Happy Music Part 1

Like any other sensible person, I absolutely love great music. I have a few favorite bands that I follow pretty closely, but I’m more on the lookout for great songs. Let’s be honest, if Justin Bieber sang a noteable song, I’d listen to it. My only requirements with songs is that they have catchy tunes, clean lyrics, and they’re not about sex. (We’re not talentless twelve-year-olds here, people.)

So, being that it’s Monday, and gloomy outside my window, I decided to share some of my favorite happy songs to get you through the day. And please, please, please share some of your favorite “happy songs” as I’m always on the lookout for new, great music. And this is a partial list. There will be many more to come.

Take_on_me___A_Ha_by_Amo1000

1. “Take on Me” by A-ha – Have you seen the newest Volkswagen commercial where the guy is sketching cartoons during a meeting? Besides the ending being very funny (and quite relatable to most of us), the song, which is a remake of an ’80s UK hit, is the heart and soul of the ad. I’ve read many comments from people who want to buy a VW because of this great commercial, and I can’t help by wonder if A-ha’s song has a lot to do with that.

Avicii - Wake Me Up ft. Aloe Blacc

2. “Wake Me Up” by Avicci – This song has become my anthem and current favorite. I just can’t stop listening to it for the life of me. Besides the singer’s amazing voice, the song would be a great one to set as your alarm clock, as it is about being awoken from a youthful trance. It’s a coming-of-age song that inspires its listeners to grow up and find themselves where they belong.

THE MUPPETS AMY ADAMS JASON SEGEL PHOTO

3. “Life’s a Happy Song” from The Muppets – Have you seen the newest Muppets movie? If not, you’re missing out big time. I’m not a Muppets fan, but Disney sure hit it out of the park with their 2011 surprise hit, The Muppets. If Rottentomatoes doesn’t convince you to watch this hysterical flick (it was at an astonishing 98% for a long time until it dropped 2 percentage points for some weird reason), then I don’t know what will. But the opening song, “Life’s a Happy Song” has probably been played over 50 times in our house, particularly when Sarabeth and I just want to dance and be goofy.

sunshine

4. “Shinin’ Down” by Austin Hartley-Leonard – You’ve got to be okay with a little bit of cheesy to enjoy this song. You’ve got to already be in a chipper mood, or on the mend from a bad attitude, or a hurt heart, or glad to wake up from a terrible night. This song about the sun shining down won’t fix all your problems, but it’ll be sure to give you a little pick-me-up, or boost, and set you down a more optimistic road.

River+Of+Dreams+Billy+Joel

5. “River of Dreams” by Billy Joel – One of my fondest memories as a child was when my parents took my sister and me to Universal Studios City Walk for the first time, out in Hollywood, California. It’s one of those family memories I cherish to this day. And being a kid, I was hardly kept out late past my bedtime, but I was on that day. And this song was playing on the radio on the way home as we were all winding down,and it’s so catchy and magical that I haven’t forgotten it since. A perfect topper to a perfect day. I’m sure Billy Joel can summon some memories for many of you as well.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

36 Responses to Happy Music Part 1

  1. Good songs. Being a lot older than you, I actually remember when Aha was popular. Here’s my absolute #1 happy song: Bus Stop by the Hollies. I can’t help hearing it and smile. It makes me want to dance. Happy, happy memories of my husband. Yeah, it’s a happy song.

  2. That song takes me back.

  3. For some strange reason, I create better when I listen to depressing music. I like Evanescence, Seether, and Shinedown. Though, happy songs have their place in this life.Well, the music I listen to depends on which personality takes over. 😉 Really, I’m a very optimistic person. Happy song…trying to think of a happy song. Hmmm…

  4. I absolutely love that Volkswagen commercial! “Take on Me” is probably one of my favorite songs and the commercial is super creative.

  5. gaflatt says:

    That Volkswagen commercial was really superb. Of course, Aha was quite before my time. But that’s why we have YouTube, right?

