Movies I Still Can’t Help but Love Part I

You know how sometimes you’ll rewatch a movie you just loved as a kid, and by the end of it, you wonder, What kind of a weird child was I? We’ve all been there. Well, there are some movies that just stay as good as they were when you first watched them. I’ve compiled a list of movies that I still thoroughly enjoy to this day. Some you’ve probably seen and you may or may not like them. Others you’ve probably never heard of, in which case I hope to convince you to give them a try. All of these movies are premillennial, and I avoided the obvious ones, like Jurassic Park, Back to the Future, Indiana Jones, Braveheart, Beauty and the Beast, etc. Hopefully this proves to be a unique list. Feel free to share your favorites in the comments below.

charlotte's Web

Charlotte’s Web (1973) – I hear there have been several remakes of this E.B. White classic (including an appalling one staring Dakota Fanning), along with some sequels. Skip those. Go straight to this original classic which I think is even infinitely  better than the book. The songs are of Disney-quality, even though Paramount put this out, and I would say it’s even more tear-jerking than The Fox and the HoundWhy watch it? To redeem any other version you might have seen related to this awesome children’s story.

The_Cure_1995The Cure (1995)- I find solace in mutuality. Like, when I was younger and standing in line to ride a really scary roller coaster, I would feel much better about the whole thing if I saw someone else was just as scared or more scared than I was. When my good friend died in high school, I rented this movie that night so that I could feel like I wasn’t alone in my grief. The Cure stars that boy from Jurassic Park, who plays an Aids victim. He befriends his foul-mouthed neighbor whose mom refuses that he hang around him. Why watch it? If you need a really, really, really, good, long cry. I mean really, it’s rated PG-13 for emotional thematic elements. There might as well be a sticker plastered on the box that says, WARNING: MOVIE COULD CAUSE FLOODING

Dead_poets_societyDead Poets Society (1989) – I loved the show Friends. But when one episode dissed this movie, I was really upset. Many people might chalk this up as a really slow, boring movie. It’s one of those movies that I think mainly high school boys will relate to. It’s got some of the best acting for an 80’s movie I’ve come across, the music is outstanding, and Robin Williams knocks it out of the park with his performance. Why watch it? Honestly, I’m not really sure. I just think it’s one of those movies everyone needs to watch. It gets better with revisits.

Dragonheart_Poster_Painting_by_lord_phillockDragonheart (1996) – Alright, so the acting is terrible, the story is a little cheesy, and some parts are highly over-dramatized, but hey! This is a post about movies I still can’t help but love – I can’t help it! And, if anything, I think the dragon, Draco, is one of the best-looking creatures I’ve ever seen in a movie. So to me, pure eye-candy. Why watch it? If you want to know where 60% of inspirational music heard in movie trailers comes from.

Father_of_the_bride_posterFather of the Bride (1991) – Honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone who hasn’t seen this movie. This and the sequel (which is just as good) are probably Steve Martin’s crowning achievements in his whole acting career. Sarabeth and I tried watching the 1950 original years back, and it didn’t compare. Why watch it? Because Martin Short is in it! With a fictional accent! Again… Martin Short. And Steve Martin. Can’t get better than that duo.

Good burgerGood Burger (1997) – Okay, I’m a little embarrassed to admit this one, but what I can say? I can’t help it. Remember that show on Nickelodeon, All That? It was like an SNL for kids, and one of their skits was funny enough to make a movie out of, and this is the result. It’s stupid, and you’ll roll your eyes at some parts, but honestly, it’s pretty difficult not to laugh no matter who you are. Why watch it? Nostalgia, if you’re a 90’s kid, and laughs if you’re a grump.

A Goofy MovieA Goofy Movie (1995) – Here’s the thing with this one. It’s really not as “goofy” as the title suggests. My dad hated cartoons and animated movies. The only ones he could tolerate were Lion King and Beauty and the Beast. But I remember him actually sitting through this one with me and actually seeming to enjoy it. It’s a great father/son flick, and a lot more sentimental than you’d ever think a goofy movie would be capable of.  Why watch it? The music, of course! It’s on par with some of Disney’s best.

