What Will You Be Watching This Fall?

parenthood

It’s that time of year where everyone’s favorite shows premier and new ones take off in hopes of flying. Sarabeth and I usually only follow a couple shows at a time, but lose interest most of the time (or it just gets too inappropriate and we have to make an executive decision to stop while we’re ahead). The only shows we’ve followed religiously are The Office (yes, even through the last two seasons – but the finale was way worth the trouble), and Downton Abbey. But we don’t get to see the new season till January. (Thanks, BBC.) 

But there is one other show that I think stands above the rest, and of which I’ve never felt such a strong connection to the characters. The great Ron Howard produces the spinoff to his 1989 film, Parenthood. NBC puts it out, and its fifth season starts in just one week from today (September 26th).

It’s a show that focusses on the family unit. Adam Braverman, the lead character, is a role model for many husbands and dads. Mind you, he has his many slip-ups, but his actions aren’t followed by a laugh-track or a blooper reel.

Like all of the characters, the consequences of his actions follow him many many episodes into the season. It is a realistic show in that nothing is easily solved, or brushed under the rug. The family must learn to deal with their problems, and in many episodes it gets very ugly and may even hit close to home for many viewers, thus a little difficult to watch, as it is most of the time for Sarabeth.

There is a family unit for everyone to relate to. You have the grandparents who are trying not to interfere with their grown-children’s lives, and dealing with years of marital problems of their own. There’s the faithful middle-class couple with three kids: a college-bound young lady, an autistic adolescent, and a newborn. There’s the couple who can’t have a kid of their own, so they are struggling through the trials of adoption. There’s the wayward daughter who feels like she can’t raise her kids without a man in her life. And there’s the wayward son who’s learning how to be a father to his little boy whose entire life he missed out on.

I can’t recommend this show highly enough, though I strongly recommend watching it when the kids are in bed due to some intense scenes, and some sensuality. It will remind you that you’re not alone in your struggles, but you also can’t ignore them, either. It’s the only show I’m really anticipating this fall, and well worth the time to invest in.

Have you seen Parenthood? Share your thoughts! Are you pumped for season five?

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

23 Responses to What Will You Be Watching This Fall?

  1. I haven’t kept track of new shows, trends or fringe tv for over 20 years. If it is listed in the online guide and screams “documented information’ in the title or description, I’m in. Sitcoms? No. News? Yes. A&E? Yes. Discover? Yes. Ads? Mute and to the kitchen, check my dogs, hug my wife, read for five minutes. I haven’t ‘anticipated’ a program in years. Sorry. Have a great day.

  2. GFixated says:

    I’m looking forward to Scandal, Criminal Minds and The Voice because one of our locals from Jamaica will be on there.

  3. Terry Irving says:

    Reblogged this on Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite! and commented:
    Catching up with Old Friends

  4. To answer the question in the heading… Duck Dynasty! 😀

  5. Michaela. says:

    Love Parethood so much!

  6. Ms. Nikks says:

    Haven’t seen this show, but you’ve made me want to check it out.

  7. wr1ghtlexi says:

    NCIS and Glee are my Fall shows I currently watch! 🙂

  8. regan222 says:

    Have not watched cable TV since I discovered Netflix and Vudu. I tried watching Sleepy Hollow this week but it was just too ridiculous.

    • The one with Johnny Depp? I’ve kind of always wanted to see that one. Is it just corny?

      • regan222 says:

        I wish. This is a new TV series that started Monday. I recorded and watched the first episode and now I can’t believe I wasted the disk space. When the headless horseman started using an assault rifle and a sawed off shotgun I KNEW it was a waste of time. I LIKE the Johnny Depp movie even if they play a little fast and loose with the plot.

  9. I’ve not watched Parenthood but have friends who rave about it and also discuss how it made them cry, every week! Downton Abbey, Call the Midwife(BBC shows that air on PBS), NCIS, Revenge(that’s my guilty pleasure show), The Rifleman and Rawhide(AMC on Sat. ams), Pioneer Woman(Food Network), and old movies on TCM. Those are the show that I watch without fail. Sometimes I catch Bones and the new Hawaii 5-0.

  10. Dolly says:

    I haven’t seen it, but I’d love to watch it! So few shows are appropriate on television…so it’s always great when you find one that is!

    Thanks for the recommendation.

  11. Parenthood is just one of my many excitements for this Fall! I love the variety of dynamics 🙂 makes for an amazing show

  12. Ria says:

    I love Parenthood. I find it makes me sad when we see the characters looking for answers but lacking any moral compass. It amazes me how anyone gets by when self interest is the only real guiding principal in a life. But oh I love the show. And how it gets me thinking.

  13. Debbie says:

    I love this show, too! I have a son with autism, and their portrayal of the challenges and the victories a familly goes through and the emotions they feel is so realistic.

  14. sounds interesting. not sure we are getting it in the UK at least on the channels we have. shame

  15. oneintercessor says:

    My husband decided when we were first married that we shouldn’t have cable in order to facilitate our relationship growing. I’m so thankful that 15 yrs later, TV has never been a central focus in our family. We don’t spend the money on cable, but also it’s made us all do other things together so much more. I don’t think we’re missing out on anything good. 🙂

  16. I’ve heard of the show but never seen it. Thanks for the thumbs up on it. Also thanks for following my blog. I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

