My Weirdest Scary Movie Moments

Most of us like to watch movies that thrill us, and sometimes even scare us. But sometimes we get scared of the weirdest movies for the weirdest reasons. Here’s a few of mine. (Mind you, most of these were from when I was a little kid.)

war-of-the-worlds

War of the Worlds – I saw this in theaters when I was living in San Diego. On my way home, my mind was on spaceships and aliens. And when your mind is on spaceships and aliens, it’s a little disconcerting to be driving home at night and suddenly you see flashes of blue and green and red erupt behind some tree lines and buildings in your rearview mirror. Apparently the firework committee at Sea World weren’t alerted that I’d be mistaking their fireworks as an alien invasion.

it-pennywise-basement

It – I think everyone, willingly or not, has had an encounter with this movie. Our pastor’s sons were babysitting my sister and me when I was about six and she was eleven. It was late and they sent us off to bed before their movie came on TV. Unable to sleep, my sister and I snuck out into the living room and crouched down behind their couch to see what they were watching. Surely our pastor’s boys weren’t watching anything bad – right? Oh, it’s a movie about a boy chasing a paper boat down the street. Oh, goodie, there’s a clown in it, how fun! Oh, crap, that clown is about to eat the boy! I think my sister and me screaming our heads off right in their ears taught the pastor’s boys a lesson to never send kids to bed without telling them what movie they’re about to watch.

jurassic_park

Jurassic Park – I remember going to see this movie at least three times while it was in theaters. And when I got home at night, I lied awake in bed, not terrified of the raptors or a T-rex crashing through my roof. But of all things, I was desperately afraid of waking up to find a sick triceratops – plant-eater, mind you – in my room. I guess I just didn’t know what I would do with a sick dinosaur had one just magically appeared in my room. Flinstones vitamins?

the_sixth_sense

Sixth Sense – Please tell me I’m not the only one who took days before being able to stand next to my bed without thinking a dead girl was going to reach out and grab my foot.

volcano-main-poster1

Volcano – The night I saw this movie was the longest night of my life. If you haven’t seen it, it’s about a volcano that erupts underneath Los Angeles, where I was living at the time. Ate dinner, said good-night to my family and headed to bed. And I watched the crack underneath the door the entire night, hoping, praying, that lava wouldn’t start seeping into my room to burn me up. Never mind the fact that there would have been sirens and evacuations long before the lava reached my house. Didn’t sleep a wink all night, and I sweated enough to drench all my sheets. Wait – was that just sweat?

editindy-raiders_02_03_35_02

Raiders of the Lost Ark – Couldn’t get out of bed to go to the bathroom all night because I was afraid I’d step on snakes. Still can’t watch that scene to this day.

neverending-story

The Never Ending Story – Haven’t seen this movie since that night long ago and a wolf or something jumped right out at me. Still haven’t managed to get back to finishing it. Guess it really is a never ending story. For me, anyway.

MV5BNDA2NTg2NjE4Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwMjYxMDg5._V1._SX485_SY717_

The Ring – Just kidding. I didn’t find this one scary at all, which is weird, right? It just bored me senseless. I can think of a much better movie about a ring… three of them, actually.

elf-movie-poster

Elf – Okay, the movie itself didn’t scare me, but I laughed so hard at one point that I sprayed blueberry Icee onto the guy’s head in front of me. I was scared that he was going to stand up and clobber me.

Are there some movies that took you by surprise? Share your stories below!

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

47 Responses to My Weirdest Scary Movie Moments

  1. Angela Death says:

    I haven’t seen War of the Worlds, but I’ve seen all of the other movies. Not one of them scared me EXCEPT The Ring. Kind of funny how different perspectives can reach completely different conclusions.

  2. bwbyars says:

    I think these are very age related. I saw these either late in high school or college. My scary moment came from the son of our pastor (how do these PKs keep getting us in trouble???) who was spending the afternoon with me. We were about a year apart and my family had just got cable. He kept flipping the TV back to HBO where “Thing” was showing. He managed to hit the chest defibrillator scene. I still feel the echoes of the original freak out whenever I see someone with paddles on the chest.