HeavyweightsHeavyweights (1995) – Disney went through this phase in the 90’s when they thought their animated movies had to be serious, and their real-life movies had to be silly. Heavyweights is less silly than it is just plain-old funny. It would never get made today because of all the political rules it breaks (kids being sent to a fat camp). But this movie is really one of the few times Ben Stiller is actually worth watching. Why watch it? Think Zoolander as an intense weight-loss coach and camp director.

Iron GiantIron Giant (1999) – Brad Bird, the director of The Incredibles, Ratatouille, and Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol is a favorite in our house. This is his debut movie before he moved over to Pixar. Warner Bros. released this gem of a film, but didn’t have the guts (or common-sense) to promote it before its release. Probably because it was still unconventional to have cursing in an animated movie. Besides that, it is an extremely awesome movie that I actually hold off on watching simply because I don’t want it to get old. Why watch it? It’s about a boy and his pet giant robot. End of case.

Homeward.bound_dvd_coverHomeward Bound (1993) – Every fall I look forward to watching this movie. It’s the first movie I ever cried in as a kid (the scene when Shadow couldn’t make it out of that ditch). I don’t know, it’s just one of those movies that’s always had a special place in my heart, and I get the warm-tinglies whenever I think of it. Why watch it? It’s a movie with talking animals that doesn’t animate or manipulate their mouths. And it’s set in the great Northwest (that probably explains the warm-tinglies).

Check back next Friday for Part II

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

53 Responses to Movies I Still Can’t Help but Love Part I

  1. The “what kind of weird child was I?” List should be next! #1. Labyrinth

  2. “The Spitfire Grill” helped me to understand how NOT to be judgmental. I understand exactly what you are saying. Good piece.

  3. MissTiffany says:

    I think the Adventures of Milo and Otis is up there with Homeward Bound. And you’re right about Charlotte’s Web – that is definitely the best version. Ugh, I can’t stand Dakota Fanning, so I have been fortunately spared of seeing her atrocious version.

  4. You’ve picked some great ones here. I admit I have never seen Good Burger, but I am so going to check it out. My personal favorite (which I’m assuming you didn’t mention because it would have been one of the obvious ones) is The Princess Bride. Why watch it? It’s a class story of true love and high adventure, Billy Crystal is hilarious, you won’t be able to help quoting it, and it will never ever get old.

  5. Allie says:

    I haven’t seen a few of them, but I definitely have to agree with Charlotte’s Web & The Iron Giant! Both are movies that I really enjoy, and when I’ve gone back and watched them as an adult I still enjoyed them just as much. 🙂

  6. Judy says:

    Interesting and entertaining list, thanks. I’m quite a bit older than you so haven’t seen most of these, but now I know what to look for when I’m channel surfing. 🙂

  7. PigLove says:

    aaww – I do love my movies. For some reason, I can’t really understand why, I love me some Charlotte’s Web. It’s hard to explain – snorts. XOXO – Bacon

  8. Terry Irving says:

    Reblogged this on Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite! and commented:
    Catching up with old friends

  9. Valerie says:

    Such a good list! I would have to add, The Brave Little Toaster, and my husband and I recently rewatched We’re Back which is so much creepier than I remember as a kid!

  10. Missy says:

    “Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner?” with Spencer Tracy and Katherine Hepburn. It’s such a glamorous movie and such w wonderful love story. It’s unfortunate that, like so many other classics, this was remade and Ashton Kutcher was in it. I’ve never understood why some people just can’t leave well enough alone!! Anyhow, the Tracy/Hepburn version is the only one worth watching. If you have not seen it yet, do.

    • I do like Spencer Tracy; I’ll have to check it out. Wouldn’t ever bother watching anything with Kutcher in it, that I know of. 😉

      • Missy says:

        Ashton Kutcher can’t act his way out of a wet paper bag!! Do stay away from his films, but do not stay away from the Spencer Tracy version of Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner. You won’t be sorry.

  11. missgiven says:

    The Goofy movie was good!

  12. regan222 says:

    What?! No Princess Bride? How can you leave out true love, miracles, sports, and Andre the Giant on horseback?

