Happy Music Part II

Jack Frost has made his appearance, at least here in Kentucky. It’s too early for me to listen to too much Christmas music at this point (I can only listen to so much this early), but I still need some pick-me-up songs as the trees all around us are dying and the skies grow grayer and the birds get quieter. So here’s another list of just plain happy songs that just put a smile on my face and a tap in my toes. Click here for Part I.

blessid union

“Miracles” by Blessid Union of Souls – Blessid Union of Souls is probably one of my all-time favorite bands. To me, nothing can top their album “Walking Off the Buzz” is one of the best CDs I’ve ever heard. This song, “Miracles” isn’t from that album, but from one of their newer ones, “The Mission Field,” where the lead singer reportedly has turned back to his spiritual roots. There’s no Youtube video for this song. Sorry.

“Dance in the Graveyards” by Delta Rae – So the plants are dying and the flowers are withering. Doesn’t mean we have to stop dancing! Enjoy this one from the rapidly star-rising band.

“Spread Too Thin” by The Dirty Heads – Got a lot on your plate? Are the holidays proving to be too much to take on? This little ditty from the Dirty Heads knows where you’re at.

“Rollerblades” by Eliza Doolittle – The sidewalks might be too icy to go out for a spin on our rollerblades, but that can’t stop you from at least singing about them.

“Don’t Stop” by Gin Wigmore – Someone out there loves you, and doesn’t want you to stop doing what you do. This little song is a good one to dance to with a loved one nearby.

Want to share some of your favorite happy songs? List them below, we’d love to heard them! Share the music!

 

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

4 Responses to Happy Music Part II

  1. bwbyars says:

    My kids have been listening to Owl City & Carly Rae Jepsen’s “Good Time” lately, and its grown on me.
    I’m not sure what puts a bigger smile on my face, though, than Bob Seger’s “Old Time Rock & Roll.” Those first riffs play and I’m grinning from ear to ear. Maybe I’m still laughing about Alf singing into a cucumber.
    For a quieter happy, I really like some Ingrid Michaelson or Michael Buble.
    I’m glad you mentioned Blessid Union of Souls. “Hey Leonardo” was all over the radio right after my wife and I were married, so a lot of good happy memories go with that song. Haven’t listened to it in a long time. I’ll give it another spin today.

  2. I love music too! And LOVE to group songs around different themes/feelings – especially as a way to change or align ourselves. That’s the focus of my blog; unfortunately, I haven’t given much attention to it lately (although maybe I could post this!). I’m taking Brené Brown’s online class right now and one exercise she had was to find songs that inspire you to be who you are rather than what people want you to be. I think most people just found a song or two, but I couldn’t help myself and found these 20 🙂

    I Don’t Want To Be by Gavin DeGraw
    Better Now by Collective Soul
    Don’t Rain on My Parade by Barbra Streisand
    The Voice Within by Christina Aguilera
    Feeling Good by Michael Buble
    Freedom 90 by George Michael
    Firework by Katy Perry
    No Such Thing by John Mayer
    Can’t Hold Us by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis featuring Ray Dalton
    Ms. Harmony by Robin Thicke
    Numb by Usher
    Juanita by Shania Twain
    Uprising by Muse
    Big Time by Peter Gabriel
    Titanium by David Guetta featuring Sia
    Stronger by Kanye West
    Suddenly I See by KT Tunstall
    Born This Way by Lady Gaga
    Break My Stride by Matthew Wilder
    Mean by Taylor Swift

Leave a Reply