  3. Smash says:

    Great post! It was very inspired, I liked that. And I understand this sensation of being scared long after a movie is over. I have an insanely hyper-active imagination and I think that it is a great disservice to me when it comes to watching scary movies. I saw the Nightmare on Elm Street remake a couple of years ago and I still feel like Freddy is going to jump out at me late at night! lol.

  4. missgiven says:

    I always jump out of my skin when I watch “Lost”.

  5. dfrantz1953 says:

    Alien scared me! I was 5 months pregnant with my first at the time. When I left the theater I just remember the baby bumping around like she wanted to come out! Thanks for the interesting post!

  6. I love Neverending story… you should try it again as an adult and a writer… it is one of our family’s favorite… of course that wolf thing was pretty scary, but he was only on for a little bit… now I want to see it again. I dislike scary movies and try not to watch them, although I have seen most of this list on t.v.. My parents loved horror movies and we watched a lot of them growing up… I was forever scared of what was underneath my bed and in my closet..

  7. Ebony says:

    I literally laughed out loud as I read through this post. Very entertaining!

    I never saw “It.” Probably because “Killer Clowns from Outer Space” had already scarred me for life. So much so, in fact, that my parents couldn’t take me to a specific McDonald’s that had a 7 foot Ronald McDonald out in front. I would scream bloody murder anytime they tried. “The Ring” did scare me a little but when I watched it the second time I couldn’t figure out why. I do think there are (three) better movies about a ring, too! I didn’t like “War of the Worlds” at all. I have only seen it once. Don’t need to see it ever again. “Jurassic Park” did have some intense parts but I don’t remember being scared.

    “Elf” is on my list of greatest Christmas movies of ALL TIME! Right up there with “Its a Wonderful Life,” “Home Alone” and “National Lampoons Christmas Vacation!” I watch it EVERY year.

    The movies that scared me so bad that I don’t really watch scary movies anymore (unless I’ve seen them before and know what’s coming) are “The Grudge,” “Paranormal Activity 1” and “The Exorcist.” There was something about that close-up of Linda Blair’s demonic face that did me in. I didn’t see it until I was an adult because I was too young to watch it when it was released. Actually I don’t think I was even born yet. HA!

  8. jfitz524 says:

    I am quite a bit older than you and have not seen any of these movies. The one that did it for me was “The Exorcist” which I saw when I was in college. I thought I was going to throw up during the “head’-spinning” scene. I could not handle it.

    • I haven’t seen the whole thing, and likely never will. But the trailers kept showing her walking backwards on her hands and feet down the stairs, and I can’t handle seeing that. Waaay too creepy for me.

  9. I am very sensitive to violence and easily scared. Probably the movie that frightened me the most was “Anastasia.” I still get anxious watching it although I love parts. However that shows how few scary movies I watch.

  10. Deep Impact. Never will forget it. Good post. I stick to happy endings myself these days. 🙂

  11. lynnsbooks says:

    Brilliant films. Loved this post!
    Thanks
    Lynn 😀

  12. I cried three times during Wreck-it-Ralph, that was very surprising. I also ended up crying about the season finale of Da Vinci’s Demon’s.
    However, when I was like seven I watched Silent Hill and the part where she lets all that evil into the church and there’s barb wire everywhere, I was laughing super hardcore because of the organ playing in the background, it honestly just killed me.

  13. Dra Martha Castro Médico WMA says:

    Reblogged this on CYCLING LEARNING AND HEALING THE WORLD and commented:
    Friday of Movies: humor, scary, entertainment! Enjoy 🙂

  14. Rosy says:

    Didn’t see “It”, but the book put me off clowns forever. My daughter freaked out over clowns when she saw an episode of Dr Who as a little girl. Neither of us look at clowns in the same way anymore. Jumped out of my skin watching Jurassic Park but that was geared to get you via ‘surprise/shock/fright’. Getting my foot grabbed … no, but showering after Psycho was a problem 😀

  15. geanieroake says:

    Fun post. It made me do a walk down memory lane. Most terrifying of all was Wizard of Oz, when the house fell on the bad witch and her legs shriveled up. And the flying monkees! We won’t even go there. Also – Alfred Hitchcocks, The Birds. Saw that when I was about five and practically got hives whenever I thought about it until I was in my 30’s. At that point some friends decided to rehabilitate me and make me watch it again. It was NOT scary. I’d been freaked out all those years for nothing. You have to be careful what you let kids watch.

