Imagination Unleashed

I was touched by the comments on yesterday’s post. I love that so many different things can awaken us from mediocracy. Today, though, I’d like to talk about our imaginations. Whether you operate from the left or right side of the brain, you’ve got one.

You put it to use when you proposed to your wife. You employed your imagination when you discovered a new way to tell your kids you love them. You open it up for influence whenever you read a book or watch a movie.

It took imagination to build this country, to invent the light bulb, to land on the moon.

The imagination, I think, is one of the most powerful things, short of prayer, that we as humans posses. And sadly, not many of us put it to good use.

Make no mistake, it takes work to build and strengthen your imagination. I know this firsthand as I’m currently revising my book The Man in the BoxThose of you who’ve read it so far praised it as being Narnia-like and highly imaginative.

Dr. Iffi commented on yesterday’s post that people who find success move her. Well, I found success in getting my book published after several years of pitching it. But now the next step is to make it even better than it is now – by adding more action, more creatures, more heart, more laughs, more tears – and propel it to bestseller status. (But that’s for a later post – in the meantime, like my book on Facebook for updates on the second edition.)

But how does one outdo oneself? How does one dig deeper into one’s mind and heart and unleash the full potential of one’s imagination?

Work, is my guess. Work and perseverance. And determination.

What do you want to see that yet to exists? Is it that book that’s been hiding inside you? Is it a safer community in which you live? Maybe good behavior in your children, or a computer app that you think could be a good idea.

All these things take work, perseverance, and determination to bring to fruition. And a whole lot of imagination.

Share with us where you think your imagination would be put to good use. What will it take to accomplish your goal?

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

11 Responses to Imagination Unleashed

  1. I think imagination is empowered when we are stretched beyond our considered limits. Our imaginings are put to best use in the place where God plants us. We are where we are for a reason and as we imagine that place into the best place it can be the pathway to new destinations is opened. Sometimes I struggle with wishing I was somewhere else so much that I lose track of the beauty of the place I am in. That diminishes my power to imagine that place better.

  2. Tara-Erin says:

    Imagination can free us from every problem we face, provided we use it with love and wisdom. Poverty, fossil fuel dependence, depression, physical and emotional abuse, corporate greed: all these can all be eradicated if we start really applying our imaginations to discover how best to use our resources of time, energy, money and materials.

  3. Tamara says:

    “The imagination, I think, is one of the most powerful things, short of prayer, that we as humans posses.” I love this, and it has me wondering about connections between the two….

  4. halftangible says:

    Reblogged this on HalfTangible's Desk and commented:
    Something else that I’ve found helps is collaboration. It helps with individual projects to have other people help improve them, but more importantly, they give you a new perspective on what you’re doing. For instance, when I was creating Lampide (long story there) the only idea I really had was a paladin order policing the place. I got a friend involved, and he suggested that maybe Onore (the goddess of light and law) would introduce a caste system to the place, in an attempt to bring order to what was essentially a rabid group of refugees? The idea appealed to me, since part of Onore’s story was that she could be seen as either benevolent or tyrannical, depending on who you asked. A few days later, we had a six-caste system, two gods working together as part of a theocracy, and a caste that loved tattoos set aside from the others by their cold skin and devotion to Ilos. Before long we had the place’s entire history for the next century or so (the exact number is a little unclear, admittedly) planned. We fleshed out the place so much more just by bouncing ideas off of each other. And when I went to make Iceheart (alone) I found myself thinking more and more about ideas to flesh the place out (what would the leaders do to bring order? What does their culture put emphasis on? What is the daily life of an average citizen like?) that I hadn’t considered before Lampide.
    TL;DR: Find someone to collaborate with.

  5. Someday’s it takes imagination to just “hang in there”. Imagine a better day,to have 1,and you’ve already started on a path to achieving your goals.

  6. DevonTexas says:

    My concern with imagination is how the schools seem to move against it in an attempt to remove it from children. Why? I don’t know. You’d think they would encourage it. Perhaps that has changed over the decades since I attended one. But, I recall quite vividly how, in my days, it was excised like precision surgery. I hope that’s not the case anymore.

  7. Build dendrites to the creative part of your brain. Basically, let your mind play. I recently learned that a scientist was allowing robots to create their own language. My mind “what ifed” until an idea for a novel formed.

    I have ideas on all sorts of things, not all would work in a story, some are just improvements to everyday life.

    One thing I have always done is look at what is and think about how it could be different, and would that be better or worse.

  8. Reblogged this on mental drifter and commented:
    An important part of writing. Good to see this one isn’t afraid to ask questions to improve himself.

Leave a Reply