    Being the crazy indie kid I am, I always like songs like Chicago by Sufjan Stevens, or Foxtrot Vandals by Zoey Van Goey for my happy songs!

  6. yogalife24 says:

    Oh, that River of Dreams album!!! I adore it! My favorite piece is Two Thousand Years. I actually was able to see him in concert for the tour of the album. Fabulous!
    And, by the way, I love what you have here. Your articles are a delightful mix of information, thought, and fun.
    Thanks for the Like and I look forward to reading more.
    Stephanie

  7. When I was a little girl Take on Me was my favorite song. My Dad and I really liked it and everytime it came on MTV or the radio we would for the other to come to listen. It always held a special place to me because it was our song. My Dad passed away last year from cancer but a few years before we were visiting him and my stepmom told me whenever it came on the radio my Dad talked about the same things I remembered. He said he always thought of me too when he heard it just like I would always think of him. Now that he has been gone over a year it still makes me cry to hear it or see the video because I wish I could share it with him. But its something I will always treasure. Thanks for sharing it(I the commercial was good)

    • I needed a warning before reading that in the middle of Starbucks – putting my napkin to use, and feeling a bit awkward ;). But thank you for sharing that. I can see how that song could be meaningful to a father and daughter. Beautiful comment.

  8. bwbyars says:

    I still really enjoy the Beach Boys and the Monkees for feel-good songs. And “Build Me Up, Buttercup” will always be near the top of my list.

  9. suzjones says:

    Some of your readers have some great songs there. Love them all. The current favourite in our office (we turn it up and dance) is the Blurred Lines by Robin Thicke. The lyrics are stupid but the beat is boppy. Definitely a feel good one. But other songs I love would be “Turning Japanese” and “Walk Like an Egyptian”.

  10. river of dreams album by billy joel is awesome, I just love the song ‘all about soul’ on that record, a masterpiece. Billy joel is one of my faves! good post 🙂

  11. Tara-Erin says:

    I thought I was really lame to love “Take On Me” as much as I did, for as long as I have (since it first came out). Until, unbeknownst to me, it hooked my 14 year old son earlier this year. To which I can only say…greatness will prevail 🙂

  12. Happy songs? These are a couple of my ‘feel good’ song that make me smile and laugh. All Stars by Smash Mouth and Loveshack by the B 52’s. Fiddle, I’m happy right now just thinking about hearing these songs! 🙂

  13. regan222 says:

    Oh Mickey you’re so fine… Now THAT is a happy song.

  14. deshipley says:

    So many songs make me happy — often, if they’re associated with happy memories. “Take On Me”, for instance, takes me back to playing Dance Dance Revolution with my sisters. A lot of other great ’80s songs remind of fun car trips with the family. Songs from Disney musicals… well, pretty much ‘nough said. Lately, my go-to happy song has been “Dancing Through Life” from the musical “Wicked”. I could keep going for paragraphs; just /talking/ about songs that make me happy makes me happy!

  15. Great song selections! My smile songs change pretty frequently. For some reason, Colbie Caillat’s Bubbly as does her duet, Lucky, with Jason Mraz. Of course his All About The Wordplay and Uncle Cracker’s Smile also do it for me.. (Then again, I giggle every time I hear The Hamster Dance song…LOL)

  16. Love Take on Me! Some other happy favorites are Pocketful of Sunshine by Natasha Bedingfield, Let’s Go Crazy by Prince, I Got A Feeling by Black Eyed Peas, Amazing Things by Megon McDonough, oh the list goes on.

  17. I love Avicii’s “Wake Me Up” and have it on quite frequently along with anything from The Piano Guys, specifically their collaboration with Shweta Subram on “Swedish House Mafia – Don’t You Worry Child (Khushnuma)”

  18. Pingback: Happy Music Part II | adoptingjames

Leave a Reply