  16. Rene says:

    As to War of the Worlds, I always have to make sure a headache is just waiting to happen before I watch this, as the little girl screaming will surely bring it to migraine level before we actually get half way through the movie. It, hands down, scary shit. I love Stephen King movies, but I couldn’t even keep that movie in the house (something akin to the Exorcist), it just felt evil every time I would try to watch it. Carrie warned me to treat all the girls nice in high school. Perhaps they should show this one as an anti-bullying movie. Movies about possessions scare me more than anything else. I really want to see The Conjuring, but I am seriously afraid I will wuss out half-way through the movie. Rosy mentions Dr. Who, and I have to say that I look at statues and angels differently now. Never turn my back on the things! I think the things that scare me the most are movies which could really relate to real life: genetic mutations in people, The Road was something I never wanted to see, and movies where there has been world collapse and there are people picking off the survivors (like Duvall and his gang in The Road). Great, now I won’t sleep.

    • We just watched The Road a couple weeks ago because I loved the book. There was one four-second scene that just disturbed us and completely freaked us out. It’s an image I wish I could forget. If you do end up watching it, just close your eyes tight when they go down the dark cellar. :)The rest of the movie is actually good, but very depressing.

      • Rene says:

        When I read the book, I was getting a really depressed feeling as well. One scenario which really bothers me, and will often really depress me, is looking at survivors of a real calamity taking advantage of others. I know it is not realistic to think otherwise, but to think of the world crashing down, and having a handful of survivors, some enslaving, torturing, raping, and friggin’ eating the others is too much for me. I need to believe that there will be just a small amount of people who would do this as compared to who is left, not huge groups openly going out and seeking all survivors. Just my mind really hurts at how sad that all would be to live through.
        Peace

  17. Kelly says:

    Haha! Loved your reference to LOTR.

    And about Sixth Sense…you definitely weren’t the only one. I was probably older than you when you watched it, though…much older.

    Thanks for writing both thoughtful and entertaining things. I really enjoy reading your posts!

  18. Jodi Lea says:

    “It” severed my already nervous relationship with Clowns. It was a scarier read than the movie. If you ever get a chance to watch the movie “The Young Poisoner’s Handbook”, it’s a killer! I was jumpy for weeks after seeing it, and the damn thing has haunted me for years.
    Thanks for the trip down memory lane 😉

  19. Halim says:

    I absolutely loved War of the Worlds. Very suspenseful and scary movie that has special effects galore but also so much more, including great acting and characters. I wish more blockbuster action movies are like that, instead of just the special effects as the main or only draw.

    Great post – a funny and unconventional list!

    • It is a really good movie! I don’t understand why so many people didn’t like it. I guess there were a lot of complaints that there wasn’t much of a climax, but what I always say is, the whole movie was climatic, so it would have been near impossible to top.

  20. pipmarks says:

    Hi
    As a rule i don’t watch scary movies – but i did see Raiders which was pretty tame. I mentioned the snake pit in my post about antiques and only last night sent someone a youtube link to the sword and gun scene. Enjoyed your story about ‘Elf’. Happy to have you following. Cheers Pip

  21. JW Najarian says:

    Carnival of Souls made in 1962. Freaked me out for years and actually gave me a phobia which I overcame be living by myself in a haunted theatre. I believe you have to lean into your fears to overcome them. That is why I love scary movies and believe the scariest are not the supernatural ones, but the ones that can be true.

  22. Kiki says:

    I saw The Sixth Sense over 10 years ago, and I *STILL* won’t stand next to the bed.. I think I will be this way for the rest of my life. Cause I *KNOW* that peanut-butter-vomit mouth of a girl is going to grab me.

    • The vomit! I forgot about the vomit! Gross!

      • Kiki says:

        LOL! I was probably 13 when I saw it. And I mean, I really cannot forget the imagery… There are just some things I didn’t need to see at that age. And I won’t forget them FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE. That being said, I bet vomiting peanut butter is better than vomiting most things…. As long as it isn’t still chunky. UGH! I’m done!

  23. Pingback: Blogdom Oct. 23-Nov. 20 ’13 | Welcome to the ToiBox

Leave a Reply

