Disappointment

Philip-Seymour-Hoffman-

“Did you know about this?” Sarabeth asked me yesterday as she held out the iPad to me.

I read the headline: “Philip Seymour Hoffman, Oscar-Winning Actor, Dead at 46.” 

“What?!” I said. I read that he had overdosed on heroine, then I cursed.

People aren’t calling him this generation’s greatest actor out of pity for his early death. My brother-in-law and I have loved every movie he’s in, because of him. He was probably the most well-known supporting actor of our time.

As one Fox News contributor rightly put it: “He brought his A-game to the table every single time.”

No better person could be chosen to play one of the key roles in The Hunger Games movies.

But now he’s dead, with the greatest achievements in his career ahead of him, and a rapidly growing fan base left stunned.

Yesterday was filled with all sorts of upsets, huh?

Like Peyton Manning.

The Broncos.

The subpar Super Bowl commercials (except this one.)

I was expecting a lot more from Mr. Hoffman, and I mourn his death selfishly.

We were all expecting much more from Peyton and his team.

And often, I feel like Jesus is a big disappointment too, but that’s where it’s not true.

Jesus isn’t going to overdose on heroine at the hight of his reign.

His throws aren’t going to be intercepted time after time after time.

The only reason He disappoints me is if He doesn’t go in the direction I want Him to go, or if He doesn’t work as fast enough as I’d like for Him to.

And I’ll likely be more prone to be disappointed in Him if I put too much faith and hope in the flawed people around me.

Why is that?

Because then I’m elevating them to God’s status.

In a way, Cars 2 was a blessing, because it showed me that the Pixar people aren’t perfect.

Broken promises from our presidents ought to be reminders to us that they’re not our saviors, and they, in fact, cannot fix everything.

And even the greatest actors in Hollywood have their weaknesses.

But not Jesus. We may have led ourselves into disappointing situations, or He may have allowed disappointing things to happen to us, but no disappointment will ever come directly from His hand.

And He Himself will never disappoint.

At least, that’s what I’m trying to learn for myself, anyway.

It just takes some trust and belief.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

34 Responses to Disappointment

  1. This one hit me a bit harder than most Hollywood deaths, too. I also feel like this is one very talented man, and a big loss. So glad that Jesus’ blood never fails us.

  2. Genevieve says:

    Where your post started and where it went stunned me, in a good way.

  3. i think right now i am watching a brilliant performance by him, in a movie, in pieces… will check out and let you know

  4. And time….The plans of God require trust over time. In the moment it is very easy to gain the “what are you doing God?” Attitude.

  5. Jesus will never leave us nor forsake us… He is just like that. Hoffman’s passing was a shock and a sadness. He was truly gifted and his roles revealed that. I will miss seeing him in movies.

  6. Chesnut :) says:

    Reblogged this on Chesnut 🙂.

  7. directorb says:

    Great post, so true how we can compare at times the failures of those around us to Jesus, but as you said, Jesus will never let us down.

  8. cindyhfrench says:

    I am with you on the disappointments!! Yesterday it was like a different team showed up from Denver! I was embarrassed for them and finally had to turn off the channel. And as for the actor- well everyone is looking for a “high” it seems. Too bad no one introduced him to The Lord Jesus who is the best “high” if you will. Even Paul said there is nothing like winning a soul for The Lord God. Yes I know it to be true myself– there is nothing like it!! I’ve had Demerol for pain, bad pain and such a relief! People could say that’s a high! No that’s relief as I see it. But trust me, there is NOTHING like the feeling The Lord gives you if you have led someone to Him

  9. lljostes says:

    Thanks for this post! I shared it on my Facebook page. People need to know Who will never disappoint them.

  10. Yes. We put our faith and hopes in people who are just like us–bound to disappoint. I always cringed when I saw that Obama poster with the word Hope underneath it. Not because I am an Obama-basher, but because Jesus is the one we should put our hopes in –he does not disappoint. Great post!

  11. This is what I always think–Jesus is not just the answer, He’s also the way through. It’s just when folks need Him the most that they tend to walk away, but that’s the time to give it all up and let Him work it out. So sad.

  12. cleopatra59 says:

    I think we ought to appreciate the talent and worth of a man when they are here with us. Sad end to a great talent.

  13. I am so sad about this and about the trend that desperately needs bucking out in Lala land!

  14. I love where you took this. I’m in one of those being disappointed phases, the what seems like never-ending waiting, constantly praying (screaming) come on God! But I know in my heart of hearts that it will happen when it is supposed to and it will be good. With trust and belief. Thank you for this.

  15. Thank you for being honest about feeling disappointed in God sometimes, or even frequently. I think people need to hear that message, not because God disappoints but as you said, because we need to be reminded that it is other people, things and events that disappoint but that if we press in to Jesus, if we persevere, we will know Him more and the more we see Him the more He can reveal to us how He is so wholly other than anything we can think, ask or imagine. We will know that our only hope and satisfaction rests in Him. Blessings as you run the race.

  16. oneintercessor says:

    The thing is, even if our lives always stink and we’re wrought with suffering, it doesn’t change God, who deserves our worship no matter what. Modern Christianity seems to always want to apply Jesus as the cure to life’s woes, but when we look to those who get remembered as the strong ‘saints’ of old, so often their lives were extremely painful. It’s not about us, it’s about Him being God. Hudson Taylor’s life is a good reminder to me to get ‘me’ where I belong in relation to the King of Kings. We may never get what we want, we may always have to wait, we may suffer with depression or loneliness for our entire life…it doesn’t change God and His awesomeness. Anyway…. excellent post. I hate that his death was heroine. Would have rather heard it was a random sudden heart attack or something…

  17. agrudzinsky says:

    Interesting thought

    The only reason He disappoints me is if He doesn’t go in the direction I want Him to go, or if He doesn’t work as fast enough as I’d like for Him to.

    Perhaps, in this case, the disappointment is with myself since I don’t seem to go the same direction as Jesus. I think, the source of disappointment is the gap between ought and is.

  18. mrsgillies says:

    What was wrong with Cars 2?! Haha.

Leave a Reply