  13. I just watched The Cure on Netflix! Oh my, such a tear jerker. I’m glad you put that one on your list!

  14. TristaLynn says:

    I love so many of these movies, one I love also is Ferngully! Or Scamper-about a Penguin, I doubt anyone knows this one!

  15. Joan Graves says:

    Reblogged this on The Joan Zone and commented:
    Great idea.

  16. quintessentialcapricorn says:

    I loved nickelodeon and Kenan and Kell have always been my favourite 😀
    Their duo was so good on All That, they even made another show out of it as well!

  17. sarsrose says:

    Thanks for following my blog! I liked a lot of these as a kid too. In fact, when I was in primary school, I actually wrote a letter of complaint to a TV station who had promised to play ‘Father of the Bride’ one Saturday night, and instead canned it for the Cricket! I was VERY put out! 🙂

  18. Hazy says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Nice list! I agree with Father of the Bride, and I enjoyed watching Homeward Bound a lot as a kid (I still do!).

    I liked the animated movie The Swan Princess and will always love The Mummy (1999). Bridge to Terabithia was good thought it made me cry a lot so I tend to avoid rewatching it, but I always recommend it to others because I thought it was a nicely done film.

  19. tistheczn says:

    Ice Age–the original movie–which I didn’t watch as a kid–has become my “feel good” movie. It just makes me laugh if I’ve had a bad day. I love it. And The Goonies–looking for pirate treasure, Chunk’s stories, geeky kids getting the best of everyone. Can watch it over and over.

  20. Sarah Gordon says:

    Hey! Thanks for following my blog and everything.

    Great list. I was a sucker for Father of the Bride. Used to watch it with my dad. I got engaged this year so that film has taken on a whole new level of poignancy and bitter sweetness.

    I think I was a pretty morbid child. I watched The Addams Family and Addams Family Values more times than I can count. Also *loved* Matilda; always was and always will be a sucker for Roald Dahl’s stories.

  21. TomBoy says:

    I would like to respectfully add, “The Lost Boys,” and “Adventures in Babysitting.”

  22. frasersherman says:

    I cried at Homeward Bound and I was an adult. Also love Charlotte’s Web and Dragonheart.

  23. bwbyars says:

    That moment when you realize the Iron Giant is Vin Diesel… I loved Labyrinth, too. Of course, I must confess that began a crush on Jennifer Connelly that only worsened with the Rocketeer. Ahem… I recently showed my son “Back to the Future,” and it was a lot more “grown up” than I remembered it. I guess as a kid you miss a lot of that stuff. Seems like there was a conspiracy in the 80’s to contribute to the delinquency of minors. (I still haven’t shown him “The Goonies” but that was one of my favorites, too). Of course, another favorite movie of mine that really celebrated delinquency was “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off” – (deep voice: oh, yeah…) Oh! And I must have spent every afternoon mastering the crane kick from Karate Kid?
    Does anyone remember the movie “The Last Starfighter”? Or “The Neverending Story” and “Willow”!

  24. ajb says:

    Wow, these comments are bringing back memories! Love that you mentioned Good Burger. I also agree with other readers about the Princess Bride and Labrynth (seriously, David Bowie?). Anyone remember Dark Crystal? There were some seriously messed up 80s kids movies. What were our parents thinking?

  25. mrsgillies says:

    Oh how i love Father of the Bride! “We have to choose the cake” is my favourite scene in the whole movie!

  26. Terri says:

    Nice list! Totally agree on ‘Father of the Bride’, ‘Heavyweights’, and ‘Homeward Bound’. It’s almost scary that ‘Heavyweights’ couldn’t be made today. It’s like we’d rather cover up problems than face them under the guise of being “politically correct.” Even then, I didn’t see the movie as making fun of the “fat kids,” (except for Lars, of course, and Tony), because they ended up getting revenge showing their critics that they were cool and not to judge a book by its cover! (And got rid of Lars and Tony to boot!)

  27. DavidSask says:

    I don’t remember The Cure but am going to look for it now!

  28. Pingback: Movies I Still Can’t Help but Love Part II | adoptingjames

Leave a Reply

