Tomorrow’s Music

90s-music

Recently I’ve been going through all of my CD’s, throwing out outdated discs, importing keepsakes from otherwise terrible albums, and keeping the ones that are still listen-worthy.

The past few weeks have been filled with a lot of Goo Goo Dolls, Switchfoot, Newsboys, Creed, Aerosmith, Lit… basically all the guys that built the audio bridge between the 20th and 21st centuries for me.

It’s weird, isn’t it? To think that once upon a short time ago we couldn’t fathom the idea of buying just part of a CD, or just getting that one song we really like… we had to drive down to the nearest Best Buy or Circuit City to purchase the entire album. And we were lucky if we got to sample part of it before buying it.

But thanks to one of Steve Jobs’s greatest legacies, we have iTunes – the greatest and most convenient music shop on the planet. Itunes is especially great for guys like me, because even back during Generation-X, I would mainly buy “The Best Of” albums from bands and singers. I learned quickly that, in general, if I buy their other albums, more often than not, there’d only be one to three songs on it that I really enjoyed and were worth the $14.99 list price. (I wonder if that’s how my wife feels about me, sometimes  – she got my devilish good looks and my charming wit, but she’s got to put up with the rest of me.)

But it’s amazing how much things have changed, isn’t it? As I’m sitting here typing this, importing songs from Jimmy Eat World onto my computer, I remember like it was yesterday that I was getting ready to graduate high school and listening to “The Middle” over and over again.

We often think about our pasts. A lot of us recall yesterday with longing and nostalgia, and others try not to look back in fear of old habits or hatred or guilt uprooting once again.

And so I ask you, how often do you look toward the future? When you look at the future, what do you see? Do you see a sort of Marty McFlytype of future where everything is bright and optimistic and charming? Or is it more of a grim The Road type where the world as we know it has come to an end and very few people are still trying to survive the winter colds? 

Us Christians, as full of hope and joy as we are, surprisingly subscribe to a very somber vision of the world’s future. Already most of us can see the tides turning from the golden age of the 90’s into the dark spiral of despair and depravity. The Bible promises that things will get worse before Jesus comes. And I wonder, how many of us take that personally and literally?

It’s easy to hold God’s promises of forgiveness and love and justification close to our hearts. But what about verses found in 2 Peter 3 that say, “Knowing this first, that there shall come in the last days scoffers, walking after their own lusts, and saying, ‘Where is the promise of His coming?’ for since the fathers fell asleep, all things continue as they were from the beginning of the creation” (vs. 3-4).

Are you doing anything now to prepare your hearts for the dark days ahead? I don’t have to spell out the signs of these times for brothers and sisters, for the unbelievers anticipate the darkness like a feast for their stomachs.

But Christians should still look with anticipation toward the days ahead, for the looming darkness is just a screen door we must pass through in order to enter into the eternal light Jesus has promised to His faithful.

So remember the music of your yesterdays and dance to the music of tomorrow’s glories. And those bad songs in between will be over and forgotten before you know it.

Please keep the Heards in your prayers, as Andrew just recently passed away due to cancer. You can read about the family and his book here, or follow his wife’s hope-filled blog here.

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

3 Responses to Tomorrow’s Music

  1. I must say, having moved to another country and chucked a load of books, cds and dvds – DONT! Put them in a box in the attic, I regret it so much, and am now six years later relying on stuff like Spotify to hear them again!

  2. kevindeisher says:

    I have uploaded more than 6000 songs on my iTunes but admit I never listen to them all. I just don’t like having one or a few songs from an artist so I download entire albums then make play lists of just the songs I like.

Leave a Reply

