Morning Demons

grayton_beach_dunes_floridaSarabeth and I are in Florida this week visiting her family. Her sister and brother-in-law flew in from their overseas mission field a couple of weeks ago. They stayed with us for a couple of weeks and last Friday we all packed our Jetta with luggage, bags, CD’s for the road, snacks, four people and four dogs and made the 16-hour trek to Coral Springs Florida, south of Ft. Lauderdale.

My brother-in-law is one of my best friends, so we’ve been able to spend a lot of time talking to each other about life, God, marriage, movies, and books. I walk away from most conversations with him filled with encouragement and a new gusto for going about life the right way.

Yesterday on the beach, as the sun was giving me skin cancer and third degree burns, we talked about marriage.

Like every marriage, Sarabeth and I have our problems, and sometimes it’s good to talk about those problems with someone. At one point, I asked the selfish question, “So what do you suppose is Sarabeth’s problem? Where is she sinning?”

The answer I got:

“Who cares?”

That was my pride begging the question.

There’s a song by Imagine Dragons called “Demons.” We’ve all got these proverbial demons living inside of us, and when we let people get close enough, those demons come out and tear those we love most apart.

Now, as Christians, I don’t believe we can be indwelled by literal demons, but we’ve been affected by them and inspired by them and their work for so long that we are masters at mimicking them and allowing our inner-selves to act just like soul-destructive demons.

That, or we’re just so self-involved we can’t even know where to begin opening our eyes to our sins.

Today is the first day Prim actually slept in until 6. Needless to say, that was well-deserving of a fist-bump.

But in the last few weeks, Sarabeth would have to wake me up to tell me that Prim is awake so I can take her out. I’m okay with taking her out, it’s just waking up and getting out of bed that I have a problem with. So I often come across as curt and insensitive with my words and actions.

So my brother-in-law posed this question to me:

“If the first thing you do in the morning is show your wife a hostile attitude, imagine how that affects her for the rest of the day.”

The light went on in my head. My pride had blinded me to that simple truth all this time. But now that Prim is waking up at a reasonable time, I wonder if I’ll have a chance to redeem myself.

So when you wake up in the morning next to your spouse, or when you get your kids out of bed, will you communicate to them that you’re upset about being up in the morning, or will you communicate with your words and actions that you’re thankful to be awake and alive under the same roof as the one you love?

In short, will you give your loved ones attitude in the morning and start the day off on the wrong foot, or will you give them fist-bumps and start the day off right, slaying those demons of pride before they storm the castle of your home?

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

9 Responses to Morning Demons

  1. This is a good word. Our sermon yesterday asked the question “what’s your first thought in the morning?” I guess this being the second asking it is a question I should probably think about.

  2. insightful article, thanks for sharing through that very personal window. it is easier to see the sins of others than our own sins.

  3. Ria says:

    I needed this today! I’ve been trying to get up every morning with DH so we can spend time together in the morning before he leaves for work. But I’ve been whiny, wanting to be up with him but not wanting to get out of bed. I will work on having a thankful and joyful morning attitude so we can start our days together on the right foot. Thanks for this!

  4. Thank you for these inspiring words. I needed a friendly reminder of what’s truly important.

  5. Bina says:

    Thanks for the insight. We do love making scapegoats out of everyone instead of just facing up to the real problem (mostly our attitude)

  6. optimisticgladness says:

    So true! Be grateful and have a good attitude. Thank you for the reminder that we all need. 🙂

  7. LillianC says:

    You have hit upon a very important insight here. After 25 years, I’ve learned to ignore whatever my husband says before he’s had his shower, his coffee, and a chance to orient himself for the day. (Thank you for visiting my blog!)

  8. Benmo says:

    Terrific insight. Right from the get-go. Everyone should take a page from this book, so to speak.

Leave a Reply

