, hehe

  9. kmae says:

    I also love cereal! Trix and Fruit Loops are probably my favorite, haha. I can’t judge you!

  10. Genevieve says:

    I love cereal and so do my kiddos. In fact that is what they wanted for dinner last night.

    I really love your last paragraph though. Sometimes I forget that God won’t take away the difficult things in life but he will help me through them. Thanks.

  11. love a good crunchy cereal, but the milk kills me, so I have given it up. 😦

  12. Hardethaewoh says:

    Hmmm… Naturally, I don’t skip breakfasts. Its like this- give me breakfast and I’ll thank you.
    Give me CEREAL!- I’ll worship you. I love it!

  13. allieleora says:

    Oh, I have this problem, too. Not nearly as bad as you (I’m more of a Raisin Bran-type gal) But yes, I prefer cereal to nearly every other breakfast food on the planet — minus crepes. You tell me there will be crepes somewhere, I’m there.

  14. Benmo says:

    It could be worse. Cereal is not so bad compared to beer of the month or such!

  15. Geraint Isitt says:

    I’m with you on the cereal. Cartoon characters on the box make the cereal. I LOVE Lucky Charms – which I find hard to get here in Dubai. Nightmare, I know. The most “non-adult” of the cereals I can find out here is usually Cinnamon Toast Crunch. If I want to feel like a grown-up I’ll have Raisin Bran. Great post.

  16. regan222 says:

    AAaarrrgh!! Those darn chocolate chip cookie crisps!! I can’t take anymore! I don’t have a monkey on my back; I gotta toucan with a colorful beak

  17. That’s how I feel about tea. I look forward my tea every morning, (having given up coffee 3 years ago.) I always have at least 12 different kinds in the cabinet. I love to mix them, (one black french vanilla with a black apricot). I do the same with cereal. My countertop has clear storage containers for flour etc and one for cereal. I always combine a healthier cereal with one that is maybe not so healthy. I love the element of surprise that way. Even when making several cups of steel cut oats and freezing small bowls, I top off half with blackberry syrup…again the tiny element of surprise….I love surprises, even if they are my own making!

  18. Sometimes I eat cereal for dinner.

  19. Yevette says:

    You’re not alone in this which is why I NEVER have it in my pantry. Lol!

  20. AttyEve says:

    How funny that i’m eating cereal while reading this. Cinnamon Toast Crunch
    glad your obsession isn’t something gross or i would lose my appetite and i love this cereal

  21. Debi Smith says:

    lol I do stay out of the cereal aisle! But for a much different reason. I prefer eggs as part of my mega-breakfast meals. 😀

  22. Pingback: the other side of the coin | mummy lounge

  23. Mich-in-French says:

    I stay away from cereal because I know once I start…crazy things happen so I can so relate. Thank you for stopping by my blog and for the follow – happy crunching! 😉

  24. laurabennet says:

    Really enjoyed that post. I think my family is with you, but alas I don’t allow them the sugary cereals. They must make do with Honey Nut Cheerios and Frosted Mini-Wheats. That’s as max as the sugar goes in our house. Their faves? Wheetabix (they’re Australian and that is a staple), corn flakes and rice bubbles (Aussie again for rice krispies) with honey. I prefer the healthy varieties, but cereal is definitely a go to. They’d eat it all day if I let them. Can you imagine the response when on rare occasions I tell them I’m too tired, busy writing or sick to make dinner so it’s a “cereal dinner night’? Yes, I’ll bet you can 🙂

  25. ATTTCAG says:

    I found myself laughing aloud while reading this post, and I’m not even a cereal fan. Great writing. Thank you for subscribing to my blog.

  26. monkeelino says:

    What’s not to like about cereal?!! That stuff is like breakfast crack. I’ve tried to cut back because I’m still hungry about an hour after eating it, but I still like it. Still enjoy a good PBJ sandwich, too. I’m 38 and my wife is also an amazing cook. By coming clean, I hope a great weight has been lifted from your shoulders ; )

  27. Christina says:

    Oh My Gosh! I love it….yep. Captain Crunch with crunch berries, is my midnight go to, early morning rise to, and writers block break through. It’s all in the crunch. Thanks for the great post. Now, I am going to go pour myself a bowl of yumness…;)

  28. carbonkitten says:

    Ah, cereal! I miss my cereal days (and still go back to them, on occasion). Can’t help it. It’s too comforting.

  29. Dude, you totally got that Breakfast song by the Newsboys stuck in my head. I forgot how much I used to love that song!

  30. Alexia Walke says:

    Reblogged this on Alexia and Things and commented:
    😁

Leave a Reply

