Just a Little Thank You

21409_10151758930055480_752098219_n

I’m on vacation with my wife in Florida, visiting her family. It’s 6 A.M. and I’m struggling to stay awake. I’ve been up since about 3:45 because our puppy Prim needed to be taken out to go potty. Once I came back inside, it was no use trying to sleep.

So, I’ve been writing chapters of my new book: Our Life Captured

But as I’ve been writing, I’ve been thinking:

We’ve had this puppy now for about four weeks. I’ve taken her potty at all hours of the night, I’ve picked up after her in the yard and in the house, I’ve fed her faithfully in the mornings and in the evenings, I’ve watered her, I’ve played with her when I didn’t feel like it…

and not once have I, nor Sarabeth, received a thank you.

Not so much as a “I recognize all you do for me, and I’m really glad you do what you do.

“Thank you for waking up before the sun comes out when you’d rather not to take me outside to potty, even though sometimes I just flop in the grass and decide I don’t need to go potty anymore.”

I’ve listened, and I’ve never even received a thank you for picking her specifically out of her litter of brothers and sisters.

I’ve never even heard an “I love you” from her. And I’m sure Sarabeth hasn’t either.

But the thing is, Sarabeth and I love her as though she does remind of us such things.

But it’s still nice when she shows it every once in a while.

When’s the last time you’ve thanked God for what He’s given you, or better yet, what He did for you 2,000 years ago?

No matter how many messes you’ve made, or how much you’ve refused to do His bidding, He still loves you. Even if you haven’t expressed your love for Him in any way lately.

He still loves you.

But I’m sure He still appreciates it when you show it every once in a while.

So, how will you show God you love Him today?

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

12 Responses to Just a Little Thank You

  1. liamfox83 says:

    First of all Prim is very cute! And secondly, thanks for this because it has now really made me actually think about all the things that I should be thankful to God for but somehow I complain about it. And I don’t know when the last time was that I actually sat down and said thanks to God. Thanks Andrew for reminding me of this.

  2. Your puppy is adorable! Thank you so much for signing up to follow my blog posts. I’m also working on my first novel, or novella, and when I’m ready for an editor I have your page bookmarked. This is a beautiful post with an awesome reminder to show Father our love for Him in return for all He has done for us. I try to turn my thoughts towards Him first thing everyday, if no more than, “I love you Father, and thank you for whatever you have waiting for me this day.” Now I’m going to sign up to follow your awesome blog!

  3. I’m originally from FL, central FL. Enjoy your vacation!!

  4. I thank God for this little reminder! We gave our daughter a puppy for Christmas…its a lot of work but worth it! Keep it up!

  5. Each Day With Him says:

    Excellent post. As we work to put God at the center of our lives, it should become easier to remember to thank Him for blessings. We should all take note of your message…

    Thank you for visiting us as well!
    Stephanos

  6. Leah Ness says:

    Ouch! Boy does that ring true. Thanks for the reminder!

  7. leighla93 says:

    Ahh! I just ate dinner and I forgot to say thanks! I second Leah. Thank you Lord and thank you!

  8. So important, yet it is so easily forgotten, all the good He has done for us. Thanks for the reminder

Leave a Reply

